We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #87 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here from Mar 12th to 21st. Conveniently located above Outram MRT station. Rooms are of average size. Had a small issue with the AC cooling, got it solved promptly within a day. The management needs to put efforts to make the breakfast more interesting by including more fruits
and salads. For a vegetarian, has a limited options to choose from. 5 mins walking distance to Chinatown makes it more worthy to stay.
Lots of hawker centers nearby to choose from. All in all a good location and a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baindur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Baindur,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the convenience of our prime location.

On the other hand, please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the breakfast. We have raised your comments to the attention of the Management and our F&B operator at Pappasan.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    439
    141
    33
    21
See reviews for
157
274
93
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This reviewer agrees with all the other positive reviews for the Dorsett Singapore. Location, hotel build quality and cleanliness, helpful staff, good facilities, etc. My room was a standard Dorsett Room on the 10th floor. This had the infamous bathroom suite with swinging door. Note that the integrated sliding bathroom door has a pop-out catch above the lock for extracting the door from the wall recess. Bottles of water in the room (tea/coffee making) are replaced daily. I stayed for 4 nights for local business and found the direct access from Changi to Outram Park MRT station next door to the hotel a selling point. Outram Park is the junction of the East West line & North East line with Chinatown and the HarbourFront (for Sentosa monorail) only 1 stop away. The hotel brochure states that they sell MRT Ez-link cards. Breakfast in the restaurant includes a good variety of food for different tastes & nationalities.
The staff were happy to extend my late checkout from midday to 6pm for a reasonable cost due to a late night flight. Metered taxi fare to/from Changi is about S$30 but some do not take Visa credit cards so some cash is handy.

Room Tip: A higher floor room can give a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTrav44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Worldtrav44,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed over at this place for a night. Check in was relatively quick. Staff was friendly. Was informed by check in staff that room is upgraded to a bigger room for free. The room is new and clean. However the bathroom was really really tiny! The room area itself is quite spacious. Very convenient as it is right next to an MRT station. Getting taxi in the morning is relatively easy. Will consider going back again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jwlyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jwlyy,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is the first time i've stayed anywhere other than MBS in Singapore, I was very apprehensive. But The Dorsett is great.
I am in my room right now writing this review. Its a fantastic location, next to the Outram Park MRT, makes it easy to navigate the city. It is on the same line that takes you to the airport, super convenient.
The room I have is a cute loft style room where the living space (small ish) with couch, TV (also upstairs over bed), desk to work from and bathroom is downstairs and the bed is upstairs. I really like it. I might even say I love it!
China Complex is a few minutes walk down the street, so local foods are easy to access.
Staff are really friendly. In Particular Michelle (one of the taller Singaporeans i've met) went out of her way to help me. I was so impressed that I booked The Dorsett in KL on the next leg of my trip, hopefully I get the same great experience there.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in SG, It is not MBS but it is a fraction of the price and offers a different aspect of Singapore.
Thoroughly impressed!

Management: If you are reading this, please give Michelle a pay rise, i would stay here again because of the service she provided me alone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robbieh836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear robbieh836,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

The management has duly noted on your appreciation. Your special mention of our service quality has been duly shared with the team, and will definitely continue to inspire all our staff in working towards ensuring the highest standards of service and hospitality at all times. To top it all, our ongoing Recognition Programme will be beneficial to our employees in either monetary and/or non-monetary ways.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

stayed here over the weekend, clean and new hotel, with friendly staff. nice restaurants around the area as well, to suit all budgets. great location and very convenient via public transport. will def consider staying again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coordinatedpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear coordinatedpink,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Dorsett for 4 nights in July , good location, next door to the Outram ParkMRT station and buses at the front door.ten minute walk to china town, though loads of restaurants and bars close by serving all varieties of food. I stayed in a standard twin room with a business colleague, which was indeed STANDARD. Very small room, if staying again would upgrade to a deluxe or better, though nothing else was available when I booked. Overall staff were very good, polite and helpful. Ate in the restaurant, food was good as we're the cocktails. Staff friendly and efficient, waitress was from the Ukraine and was very knowledgable .
Go to china town seafood restaurant which is 50 metres from the Chinatown MTR station Pagoda st exit great chilli and black pepper crab and very cold tiger beer.
Would stay again at the Dorsett for the location and staff.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank toptraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear toptraveller14,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Do allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the room size. To avoid disappointment, please do book early with us to secure your preferred room.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A swish hotel that is convenient to the mrt, bus routes and Chinatown (a couple of blocks walk) but not in amongs the noise and craziness of it all. The foyer has a bit of Singaporean upmarket tackiness in the bling but otherwise the hotel is clean and elegantly styled. The pool is great and rarely busy. The standard rooms are pretty small (read: tiny) but I do like the integrated bathroom - fun and embarrassing at the same time. It is a very comfortable hotel (not to mention the beds) and the hotel staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supertooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorsettsingapore, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear supertooth,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore
#79 of 312 in Singapore
1,699 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,531 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 312 in Singapore
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel Alexandra
#66 of 312 in Singapore
801 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Property: Dorsett Singapore
Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#78 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing