We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel with great location and fantastic staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AMOY by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #2 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique hotel with great location and fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a small boutique hotel near Chinatown, look no further. This is a charming property located behind the facade of an old Chinese temple. The rooms are cozy and have all the modern amenities (free wifi, rain shower, iPod dock, and Nespresso machine). The location is great, right across from an MRT station, and a 5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants of Club Street, yet far enough away to be away from the crowds and noise. However, what really makes this place special is the staff. When I checked in, I asked about where to buy a birthday card, and rather than just point me in the right direction, April, one of the hotel staff, actually walked with me to three different stores to find one that was open and had what I needed! We had an early morning flight, and the hotel started the breakfast buffet 15 minutes just for us, and had a taxi already waiting as soon as we finished breakfast. These are just two examples of how the service goes beyond expectations, and they actually anticipate your needs and seem to truly care about the hotel and it's guests. Five stars for customer service!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank YVRflyingDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear YVRflyingDoc,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience at AMOY.

It is always rewarding to hear that our guests had wonderful experience with us. I am delighted to know you appreciated our modern in-room amenities, our fabulous location and in particular, our excellent service. Making every stay a memorable is our goal and our friendly team will do their very best to bring many wonderful moments to your stay.

April is thrilled to know you remembered his name and appreciated his service. He is one of our service champions who take care of our guests with their big hearts. Delighting you is our joy and receiving your acknowledgement is the best motivation for us to improve further.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    185
    30
    15
    2
See reviews for
55
482
154
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My 2 day stop-over was so much more, thanks to the welcoming, friendly staff and the excellent location of this great hotel. I like the way you go through the entrance and courtyard of the old temple to get to reception. My room was definitely "cosy" but not too small and fully-equipped. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth E,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience at AMOY.

It is our pleasure to read how wonderful your stay was. Personalized service is what we focus most at AMOY because our aim is to make every stay memorable. Our team is filled with all champions who enjoy delighting our guests with their genuine care and concern. I am also glad that you found our location excellent due to its easy access to many places. It is very rewarding to know that you will recommend AMOY to anyone. Rest assure we will work harder to serve our guests better.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recent R&R in Singapore & looked for something other than the usual mega hotels. Amoy provided the perfect option. Service was outstanding- friendly and very obliging. Room was compact but practical. Quiet, central location, MRT station opposite. Brekky was adequate for our needs. A bloody great place to stay & will definitely return. Despite an 11am checkout, they provided us with a room to have a shower after the day's shopping and before our late night flight back to Australia.

Room Tip: Stayed on 2nd floor, west side- no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Geoff W,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience at AMOY.

I am very delighted to know your stay was fabulous and you will be back. Making every stay memorable is what we always try to achieve at AMOY. Our team is more than happy to be at your service anytime just to ensure your stay is comfortable and pleasant. I am glad to know you like our location and the light continental breakfast we prepare for our guests. Your commendation gave us great motivation to keep up the good work and improve further on our product.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
158 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Converted from a row of shop houses or building which major renovation was done to become a 37 rooms small hotel being opened in last Nov. No pools and gym and to stay for nostalgic experience with birds in the cage hanging on the ceiling. All rooms are named with Chinese Character names and came with free mini bar. Free flow of hot beverages are also served at the cafe during the day. Conveniently located and easily accessible to all places of interest by public transport. Except, not easy to find the hotel which more signage shall be put on at nearby malls or train stations.

Room Tip: Only 1 type of room which best at corner of 2 floors seems to be bigger in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brnrd_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear brnrd_h,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience.

It is delightful to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the heritage – modern design of AMOY. We have painstakingly put in a lot of efforts to ensure we retain the heritage feel of the building, while combining it with the modern touches of the room. I am also glad that you have spotted one of the interesting features of our rooms is that each room has its own Chinese Surname.

Our location is popular due to its easy access to many places within just short walking distance. I also noted your suggestion on more signage and will work on it.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Both preparations and the actually staying at the Amoy hotel were a real pleasure for us.
Right from when I started looking at booking a hotel for our 3 day stay in Singapore the Amoy presented a service that was beyond our expectations.

Both during the booking stage and the actual staying at the hotel Jeremy looked after us tremendously; nothing was too difficult, including sorting out the discount available (note that the price of the hotel room was much higher then we normally look for), arranging the free pick-up from the airport and providing us with a room to take a shower and change clothing before going to the airport in the evening.

While staying at the Amoy the service from the other staff, including Ronald, the two breakfast ladies and the two security staff, amongst the others, were extraordinary and helpful without being overbearing.

Breakfast was very basic, but a very nice muesli breakfast will be arranged if you ask for it.
The very nice welcome cards provided that little extra that is making the Amoy a hotel of choice for us in the future when visiting Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear RobertAuckland,

Thank you for taking your time to write us this lovely review.

It is wonderful to know your experience was fantastic even before you arrived. Jeremy and Ronald are thrilled to know you appreciated their service and remembered their names. Our team is filled with service champions who enjoy delighting and assisting our guests with all their hearts. Your kind words just brightened up their days and motivate them to improve further. Nothing is more rewarding than knowing that you will come back to stay with us again and spread all the wonderful compliments about our excellent service. Rest assured we will keep up what we have done well and make further improvement on our products.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Enter the hotel through a Chinese temple before being escorted to a boutique modern room.A refreshing fruit cocktail drink served by impeccably dressed and efficient and friendly staff set the tone for your stay.Breakfast is simple but supplies all that you need set in a small courtyard area,The location is perfect,the hotel being opposite the MRT station just one stop from Chinatown and within easy walking distance of the Marina bay attractions.But what makes this hotel is its staff whose help and friendliness enhance your holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stehel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear stehel1,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience.

It is our pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay and our service team, in particular, made your experience worthwhile. This is what AMOY is all about; warm hospitality and personalized service. Our friendly team members are more than happy to assist you anytime you need. I am also glad that you found our location perfect to explore around the area. Your commendation definitely motivates us to do more and improve further in our product and services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Quiet yet close to everything. Across the road is the Telok Ayer train station. Very good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Simple but good breakfast. The oriental feeling from the moment you enter the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cikwanro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tran Chau T, Manager at AMOY by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear cikwan,

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience.

I am glad to know your stay was enjoyable. Our location is well liked by many due to its convenient access to many places of interest and eateries. The Telok Ayer MRT station across the street makes it even more convenient for our guests to travel around town. Our friendly team members are more than happy to be at your service anytime to make your stay memorable.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again

"Every Journey is an Experience"
Warmest regards,
Trinh Tran Chau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AMOY by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AMOY by Far East Hospitality

Property: AMOY by Far East Hospitality
Address: 76 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 048464, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AMOY by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMOY is the latest boutique addition to Far East Hospitality. Centrally located within Far East Square, a heritage conservation project in the heart of the Central Business District with a vibrant mix of eateries and retail shops, the exclusive 37-room hotel will bring you back to an era that is both historically and culturally rich and diverse. Come and awaken your senses at AMOY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your AMOY by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AMOY By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing