We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somewhat hidden gem! :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivia Cassivelaun Fancourt

Olivia Cassivelaun Fancourt
Ranked #1,657 of 10,422 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$115
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: The Quays
Description: OCF is tucked away in one of Singapore's oldest national monuments- The Arts House. The open kitchen captivates with the artistry and culinary skills of Executive Chef Jonathan Koh and the collection of wines are carefully curated by the General Manager Novalan Dorasamy. Soulful live music accompany guests as they dine on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. For private events, OCF's Private Dining Room exclusively caters for 12 guests with a scenic view that faces the Singapore river.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Somewhat hidden gem! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Located at the annex building of The Arts House, many may pass by without knowing there is a lovely restaurant located just right above Timbre on level 2.

Service was fine but something to work on improving so as to provide an even better experience for guests. However food was really good, lunch was at an affordable rate of $38++. I went to try after receiving recommendations from friends and i must say i was not disappointed and in fact surprised by the great french cuisine served. Kudos to the chefs! Been there twice and will definitely be back.

Will be trying dinner next time as i think the ambience would be even better in the evening. :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovestars22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food but sadly with poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Decided to give OCF a try after reading all the highly recommended reviews but to be honest, i was disappointed. Service was bad, right from the start we stepped in. Even though there were free staffs, they seemed clueless and we were both left standing there for awhile. The staffs weren't trained well in my opinion. Atmosphere was just okay but the food was quite well done! Especially the appetizers! Love it! Its really a pity that the dinner was spoiled due to the services provided. But if we disregard that and just focus solely on the food, it was quite enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCFSingapore14, Public Relations Manager at Olivia Cassivelaun Fancourt, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Joan,

I apologise on behalf of the team for your negative service experience.

Please be assured that the issue has been investigated and addressed with our staff.

We will do our best to provide continuous training to ensure quality service standards are met.

Nonetheless, we are glad you enjoyed the food and hope for the opportunity to delight you on your next visit.

I am at your disposal for any further comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and great Jazz Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Brilliant food. Chef Jonathan is definitely one of the best in Singapore. Very attentive service. Great place for a date night. Look out for the jazz evenings on Friday and Saturday!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely all-round lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This upstairs restaurant in the Arts House on the Singapore River near Parliament is a wonderful location. Attentive service, very fine dining, The atmosphere felt very good - it wasn't busy for a late lunch but that added to the comfort. We were as impressed as any place we have been in Singapore and would return without a doubt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hits & misses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Went there for my wife's birthday celebration. Located in a historical building with nice interior. Service was good. However, was surprised how empty it was given it was a Saturday dinner. 5 courses meal for 78++. I thought the wines were rather expensive.

The main course was the biggest disappointment as it was minced veal with mashed potato layered on top. My wife commented it tasted like baby food, which I could not agree more. My first bite reminded me of spam. The other 4 dishes were skilfully presented and unique.

Overall, was average experience. I won't mind trying the set lunch in future but probably will not be back for dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviewer294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivia Cassivelaun Fancourt also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Olivia Cassivelaun Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing