We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with great restaurants”
Review of Dorsett Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Singapore
Ranked #89 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel itself was alright- neither disappointed nor did it wow us. It was functional and kept nice and clean, with cheery front desk staff who were really helpful.

The only downside was the horrible restaurant on the first floor called Papasan. It serves dry toasts, bland and uninspiring Asian dishes, and a general letdown.

Venture over to the Dorsett Residences side of the building, and there you'll find a gem called Roosevelt's Diner & Bar serving great breakfast. I'd ordered the Big Breakfast and an interesting Smoked Salmon Waffles, and both were really good comfort food. Coffee here was great too and strong, nice place to just chill cos they've got free wifi too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidLee133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear DavidLee133,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort as well as the convenience through our prime location to meet your travel needs.

On the other hand, please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the restaurant. We have raised your comments to the attention of the Management and our F&B operator at Pappasan.

We have launched a privilege programme that allows hotel guests to enjoy discounts at participating outlets in the vicinity. We hope you will be able to enjoy this value-added service on your stay with us. (Roosevelt's Diner & Bar is included)

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed here with my 60+ year old mother for three nights on the way home from a European holiday. We booked the standard room through a travel agent about 9 months prior, so it was disappointing to see the deluxe room for the same price on a hotel booking site several days before arrival. I enquired about an upgrade but it fell on deaf ears so I'm not sure how others are able to achieve theirs. Nonetheless we were happy to have an early check-in after our long flight.

The hotel is a short walk from the Outram Park MRT station. Being on the same line as the airport made it a cheap and easy way to arrive. Our bags were taken care of as soon as we got to the front door and taken to our room. The check-in staff were very pleasant and helpful, although we weren't informed about how to use the room card to work the lift!

The standard room was small, with the bathroom and storage issues that have already been well documented here. The beds were comfortable, the room was serviced daily and supplied with toiletries, tea/coffee, minibar etc. A later checkout and use of shower before leaving for the airport was appreciated.

Positive points about the hotel:
great location - MRT and Chinatown close by;
the rooftop pool and small gym;
friendly staff;
excellent views from rooms on higher floors;
excellent WiFi signal.

Improvements that could be made:
carpets in the rooms and hallways be vaccummed regularly;
a pool attendant to clean up leaves, empty glasses (dangerous if broken glass enters the pool) etc. before morning opening;
recycling waste options;
hooks/rails behind the door and on the wall to increase storage options;
breakfast to be included in room price.

Overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend this hotel to those looking for a pleasant time in Singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Melanie T,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and facilities as well as the convenience of our prime location.

On the other hand, please allow us to extend our sincere apologies if we have not exceed your expectations. We have brought your feedback to the immediate attention of the department concerned with necessary actions taken for improvements.

Last but not least, thank you for your kind recommendation to others and your valuable feedback, which will help to constantly keep our standards in check. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here in June 2014. Very clean, accommodating staff, average breakfast. The turnoff is their reservation. My company reserved a room for me using the corporate card. However, upon check in, the receptionist charged me again for the stay. Good thing, my office sort it out the next morning. They issued an apology letter to me and my company.

Bad reservation service for a corporate account that books here almost every week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ruthperiquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear girltraveller2009,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the hospitality and comfort of our Hotel.

Please allow us to extend our apologies for the blunder on the overcharge. We are glad to note this was resolved. However, we have brought to the attention of the department concerned with necessary actions taken for improvements.

We truly appreciate your patience with us and the support your good company has given us.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Firstly, the location is great. (The Outram MRT is just a few seconds away from the hotel while China Town is next door) The decor is quirky and modern. The rooms are nice and clean. The bed is extremely comfortable after a long day's work. The breakfast they serve is good though the choices are limited. All in all I had a good stay for two days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sharmi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sharmi17,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back as always.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Dears

Apologies for English mistakes, not my mother-tongue.
Visited the hotel during July 2014.

Location is ok, as there are two lines of MRT (metro) which will bring you to any place you need. Chinatown is near buy, and good bar area...

Service of the hotel requires attention, sometimes reception was great.
However - rooms weren't clean. we had to remind the service to clean up the rooms...towels,sheets were really bad and probably not cleaned...
Requesting for new towels - wasn't helpful..Requests to clean the room - forget it...may be by the end of the day..

Joke: Laundry services take two days...???
Response "but if you need faster - you can go by yourself!!" Really?? this is the reply from the hotel service?

Food: the restaurant on first floor looks good and quite promising.
Yet tried once - and....well guys....it is not..simply not.

Rooms - ok for small family, nice and convenient bad, however the sheets weren't clean..

If you are here for the visit, with plans to see the city and need some space to sleep - can do the job. But for this price you can get much better hotels with better service, food and location.
It is not 5 stars, I am doubt for even for 4..overpriced and low value for money.


Regards

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dany k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear dany k,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the room operations and our services.

Our Hotel prides itself on providing our guests with the highest level of friendly, responsive service. Making our guests feel welcome and well cared for is our highest priority and we are very sorry that you did not experience the level of service and attention that our guests have come to expect.

Still, we are truly sorry where we felt the concerned service staff should have provided a positive reply, to avoid unnecessary inconvenience caused to you. We assure you, such problem will not arise again and our staff will be extra careful while dealing with our valued guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We hope we can be given another opportunity to be your preferred accommodation in Singapore.

Please do not hesitate to write to us at guestservices.singapore@dorsetthotels.com.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed two nights in two double bed rooms connected. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Toilet is clean and modern. Chinatown is just a stroll away. We had frog legs porridge which is so tasty for breakfast. The only set back with this hotel is that there is car park. We had to pay quite a lot for parking at the next building.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 82Leow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear 82Leow,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review and rating of “excellent” on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort as well as the convenience of our prime location.

Please accept our sincere apologies as we read your review on the car park charges. As the carpark is managed by a different operator, we are offered per entry tickets for our guests at S$8 nett. We thank you for your patience with us.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation in Singapore and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My heart sank when I arrived at what can only be described as the very blingy foyer of the Dorsett.
The entrance is do inmates by a huge chandelier hung at eye level and backed by a marble and mirror tile panel. Over the top. But as I saw the design aesthetic repeated throughout the hotel - fake white fireplaces, ornate mirrors and sculptural finishes to walls - I decided I liked it. If works somehow. The only thing I thought was gratuitous were the room numbers placed in fake cameras on tripods in relief against the wall. Weird.
The room itself was good - spacious an comfortable with all the anticipated extras for a hotel I this price range - free wifi, a bathrobe and an iron. The bed was large and comfortable with fresh, white heavy sheets.
I loved the bathroom - a huge amber glass tiled wet room. I couldn't control the loo however - the flush mechanism was so sensitive that it flushed every time I passed by. Also the basin had no shelf. Awkward to balance all your toiletries.
Thanks to the friendly staff for an early check in; not so impressed with the 40 minute wait for a battery change for my tv remote. The poor technician was obviously in demand.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lucy u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLinHH, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear lucy u,

Greetings from Dorsett Singapore!

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed the comfort of our Hotel.

In addition, please allow us to foremost extend our sincere apologies for the disappointment you felt over the hotel decor and the bathroom amenities/facilities. We have brought this to the attention of the department concerned with necessary actions taken for improvements. We truly appreciate your patience with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback which will help to constantly keep our standards in check as we work harder to deliver a better experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Singapore in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Team at Dorsett Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#66 of 317 in Singapore
1,615 reviews
Amara Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
2,040 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 317 in Singapore
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
3,895 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#120 of 317 in Singapore
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Singapore

Address: 333 New Bridge Road, Singapore 088765, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £94 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where heritage meets modernity. Located conveniently above the transport hub of Outram Park MRT interchange station, Dorsett Singapore offers easy accessibility to the city’s commercial and tourist highlights such as the shopping paradise at Orchard Road and Marina Bay; entertainment empires like the Resorts World Sentosa and Universal Studios Singapore, and the financial hub in Central Business District. All modern guestrooms and loft rooms equipped with full amenities and are equipped with high-speed internet access. The hotel offers a variety of facilities including meeting spaces, a fitness centre and an outdoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi. On-site dining and neighbouring eateries provide guests exclusive lifestyle privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing