We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, with access to MRT and Chinatown”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #88 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for one night at Dorsett. It was better than expected. The hotel was new, nicely designed, with comfortable bed. The hotel is located above Outralm Park MRT station, which is nice as you have access to both purple and green MRT lines in Outram park. Plenty of eating spots around the hotel, as Chinatown is walking distance (10 minutes walk). The restaurant adjacent to the hotels, candle nut, was surprisingly good. The gym was small, but sufficient and modern with good equipment, while swimming pools, albeit a bit narrow, was nicely designed, with excellent views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Olie92

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us and the positive ratings. We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed the facilities, convenience of our location, as well as the comfort of rooms and hospitality in place.

We have just launched a privilege programme that allows hotel guests to enjoy discounts at participating outlets in the vicinity. We hope you will be able to enjoy this value added service on your stay with us.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore again.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed there during Christmas time so I expected the room would be more expensive.

* Asked for early check in, they said I would need to pay extra 90++ SGD (We checked in around 8-8.30 am). Rooms are available anyway, but it's their policy to charge for this. Beyond my expectation. Staffs aren't as friendly as I expected. I personally don't like their attitude. Money shouldn't be the priority.

* So I've decided to upgrade the room to deluxe since I've pre-purchased my room already at another additional cost yet they still charged for early check in fee.

* Young front-desk staff.

* Quiet lobby

* Rooms are very small but nicely designed. Don't stay in the room whole day but make arrangements to walk to the other end of the street to go shopping. (turn right when go out hotel)

* Avoid restaurant's breakfast (why?) Most restaurant provide similar eastern-western styles breakfast. Walk 10 mins away to the other side of the road for some local foodstalls (ie, roti prata, tissue prata(dessert), fried rice/noodles, dumplings etc..)

* Most shops open after 9am (Chinatown Complex, and the huge buildings nearby).

* Taxi fares cheap, MRT closeby- choose your way of transport.

Room Tip: If the check-in time says 2pm, then either prepare $90++ SGD for earlier check in fee or stay in Cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacobHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear JacobHoo

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts of your stay with us. Please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the early check-in and food & beverage experience.

You may be pleased to note that we had launched a privilege program which allows guests to enjoy F&B discounts at participating outlets in vicinity as a value added service while staying at Dorsett Singapore.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which has since been reviewed with improvements made on areas highlighted. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We've stayed there for 2 days on our way home, and it was a pleasant surprise. Absolutely new, nicely located, very friendly and always helpful staff. Rooms thoughtfully decorated. Free internet was surprisingly fast. Great choice for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Maryna N

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our service quality has been duly shared with the team, and we will continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We arrived early to the Dorsett Hotel from a cruise and were met by Siewping who was delightful. She checked us in quickly and we even got an upgrade. The room was Marvelous. The bed was amazing and it had all the wonderful comforts. Sevaphina was a huge help with where to go and provided some great brochures and maps. 1 minute walk from the MRT and so you can see China Town from where you are. The hotel is brand new. Defiantly upgrade if you can - book this hotel ... you will really like it.

Room Tip: Choose a room with China Town view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear jandm2014,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our Dorsett Representative, Siewping, have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire the rest of our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stay for 4 nights in dorsett room.
Room is small, but clean, tidy and the bed is comfortable to sleep.
All the staff are good, helpful, always keep smiley.
The location is its value added point. Near the china town, above the outram park MRT Station.
Price is reasonable compare with its facilities, we got a free internet access, swimming pool and gym.
Want to give some advise, the room service doesn't need to bother us in the morning and asking what is the time to clean up our room. The newspaper better to hanged up in the door handle rather than I pick up in the lobby with the receptionist every morning.

Recommended for young couple, not really recommended for family with young children, because the bathroom is full of glasses and mirrors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HANRY_WOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear HANRY_WOO

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the convenience of our location and facilities, as well as the comfort of rooms and hospitality in place.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Dorsett Singapore on your next trip to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 for two nights and think it's a fairly good hotel but presents some minuses. Wifi was free of charge and worked fine in the room but inconsistently poorly at the pool. The hotel was quite empty and as such is a quite new one. It is reasonably priced for Singapore and very modern all in all, with clean and nice common areas and functional yet quite small rooms. The bed was very comfortable, floor corridors stylish and clean, and private in-room rain shower was fantastic with great water power (one of the best I've ever had!). Pool is okay and of a nice size but a bit on the chilly side and quite poorly lit in the dark (limits swimming after sunset). Pool gets quite many fallen leaves from pool deck trees (why didn't they plant palm trees here?) and maintenance/cleaning seemed insufficient during our stay. I never saw hotel staff at the pool. Residents also use the pool and the gym. The gym was small but very good. We didn't try the breakfast as it was ridiculously expensive. In close proximity there are no really good supermarkets (only one tiny convenience store across the road) or good food options but in 15-20 min walk you will find many choices (Chinatown food outlets, a McDonalds, a Chinatown shopping center with restaurants etc). The park nearby is not very good for running (uphill forest park - area not so clean/nice). For running the best option is to head to the river. MRT station is right next to hotel which is great. Taxis found the hotel after making a call to reception. Staff at this hotel is very friendly and receptionists are extremely helpful in planning your activities in Singapore.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henri_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear henri_s

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Your special mention of our room comfort & service quality have been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and comfort at all times.

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the swimming pool which we will take note and improve on it. You may be pleased to note that we had launched a privilege programme which allows guests to enjoy F&B discounts at participating outlets in vicinity as a value added service while staying at Dorsett Singapore.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest Regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for two nights. Staff friendly and check in easy. Room was a good size for a solo traveller, bed super comfortable and nice bathroom. Had a balcony room so it was lovely to step outside and have real air, even if it was hot. Used the gym once and it was good, limited equipment, but it wasn't busy so I had no problems. MRT station right next door so getting around very easy and can walk to china town.

Only complaint was the breakfast. Not a great choice.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear April-holiday

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts of your stay with us. Please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the breakfast spread. However,
we are pleased to note that you have enjoyed the facilities, convenience of our location, as well as the comfort of rooms and hospitality in place.

You may be pleased to note that we had launched a privilege program which allows guests to enjoy F&B discounts at participating outlets in vicinity as a value added service while staying at Dorsett Singapore.

Thank you once again for your review and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#65 of 319 in Singapore
1,594 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Amara Singapore
#69 of 319 in Singapore
1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
M Hotel Singapore
#121 of 319 in Singapore
1,701 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#79 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £98 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing