We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #82 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have booked 1 night through booking.com for $175++ (no breakfast)

I love the entrance to the hotel lobby, and the decor as well. Besides that, our room was 734. the bed were good and the room is clean.

What I want to mention is the great location, as it is situated in the heart of Chinatown but yet not so near the bustling area, we were able to enjoy both the convenience and quietness. The Chinese New Year market was just within 5 minutes walk and we can walk there as and when we like.

There are also many eateries around. Had lunch at Molly Roffey and breakfast at the plain cafe. All within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurposefulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear PurposefulTraveller

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    419
    131
    30
    20
See reviews for
146
260
86
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had a pleasant 3-day stay at Dorsett last month.
The rooms are modern and super clean but a bit on the smaller side.
Staff was friendly... no complaints there.
I think the location is the best feature. The Outram park MRT station is really close so it is very easy to get around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Science_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Science_Cat

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as ease of convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very convenient location but I won't consider recommending to my fnds. One of my worst stay so far:
- no room available even at 3:30pm. Proposed offering a fruit basket but we did not receive it even after few days' stay. It is not a matter of fruit but sincerity.
- unfriendly and impolite staff. Experiencing from the front desk. Mainly talked to the monitor not the guest even the script sounds sincere.
- found a dirty towel at the shower room of previous guest
- could not access room by key card twice. Staff came to change the door lock battery without any apology of inconvenient caused.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MY Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear MY Q

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the services & room standards. We truly appreciate your patience with us and we have brought to the attention of the department concerned with necessary actions taken for improvements.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I'm not going to spend too much about this place. small toilet and room. pool are dirty with dead leaf scattered all over the swiming pool. The pool area is stale with cold water. no jacuzz at swimming pool area bcoz water soo coldddd. Forget about getting help with your bags as I fumbled a few bags as the staff watched in amusement. Seriously please find other hotel with such convinience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanilacoklat03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear vanilacoklat03

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts of your stay with us. Please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the swimming pool & service.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Being at the Dorsett i thot that it was one of the best hotel in Singapore as the name Dorsett itself were well known as the best hotel chain in the world. but the Dorsett Singapore is not that good and not that bad either.
First, the location is at the junction and nowhere near a shopping mall. Yes it is above the OUtram Park MRT but thats about it. Nothing special about the location. Unless youre a patiet going to the Singapore GH than this is the best hotel for yours it is the nearest.
The service were also very common and nothing special. As a matter of fact the person handling us at the front counter were very cold and nearly rude but because he notice that i'm gonna write soon in tripadvisor, so he maintain his coldness and kept that rudeness to himself.
The room is another story. It is very very small and the amenities were bad. Toilet were dark and the closet were sooo small. so was the bed, It is stiff and very small. Theres not much room to walk around.
As for muslim traveller, please avoid this hotel. The breakfast is not halal and theres noooo halal restaurant around this area. Seriously please find other hotel with such convinience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madone1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear madone1181

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the areas and service that might not have met your expectations. Please be assured that we are sourcing for Halal food places near to the hotel to cater to the needs of muslim travellers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I'm not going to spend too much energy complaining about this place. Just a few highlights. The first thing you will notice is that people are very unfriendly at the front desk and valet. However, this is not a hotel specific phenomenon as you can read about on other forums. Forget about getting help with your bags as I fumbled a few bags as the staff watched in amusement. The rooms are small, even by Tokyo standards, cramped and not well designed. The bathrooms are bizarre and small. The hot water for a shower is not available in the morning hours. The pool area is stale with cold water. I can't rate the food as the negative reviews kept me rom trying it. One positive, the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveldog95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear traveldog95

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the services & room standards. We truly appreciate your patience with us and we have brought to the attention of the department concerned with necessary actions taken for improvements.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for one night at Dorsett. It was better than expected. The hotel was new, nicely designed, with comfortable bed. The hotel is located above Outralm Park MRT station, which is nice as you have access to both purple and green MRT lines in Outram park. Plenty of eating spots around the hotel, as Chinatown is walking distance (10 minutes walk). The restaurant adjacent to the hotels, candle nut, was surprisingly good. The gym was small, but sufficient and modern with good equipment, while swimming pools, albeit a bit narrow, was nicely designed, with excellent views.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Olie92

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us and the positive ratings. We are delighted to note that you had enjoyed the facilities, convenience of our location, as well as the comfort of rooms and hospitality in place.

We have just launched a privilege programme that allows hotel guests to enjoy discounts at participating outlets in the vicinity. We hope you will be able to enjoy this value added service on your stay with us.

Your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore again.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Majestic Hotel
#92 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Amara Singapore Hotel
#77 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Naumi Liora
#98 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Property: Dorsett Singapore
Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing