We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room”
Review of Amaris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amaris Hotel
Ranked #15 of 83 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2013

When I arrived at the room , there was a used teacup ( used for water ) and a used water glass, the rubbish bin had not been emptied and there were some used tissues and visiting cards on the table. Bed had been made and clean towels provided ,but floor had a few small pieces of paper so I supect it had not been swept . Itold the check in when I checked out . Room safe is not screwed down so you could pack it in your suitcase and take it home if you forget the combination !!! Room is very small ,I was one person,but it is not really a 2 person room. There is tea and coffee in room and in lobby . Good TV and wifi .Breakfast is poor ,toast cereal and coffee/tea only . I paid USD120 per night ,I believe there are better value hotels around Singapore . no fitness or pool or business centre .Not worth the price.

Room Tip: Double glazed so no traffic noise in rooms facing road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location being a short walk from Raffles and Bugis Street market but that's just about as far as it goes for the accolades.

On checking in, the three twin rooms we had booked had morphed into three double rooms which proved slightly awkward for our mixed party. No explanation or apology was afforded for this, and although it was highlighted that the booking had been made months earlier we were told that this was all that was now available.

Having made our way up to the room, we were surprised at how small it actually was - the bed (which wasn't the biggest double I'd seen) took up most of the floorspace and once we had dumped bags there was precious room to manoeuvre, and certainly not at the same time! The A/C worked fine and the shower was adequate but the free wi-fi wouldn't operate on the given password. Breakfast was limited and underwhelming. The hotel overall was clean but I would expect that from a new establishment - I would also expect an attempt to try and please the customer but maybe they don't need to?

So, in conclusion this hotel was fine if you want to be within staggering distance of a woozy evening at Raffles and get up the next day to check out - this was exactly our purpose and the hotel earns two stars purely for the fact that it doesn't cost as much as a room at Raffles! But you do get what you pay for and in this instance, it wasn't much I'm afraid. Refund is now being sought from our online booking agency.

Room Tip: One person per room would be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonjolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Good location but hotel room is very small. The bed is not a full double, the hotel doors are noisy, the staff are not friendly (we weren't allowed a 2nd key card or 3rd towel for my hair!) and the breakfast consists only of bread and cereal and is generally not very welcoming.
Ok for a 1 night stay or solo traveller but don't recommend for longer. Will never stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn_L81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is my first time staying at Amaris Bugis, the quote “YOU PAY WHAT YOU GET” actually did not suit up at all, I’m expecting more, Front Office staffs not friendly, no one help us pick up luggage, the room was so small, my husband and I are always bump into each other when we try to walk in the room. The breakfast was like cereal and bread, they don’t refill the milk if no one asked.
I’m sorry but I will not return to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

the place is perfect for stay in short-term, the room was small but comfortable--same with the bathroom. there's deposit box in the room, if you need it, and they also give you coffee set in your room. the location--I think--strategic enough, when you step out from lobby and turn right you will see Shaw Tower with Subway outlet in there--if you need a more breakfast--well the hotel provides breakfast for their guest (bread with variant jam, orange juice, coffee/tea, cake, milk, and cereal) but in case your stomach wants more than just a bread with jam--so yes I suggest you have a breakfast at Subway. well, it's close to Bugis MRT in Bugis Junction--only took 15 minutes walk to got in there. there's 7/11 store in the left side of the hotel--took 15 steps. what else? oh the check-in time is 02.00 PM, but if you come early with a lot of suitcase you can ask the staff to put your suitcase in their storage and leave until your check-in time. the staff is friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bollsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

this new hotel is very attractive. type of low cost hotel but with premium location. just a few step to Singapore icon, merlion, by walking.
the room is good and clean.
the staff also very helpfull to the customer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heni_Pridia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I stay only for one night and was thoroughly satisfied. The room was small but I expect that, I wasn't expecting much but since the hotel is new, everything looked nice and clean, and they have everything for you in the room, from safety deposit box to shower foam dispenser. The location is also very strategic as it is a walking distance to Bugis Junction and other local tourist attraction, plus a simple breakfast provided (which some other hotels with the same price range don't offer). The staff were very helpful and hospitable as well. Those who are travelling for more than 2 days should not get this hotel however, as the room size won't allow you to have many things in it, but for those who just want to get a good night sleep, this is a good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with a window as some rooms don't have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#180 of 317 in Singapore
447 reviews
Hotel Kai
#156 of 317 in Singapore
273 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#126 of 317 in Singapore
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 81-Bugis
#246 of 317 in Singapore
221 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#71 of 317 in Singapore
1,362 reviews
Strand Hotel
#152 of 317 in Singapore
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaris Hotel

Address: 21 Middle Road, Singapore 188931, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: £55 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amaris Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amaris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaris Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing