We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, no nonsense - MRT a little far though”
Review of Fisher BnB

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fisher BnB
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, no nonsense - MRT a little far though”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I've lived in Singapore as a student and stayed at Fisher BnB for 3 nights on a recent visit. I've experienced 3 hostels in Singapore in total, so my review is both relative and absolute.

In general, this is a very good option that I would recommend to friends. Here is a list of things to be aware of when booking here:

Pros:
-Clean (walls/floors plastered with concrete, making the place hygienic)
-Comfortable and intimate beds (fluffy and comfortable blanket and pillow, and no direct view of other beds meaning more privacy)
-Eggs for breakfast (breakfast consists of plain omelet and white bread with spreads, including nutella (yum!), instant coffee and tea)
-Nice and spacious chill-out balcony overlooking the street in the mixed dorm
-Good temperature (although A/C is off from 11am to 5pm, the place doesn't feel too warm during the day)
-Reception is at ground level (which spares having to walk up 3-4 flights of stairs as at some other hostels)

Cons:
-Location: the nearest MRT stations (Lavender - Green line, and Ferrer park - Purple line) are both a 10-minute walk away and the neighbourhood isn't very exciting
-Rigid, no nonsense management with strict rules (I had to leave 2 nights prior to my scheduled departure, and asked if I could have a credit since I had paid in full but the manager told me this wasn't possible and didn't propose anything... which is a bit stingy... she could've offered me a discount for next time since I'd paid for bed and breakfast which I wasn't going to use/eat... and the hostel wasn't full either based on their website so it's not like there was an opportunity cost to her)
-Washing your clothes (manually) is forbidden
-Expensive services ($12 per load of laundry)
-Towel not provided (for rent; $2 per stay which is quite reasonable)
-Bring your own lock for the lockers
-No staff in the hostel after 7pm (if you need to rent a towel, make sure you do it before the staff leaves - otherwise you're out of luck)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonAmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHSng, Manager at Fisher BnB, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Simon

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

It’s our pleasure to host you twice. We are glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the premises, comfortable bed, spacious balcony (accessible for guests staying in the Mixed Dormitory) and simple breakfast.

We are located in between 2 MRT lines, just 10-minutes from Lavender and Farrer Park. There are 24 hours food courts (good variety of local delights, frequent by many locals), convenience stores, swimming pool, shopping mall and many new and interesting cafes surrounding us. We are also close to cultural places like Little India and Kampong Glam. Both within walking distance.

You stayed with us for 1 night and returned again 1 night later. You already knew that we are within walking distance from both MRT stations. When you returned, we offered you a 5% discount off our rates as your stay was more than 2 nights (Total 3 nights).

With regards to checking out earlier than planned, we were only informed in the late afternoon on the 2nd day of your stay and that you were checking out at 8.15pm on that night. Your deposit was returned before our reception closed. We allowed you to use the room, locker and facilities till you check out. As mentioned, we confirmed 3 nights for you and the Mixed Dormitory was fully booked during the period of your stay. Walk-ins were rejected in the morning.

Manual washing is not possible as there isn’t any open space to hang the wet laundry and this is to minimize bad odour in room. However, we offer laundry service at $12 per load which includes wash, dry and folding of clothing (Up to 6kg). Once laundry is complete, we will place them on the respective bed. From our guests feedback, they do enjoy this service as it is hassle-free. They leave their laundry with us before they leave for the day and by the time they return in the evening, it's all done.

For security reason, guests are encouraged to bring their own locks. This is stated in our website. Alternatively, there are also locks for sale at the reception.

Our reception opens from 8.30am to 7pm which is indicated on all booking sites and reception. However, we are contactable 24-7. Should there be any queries and emergencies, guests are welcomed to contact us anytime.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

Best Regards
James & Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    79
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
33
207
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

All the positive reviews I have read about this bnb are true. It is so clean , I've walked with my barefoot along the hallways ,reception, kitchen and inside the room and never did I felt any speck of sand,dirt or roughness on my feet . Amongst all hostels ive stayed this is the only place that serves omelet during breakfast being cooked with a smile by their staff.I will surely recommend this hostel to my friends and relatives and would stay here the next visit I will have in this country.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherbnb, Manager at Fisher BnB, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Benjamen,

Thank you for the wonderful review!

We are thoroughly thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here.

We do cleaning daily as we highly value cleanliness. Bread & spreads and coffee & tea are served daily for breakfast amongst other changing daily items such as omelette, baked beans, egg mayonnaise sandwich and sausages.

Once again, thank you for taking time out to give this review and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We definitely look forward to hosting you, yours friends and family in the future!

Yours Sincerely
James & Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's a nice place to choose in trip. It is very clean everywhere and locates at Lavender Street, which is very convenient to go out. The breakfast is delicious and all the things there make you feel at easy just like your own home.

I will recommend this hostel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habbitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherbnb, Manager at Fisher BnB, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Habbitlin

Thank you for taking time to write this review.
We are happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the premises, breakfast and location (ease of walking to 2 MRT stations, food courts surrounding us).

Once again, we would like to thank for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor and your recommendation!
We look forward to host you in the near future!
Take care!

Your Sincerely
James & Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in this Hotel for 3 days and it was excellent. Service is excellent, Owners are really nice and its totally clean and secure.
Only problem is that you can not talk on phone inside as other guest complaint a lot.

Room Tip: Go and enjoy your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauravpach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherbnb, Manager at Fisher BnB, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Gaura

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to write this excellent review.
We are glad you appreciated the cleanliness, security and service by our team.

Staying in a dormitory is about communal living and it is good that guests are considerate when it comes to keeping mobile phones on silent mode. We would encourage guests to have a conversation over the phone out of the room.

Once again, thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Looking forward to host you in the near future!

Your Sincerely
James & Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

a very good bargain to stay in Fisher BnB. The place is clean. the bed is very comfortable. and the staff are very nice! simple breakfast is provided to start a day and there are much interaction with the staff and they are helpful.

Discounted tickets for some famous tourist spots are available (eg. Singapore flyer, Zoo, river cruise)

highly recommend if you are a budget traveller~

Room Tip: if you have four people and want some privacy, there is a room with 4 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherbnb, Manager at Fisher BnB, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Clara

Thank you for choosing to stay in Fisher BnB!

We are glad that you liked the cleanliness of the premises, breakfast and interaction with our team.

Besides comfortable bed, locker, good showering facilities and space, we value-add our guest's stay by providing additional services at a nominal fee like laundry, towel rental, luggage storage after check out and sale of discounted attraction tickets.

Once again, thank you so much for taking time to write this review and recommending Fisher BnB to travellers.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future!

Yours Sincerely
James & Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Convenient location which just a 10mins walk from Lavender MRT station. The owners are super friendly and helpful. The bed, bathroom, toilet and floor are clean. Everything is good here in Fisher BnB.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chan1r2n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherbnb, Manager at Fisher BnB, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Irene

Thank you for taking time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you like the location in terms of amenities, transportation and the cleanliness of the premises.

Once again, thank you so much for choosing to stay in Fisher BnB!
We certainly look forward to you returning to stay with us in the near future!

Your Sincerely
James & Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was a great & awesome experience at Fisher Hostel Singapore.
helpful staff & smiling Team ...

I have to thank Mrs, LEE who is always there to help and give advice and ready to answer my questions. keep your smile always LEE,

I will never forget this Guest House where i spend 7 Nights, i mate tourists from different countries some of them becomes my good friends now.

certainly i will choose Fisher bnb for my next visit to Singapore.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with your family, better to book 4 beds room, cause there is only 1 room for 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solosolo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fisherbnb, Manager at Fisher BnB, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Issadi

Thank you for giving such an awesome review!

We enjoy what we do and are most happy to share with our guests things that they can do to explore Spore!

Once again, thank you so much for extending your stay with us and it is definitely pleasant to hear that you will return to Fisher BnB for your next visit to Spore!
Take care and all the best in your career in Malaysia!

Yours Sincerely
James & Li
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Singapore
941 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#4 of 230 in Singapore
596 reviews
Dream Lodge
#6 of 230 in Singapore
159 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher BnB

Property: Fisher BnB
Address: 127 Tyrwhitt Road, Singapore 207551, Singapore (Formerly Fisher Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fisher BnB 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Sleep! Tasty Breakfast! A clean and comfortable staying experience with quality amenities at a pocket friendly price! That’s what you will get at the newly renovated Fisher Bed n Breakfast (BnB)! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fisher BnB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisher BnB Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing