We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #88 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“awesome hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed here over the weekend, clean and new hotel, with friendly staff. nice restaurants around the area as well, to suit all budgets. great location and very convenient via public transport. will def consider staying again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coordinatedpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear coordinatedpink,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    449
    143
    33
    21
See reviews for
161
279
96
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Dorsett for 4 nights in July , good location, next door to the Outram ParkMRT station and buses at the front door.ten minute walk to china town, though loads of restaurants and bars close by serving all varieties of food. I stayed in a standard twin room with a business colleague, which was indeed STANDARD. Very small room, if staying again would upgrade to a deluxe or better, though nothing else was available when I booked. Overall staff were very good, polite and helpful. Ate in the restaurant, food was good as we're the cocktails. Staff friendly and efficient, waitress was from the Ukraine and was very knowledgable .
Go to china town seafood restaurant which is 50 metres from the Chinatown MTR station Pagoda st exit great chilli and black pepper crab and very cold tiger beer.
Would stay again at the Dorsett for the location and staff.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank toptraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear toptraveller14,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Do allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the room size. To avoid disappointment, please do book early with us to secure your preferred room.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A swish hotel that is convenient to the mrt, bus routes and Chinatown (a couple of blocks walk) but not in amongs the noise and craziness of it all. The foyer has a bit of Singaporean upmarket tackiness in the bling but otherwise the hotel is clean and elegantly styled. The pool is great and rarely busy. The standard rooms are pretty small (read: tiny) but I do like the integrated bathroom - fun and embarrassing at the same time. It is a very comfortable hotel (not to mention the beds) and the hotel staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supertooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear supertooth,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June 2014. The location was good with easy access to the MRT so it was perfect for touring. There isn't a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, you'll have to walk a few minutes to find those.
Room was good. Beds were incredibly comfortable, A/C was super cold. The only issue was the bathroom, specifically the door. You could barely get into the shower with the bathroom door closed. And there's part of the bathroom that's just open to the room, no way of closing it. That'd be fine for a couple but I was traveling with another friend and it was a bit awkward, especially for a 2-twin-bed room.
For the price and location it was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear AdamFo,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect for our needs. Our main purpose was to visit Universal Studios, but staying on Sentosa was too expensive. This was a great option and the taxi was only $10 to Universal Studios.

The area nearby had some cool dinner and breakfast options so I would suggest having a walk around.

The hotel was clean, had very high ceilings, and had a great shower (rain shower or normal faucet). The whole place has a very new feel to it.

I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Shanst,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at the Dorsett Hotel Singapore from June-19 till June 22, I found the service to be exceptional, especially at the reception counter. The staff were courteous and very helpful.
I was escorted to my room and shown all the facilities available. The concierge were also very helpful in arranging taxi transportation for me as, and when I needed it. The hotel is situated close to an MRT station and I used this facility often in travelling around Singapore. I spent a lot of time at Clark Quay a big dining and entertaining area and it is only a 5 minute taxi ride to there.
I would not hesitate to stay there again as it is away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area.

Room Tip: Being the first time there I was in a room on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking a fish pond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Kenneth 1948,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating your stay with us as “excellent”. We are indeed pleased to receive your compliments on the hospitality rendered. This will surely serve as an inspiration for us to continuously strive for the highest level of service as always.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#56 of 314 in Singapore
1,545 reviews
Amara Singapore
#79 of 314 in Singapore
1,734 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#12 of 314 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#106 of 314 in Singapore
855 reviews
Park Hotel Alexandra
#68 of 314 in Singapore
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Property: Dorsett Singapore
Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing