We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #1 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“i enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

lovely boutique hotel. clean and contemporary design but in an heritage context. the entrance is even surprising because it looks like a temple gate. it is very well located near chinatown and marina bay just across a MTR station which makes the city very accessible. the standard room is tiny but pleasant and the bed is comfortable. the staff is extremely friendly and professional. there si only the breakfast which is poor and not good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ami b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear ami b,

Thank you for taking your time to write us this lovely review.

Being hidden behind Fuk Tak Chi Museum, formerly a temple, AMOY’s location is well liked by many of our guests due to its easy access to all the restaurants, bars and places of interest – just a short walking distance to Marina Bay, China town and Clarke Quay etc... I am very delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our team made it more pleasant.

I also noted on your comment about breakfast. You may feel it is not as good compare to a full buffet service as we only provide continental choices. However we are working on it to bring some new items to the spread to cater our guests better. This improvement will be done soon and I hope you will like it better on your next stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    200
    30
    16
    2
See reviews for
58
509
171
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I was searching for a hotel to surprise my girlfriend (celebrating a special occasion). AMOY is a very new establishment, and I decided to book it despite having only a handful of reviews.

I’m glad to say that I made the absolute right decision in booking this hotel, because no other hotel I’ve stayed in so far came close to the service standards of AMOY.

To prepare for the special occasion, I made a trip down to the hotel just to have a look at the rooms. Jeremy and Apple were extremely helpful, and offered to give a tour around the hotel, providing some tips to pick the best hotel rooms. They were very warm and sincere about it, despite it being close to 11pm at night.

Thereafter, I requested (via email) for decorations in the room for the surprise, and the hotel’s staff gladly obliged. They took glad of the tiniest of details, especially in the days leading to the stay. The end product exceeded my expectations. I could not have been more thankful for the little touches (personalised, handwritten cards) and decorations.

The room itself wasn’t large, but size did not matter, because the room was very comfortable. The oriental feel at the hotel exterior, lobby and corridors contrasted with the modern, and well-furnished room interior. I loved the “free” minibars, and the Nespresso machines that came with exotically flavoured capsules. The rain shower was simply amazing.

Last but not least, I would like to thank the hotel staff again, especially: Grace, Lina, Jeremy, Apple and Ronald for their extraordinary level of service.

This hotel might be slightly pricey, but for that price, you get a truly unparalleled level of service and comfort.

Room Tip: "219" is the largest room available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Justin,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your excellent experience.

I am absolutely blown away by your detailed review on how happy you were with our team’s service. It is our pleasure to be able to witness such a special event of yours and be part of it. Grace, Lina, Jeremy, Apple and Ronald were more than happy to assist you with the surprise and they had great joy in creating all the personalized touches. Your acknowledgement on their excellent service means so much to them and will motivate them to strive even better.

I am glad that you also loved our room and enjoyed the amenities which were carefully selected to ensure our guests get the best in – room experience. At AMOY, our goal is to create memorable experience and it is so wonderful to know that we have exceeded your expectation. Rest assured we will continue to keep up the good work and make further improvement to serve you better.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel. The rooms are beautifully appointed, contemporary but with heritage touches. The entrance is a small temple, which you walk through to find the lobby. There is also a back entrance that opens out onto arcades of restaurants and bars. It is ideally located near Chinatown and Marina Bay, with a new MRT station across the road. The place is very clean and the staff are very friendly and attentive. A great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most hotel rooms in Singapore are on the small side, but the rooms here are well set out, creating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Mel F,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your stay experience and recommend AMOY.

It is always wonderful to know our guests are happy with all aspects of the hotel from the design and comfort of the hotel; the fabulous location and most important, the excellent service from our team. At AMOY, we aim to make every journey an experience and I am so glad we made yours memorable. Rest assured, we will continue to make further improvement on our product and service to serve you better each time.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estonia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Lovely hotel in an excellent location - Chinatown and Clarke Quay are just a stroll away, the hotel is surrounded by a myriad of restaurants and shops. The best part of Amoy is the people who work here, they took excellent care of my family, Ronald being the most enthusiastic and helpful among this lovely and warm bunch. A few things to note though - as the rooms are tiny you need to think twice before bringing too much luggage with you. And the breakfast buffet could use some more variety (and tables). Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikupiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Mikupiku,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your stay experience.

It is wonderful to know that our team has made your stay an excellent experience and Ronald was most excited to see his name was specially mentioned by you. This is what AMOY is all about; we take care of our guests personally and ensure they feel comfortable.

I have noted your comment on breakfast. We are in the midst of working on it to provide more variety to our continental spread from early next month. You will see the improvement on your next stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I have never heard before about this hotel, and just by chance booked last New Year crossover. Amoy has exceed all my expectations from room cleanliness & "homeyness" up to the staff who went beyond extra mile.

A bit pricey, but it's all worth it

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Edsel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Edsel P,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write us this lovely review.

AMOY is all about creating experience and warm hospitality. I am glad to know you felt homey at AMOY and our team made your experience worthwhile. Rest assured we will continue to make further improvement on our product and services to serve our guest better.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

we decided to have a short trip to Singapore during our 3 weeks visit to Malaysia from the US. we picked the AMOY based on the budget & amenities, location, and to a certain extent the rave reviews of the hotel from the fellow travelers. Turned out it was a splendid decision!

From the great amenities offered by the hotel (welcome drink, complimentary limo pick up form the airport, complimentary internet, breakfast, mini bar items including beer and soda, which they refill daily), the great location of the hotel (across the street from the newly opened LRT station across the street and 15 minutes walk to Merlion Park) to the excellent deco and ambient of the room, AMOY hotel is truly amazing in every aspect.

However, the greatest and most lasting memories our stay left us, were the excellent service offered by the staff at the AMOY. Throughout our stay, they went above and beyond to ensure our needs are met, our comfort are at the highest level and they showed unparalleled enthusiasm and hospitality we experienced. From sheltering us from rain while carrying our bags & explaining the history of the temple, patiently explaining the different attractions and public transportation options, bringing us the food items during breakfast service, offering to pay with their personal credit card when my card failed to get through via online admission ticket purchase, to giving us a room to freshen up after we checked out from our room while our flights are hours away, Anita, Apple, Ronald, Lina, Jeremy, April and Ms Chau truly defined the gold standard of hotel guest service and we're totally spoiled by their hospitality.

Our stay at the AMOY is the highlight of the visit to Singapore, and the only regret we had was that we only stayed 2 nights. AMOY will be our choice the next time we visit Singapore.

p/s: the personal note hand written every night left on the bed to wish us a nice sleep was especially nice touch!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Mr Ng,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

AMOY is all about personalized service and creating memorable experience, it is indeed wonderful to know you had the most lasting memories with us. Our service team: Anita, Apple, Ronald, Lina, Jeremy, Apple and I are very delighted to read our names specially mentioned by you and that you appreciate our service. Knowing our guests happy and satisfied at AMOY is the best motivation for us to strive harder in our service.

I am so glad that you also love our amenities because we have put them all in place to ensure our guests get the best treatment at AMOY. We believe everyone deserves to be spoilt once in a while and we make it happen. Rest assured we will continue to maintain our gold service standard and make further improvements to our products and services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, West Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My Christmas present was 3 nights in Singapore- coming up from Perth, West Australia - and what a pleasure it was to stay at this new hotel in the CBD of Singapore. A heritage listed Temple on Telok Ayer Street - and the hotel has cleverly been built behind. We were collected at the airport, and driven to the front door, welcome cocktail, personal service by the very attentive staff, free wi-fi and breakfast. Our room was spacious, two levels with plenty of room for the two of us for such a short stay - you might find it limiting if staying longer. Air cond, nespresso coffee machine. kettle & tea, mini bar with beer and soft drink. The staff were a standout - as previous reviews have mentioned - they cannot do enough for you - and this is what makes such a difference with a short holiday like this. I will certainly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We had room 219 - apparently the largest room... and it was certainly roomy. However, noisy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverStream22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear SilverStream22,

Thank you for taking your time to write us this wonderful review.

At AMOY, we aim to make “every journey an experience”. I am glad that you have noticed the different touch points within the journey, starting with Fu Tak Chi Museum, formerly a temple, but now our entrance. We have painstakingly taken the effort to retain the heritage of the hotel while combining the heritage with the modern look of our rooms.

The other area of our focus is personalised service. We have filled our team with great service champions who enjoyed working together to delight our guests and I am glad to know they are the ones who make a difference in your stay experience.

Finally, we also put in place a slew of benefits for our guests such as airport transfer by our personal chauffeur, complimentary wifi, mini bar and continental breakfast. We will continue to make further improvements to our products and services to make it even better for our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
7,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
971 reviews
Marina Bay
Raffles Hotel Singapore
Raffles Hotel Singapore
#3 of 312 in Singapore
3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMOY by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMOY by Far East Hospitality

Property: AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Address: 76 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 048464, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — AMOY by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMOY is the latest boutique addition to Far East Hospitality. Centrally located within Far East Square, a heritage conservation project in the heart of the Central Business District with a vibrant mix of eateries and retail shops, the exclusive 37-room hotel will bring you back to an era that is both historically and culturally rich and diverse. Come and awaken your senses at AMOY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AMOY by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AMOY By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing