We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”
Review of Intrepid Gastrobar

Intrepid Gastrobar
Ranked #5,987 of 11,181 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Intrepid Gastro Bar beckons with laid-back Melbourne charm Intrepid Gastro Bar is proud to bring the best of Melbourne to Singapore. The Melbourne-inspired hangout serves hearty, honest-to-goodness Melbourne cuisine prepared with fresh ingredients, a great selection of craft beers, and superb coffee in a casual space, located right in the hustle and bustle of the Central Business District's Far East Square.
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Very creative and high quality cuisine. True Australian food. Great atmosphere and very helpful staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dominik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Some of the food we ordered were really good, other parts of our meal was not that satisfactory. Some of us ordered a big piece of meat, ca 1,2kg (cant remember the name of the dish). We had problems chewing some of the meat we were served. The crocodile skewers were nice to have tried also, but could also be a bit chewy. The staff were welcoming, but forgetful. I think we tried to order extra water three or four times.

Thank zumzumzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intrepidgastrobar, Owner at Intrepid Gastrobar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi ZumZumZum

Thank you for visiting Intrepid during your trip to Singapore.

We are glad you enjoyed some of the dishes, in particular the Black Angus Sliders (from memory there were four to five sets ordered).

It is great you and your guests were adventurous to try the Tandoori Crocodile Skewers. Crocodile naturally have denser muscles, the meat will tend to have a "pulley" (or as you describe it as 'chewy') affect. Don't forget crocodile is a reptile!

The 1.2kg Angus Rib Eye (bone in) is a 200 days old aged meat to achieve the right tenderness. The meat has a marbling effect. Some part of the rib eye (in particular the edges close to the bones) do have more vein structure, hence, it may appear to be on the chewy side.

We take note on the service level and will address a smarter approach on water service for larger groups in future.

Thanks for the feedback and we hope you will dine with us in your future visits to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Went for brunch on Sunday, had high expectations from the reviews, and the knowledge that it was Aussie owned and run, but was sorely disappointed. Out of 6 meals none of the food meet any of our expectations. Such a shame because no I don't want to go back to try out the lunch or dinner choices. The bright spot however, was they do excellent coffee.

Thank FoodyNandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intrepidgastrobar, Owner at Intrepid Gastrobar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hi FoodyNanK

We are sorry you were unable to appreciate what you were served.

True to Melbourne food and coffee culture, we serve honest good food using quality produce. We smoke our own thick cut bacon and hot smoked salmon with Australian ingredients (like lemon myrtle herb to name a few). It is unlike the salt laden bacon and preservative injected salmon normally readily available from the supermarkets. Some people may prefer to be served what is available at the supermarket but at Intrepid, this would go against our believe of fresh gourmet food.

Out of the 6 meals, we recall some of your meals were custom made self designed breakfast, outside our recommended brunch menu. We encourage our guests to select from our carefully designed offerings. While, we are flexible to cater for special requests, we cannot, however, be made liable should your self-designed meal does not suit your palate.

We are glad you enjoyed our coffee. It is one of the rare Italian dark roasted coffee available in Singapore.

By the way, your table was served by one of the Australian owners of Intrepid. It is interesting to observed for a traveller, you do not seem to have any reviews written on Australian restaurants in and outside of Australia (except Intrepid). So how could one have a perspective of what Australian standard is based on your expectations?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Upon reading the reviews we dropped in there for lunch today, we were warmly greated and seated.
I had the fishermans basket and my partner the crab cakes both of which were very nice .
Only thing we found odd was, it was aussie owned but they didnt have anything today to celebrate australia day which would of been nice.
Other then that which has no bearing on the food or service it is a nice place and well priced for singapore. We would go back for lunch again.

Thank Knos500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleTey, Public Relations Manager at Intrepid Gastrobar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hello Knos500,

Thank you for sharing your lovely dining experience here! Most of our regulars come in on Fridays so we thought it would be great to celebrate Australia Day on that day instead of Sunday. We had a barbecue and free flow Aussie beers and wines! We look forward to having you visit us again. :)

Intrepid Gastro Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Nice place to eat. The portions are nice and filling. Right in the midst of lot of other resturants nearby. Worth it for a quick lunch

Thank Pawan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleTey, Public Relations Manager at Intrepid Gastrobar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi Pawan 83,

Thank you for sharing your dining experience with us. We do pride ourselves on hearty, honest-to-goodness Melbourne fare. Swing by again soon, maybe for dinner next time if you're in the area. :)

Intrepid Gastro Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Intrepid Gastrobar also viewed

 

Been to Intrepid Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing