We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food excellent service”
Review of MTR Restaurant

MTR Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 11,280 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: Indian, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Serving Pure Vegetarian Authentic South Indian Food Since 1924. Only the Finest and Fresh Ingredients used. NO MSG,Chemicals and Preservatives used. . Freshly prepared food. Situated Opp. Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple on Serangoon Road. Near Ferrer Park MRT station.. Next to City Square Mall.
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a great place to eat to experience southern Indian food. Its A vegetarian restaurant with great food and coffee. We ate the Masala Dosa, Onion Utappam, Poori Saagu, Ravi Idly and Rice Pongal. We shared between three and were full. We followed up with a cup of coffee each and quoting my dad "the best coffee I've had in Singapore". Great value at $30 for the lot.

The staff are very good and were happy to stop and describe the dishes as well as help us choose some. They were very attentive and made sure we were enjoying all the dishes. I Will definitely be taking all our visitors there for a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LizBeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear LizBeath, Thank you for visiting MTR Singapore. We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We also appreciate your Dad's comment that ours is the "Best Coffee he ever had in Singapore".

Our motto is to make "Most Authentic Healthy South Indian food " available in Singapore at a very affordable price. We use NO preservatives, NO MSG, NO re-used oil. All the foods are freshly prepared and all the ingredients are imported from India and kept in fixed temperature to retain the original taste. With the support and motivation from people like you, we have been rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" as well as the "No.6 Restaurant among all the 7,130 restaurants in Singapore".

Please do visit us more often with your friends and families and spread the good word around. Kindly convey our respect to your Dad. Thanking you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 903 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We found this on Tripadvisor and rushed off to be completely impressed by this find at the northern end of Serangoon Rd. We parked at City Square Mall and walked the 100 metres up the road. When We arrived the place was full and we were greeted by the cashier who gave us a quick highlights of the menu and helped us place our order within minutes of having walked in the door. After a short wait we were seated and our food arrived quickly after. The food is not presented on anything particularly flash plates, and the decor wasn't overly noticeable, but the food was great, flavoursome and portions were good. Really not important in light of the quality of the food.
We had the recommended thosai, idili, and rice. All great and filled us both with the single serve of these three orders. Cost us $25 for the three meals and 2 mango lassies. Recommended, and just as good as anything twice the price. Polite service and smiles.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nickcoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThampiNellikala, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Nickcoulter, Thank you for visiting MTR Singapore. We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We also appreciate your initiative in recommending some of our dishes to other TripAdvisor users.

Our motto is to make "Most Authentic Healthy South Indian food " available in Singapore at a very affordable price. We use NO preservatives, NO MSG, NO re-used oil. All the foods are freshly prepared and all the ingredients are imported from India and kept in fixed temperature to retain the original taste. With the support and motivation from people like you, we have been rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" as well as the "No.6 Restaurant among all the 7,130 restaurants in Singapore".

Please do visit us more often with your friends and families and spread the good word around. Thanking you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you've eaten at MTR in India, you'll know the experience is amazing but getting to eat the yummm food of MTR in Singapore just doubles the flavor. If you're there on the weekend do try their Special Thali, it gives you a little of everything.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Prerna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThampiNellikala, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Prerna, Thank you for visiting MTR Singapore. We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. Our motto is to make "Most Authentic Healthy South Indian food " available in Saingapore at a very affordable price. We use NO preservatives, NO MSG, NO re-used oil. All the foods are freshly prepared and all the ingredients are imported from India and kept in fixed temperature to retain the original taste. With the support and motivation from people like you, we have been rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" as well as the "No.6 Restaurant among all the 7,130 restaurants in Singapore".
Please do visit us more often with your friends and families and spread the good word around. Thanking you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

For all you Dosa lovers, this is indeed the best place in Singapore. MTR is world famous for its delicious Kannada dishes and quality of food and this Singapore strives at its best to keep up the same standard. Some of the ingredients are flown down from Bangalore to maintain the authenticity.

All the dosas varieties is very good, neer dosa is also to be found here. Also everyday has a different rice variety to be tasted.

In terms of desserts and sweets, do try the Chandrahaara which is modeled after French desserts.

Overall surely a must try for Karnataka dishes.

2  Thank roddamranganath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Sir, Thank you for your visit to MTR Singapore and the genuine feedback. We also appreciate your rating and recommendation to others. MTR Singapore was started with the sole intention of making 'Authentic' South Indian food available in Singapore at an affordable price. Today 28% of our guests are foreigners, who loves South Indian food. In fact they spent time with us learning the story behind each of those items. However, when a person like you, who is an authority on Kannada Food gives such good comments, we feel accomplished. It is our promise to maintain the quality and standards to the best of your satisfaction. Kindly keep visiting us more often with your family and friends...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Best Vegetarian restaurant in Singapore.. I have tasted in many restaurants but never felt like at home... But MTR made me feel like home both in Quality and hospitality... Must visit place for all the foodies... U can't stop ur appetite with one dish.. Last but not the least, Best value for money in Singapore and it will never make u feel regret... :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pavithra2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTRSingapore1924, Guest Relations Manager at MTR Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Pavithra,

Thank you for your visit to MTR Singapore and for the genuine feedback.

Only because of the support and encouragement from genuine customers like you, we are rated as the "No.1 Vegetarian Restaurant in Singapore" within 6 months of our operation in Singapore. Every focus is made on serving fresh, authentic and hygienic South Indian food with a smile. All items are prepared fresh. We don't use preservatives, re-used oil or MSG. All ingredients are brought down from India and kept at specific temperature, to give the original taste.

Looking forward to see you more often at MTR Singapore with your family and friends....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MTR Restaurant also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to MTR Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing