We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 5footway.inn Project Boat Quay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
1 review
“Friendly staff and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

It is very close to Clarke Quay MRT station and the seaview in common room is great.
I lived in a mixed bedroom for 4. It is small yet clean and tidy. The staff there are very nice and friendly. Free wifi and public Mac available in lobby. However there is no lift inside the hostel so it may not be not user-friendly enough for those ppl who hate stairs or have giant luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnieeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    222
    132
    45
    38
See reviews for
51
131
129
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed in private twin room for 2 nights. The rooms are nice, comfortable and clean. However, the walls are extremely thin and you can hear other people in their room and wandering around the corridors. Bathrooms were ok, at times they were extremely busy with people queuing to use the showers in the evening as only I set of bathrooms for all guests (bathrooms split for male/female). They also began to smell by afternoon/evening, possibly could do with cleaning more regularly. Located on the river with many bars and restaurants directly outside. Only a short walk to the nearest metro station (Clarke quay or raffles place). Well located for all the main city sights. You pay extra here and it is mainly for the location. Staff were extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicebush93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changzhou, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, it's right in the heart of Singapore. The place is super clean and the staff was extremely nice. Boat Quay is sort of loaded with all the restaurants and bars right on the water. Singapore though has no shortage of this, so don't think it's only place that has a good bar/eating scene. Giant super fast Mac computers to use as well. This place is more of an extremely nice backpackers hotel/hostel, but still delivers more like a hotel ( as opposed to a hostel). Rooms are basic, but clean. No complaints!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Iceman-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The hostel is in the middle of the restaurant and bar area, close to the banking district. Metro is 4 minutes walk, so good from there you can travel the whole city. Good view from the balcony over the river.

Rooms/dorms/toilets are clean and according what you may expect

Staff is really friendly and helpful. They told us where "real china town" is. Wonderful place and not like touristy china town. Ask them!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tijn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I would definitely recommend 5footway.inn Project Boat Quay (!) to all travelers searching for a simple yet stylish, affordable and central hotel in Singapore!

At this point, it is important to mention that the hotel 5footway.inn is present in four different locations in Singapore - one of them being Boat Quay. At first my boyfriend and I resided at 5footway.inn Bugis - which is situated near Arab Street. The Bugis location is, in my opinion, not recommendable - the shared bathrooms were extremely dirty and the hotel interior and design is by far not as aesthetic as the Boat Quay location.

We stayed at 5footway.inn Boat Quay for about 5 nights - if I remember correctly we payed about 25€ per night, including breakfast. Our room was small and simple - it included a loft bed as well as an in-built safe for luggage, etc. and a small night table. Unfortunately, the room didn't have a window which was perhaps the biggest downside - other than that though it was perfectly fine: clean & comfortable. The hotel only offers shared bathrooms - which was perhaps an obstacle for me to overcome. I typically enjoy the luxury of having my own private bathroom - however, the experience was very endurable since the bathrooms and showers were in good condition, clean and maintained on a regular basis.

The hotel is located directly in Singapore's Central Business District and is situated by the Singapore River - directly in the Boat Quay amongst numerous restaurants and bars. The hotel's location is perhaps its most strongest feature: there are various possibilities to dine around the area (from chic to simple), the MRT Raffles Place is only a few walking minutes away and Marina Bay is able to be reached by foot as well. It is an extremely pleasant walk and a good opportunity to do a bit of sightseeing!

The hotel's interior design is very chic - the reception, "living room" and outdoor terrace all carry aesthetic and trendy stylistic elements which made the overall stay a pleasant one. The living room is quite cute, with a huge dining table, a sofa, flatscreenTV and a collection of DVDs to choose from in case of a quiet evening in. One can enjoy breakfast on the outdoor terrace while enjoying a beautiful view of Singapore - while the view is especially beautiful during the night time. Breakfast was OK (toast, marmalade, cornflakes, various hot drinks) - the range and quality is definitely something that could be improved.

All in all, our stay at 5footway.inn Boat Quay was absolutely fine and I would definitely consider staying here again if traveling on a budget to Singapore!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sady_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at 5footway at Boat Quay for two days. The location is perfect, although the directions are made a bit too difficult: just take the metro to Raffles.
The place looks rather nice, but our room was tiny (6m2 tops). The bad thing was that the toilet is miles away, especially at night, so you will have to walk through the entire hostel, at least around 50 metres. The staff was OK, so was the breakfast. Many non-talkative people around, that's a pity.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were happy with this hostel, the location and especially the common balcony overlooking the river near to the tea and coffee machine, which was available for complimentary use at any time. I have heard people complain about the breakfast, and while I have had superb breakfasts at budget places, I make a habit of not complaining about basic fare when offered for no additional cost at budget places, and I found the breakfast adequate. The rooms were small, but clean and cozy. There was some noise and a bit too much light seeping through the windows. The washrooms were clean, and the staff helpful and patient when the my somewhat crazy travel partner was asking some pretty unusual questions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Quarters Hostel
Quarters Hostel
#30 of 226 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
River City Inn
#17 of 226 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MET A Space Pod
#29 of 226 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5footway.inn Project Boat Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5footway.inn Project Boat Quay

Property: 5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Address: 76 Boat Quay 5footway.Inn Project Boat Quay, Singapore 049864, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 5footway.inn Project Boat Quay 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay offers the largest capacity of beds to date, with a floor size surpassing that of current 5footway.inn properties, a number of river-facing rooms and 24-hour reception and security.Project Boat Quay is situated along the Singapore River, facing the Parliament House and Asian Civilization Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your 5footway.inn Project Boat Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5footway.Inn Project Boat Quay Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing