We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Nearby Hotels
US$449
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$358
US$280
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$279
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$456
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$901
US$637
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveller rating
772
637
146
33
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
637
146
33
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstanjong pagarmrt stationmaxwell food centrerooftop barclub roomwalking distance to chinatownmodern hotelbusiness districtfree wifiminute walkwater pressureraffles placehawker centrebusiness tripmobile phoneexcellent hotelstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,187 - 1,192 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This beautiful hotel opened on 5th August this year and we arrived on the 15th for seven nights and had a great time. Obviously everything is beautifully brand new, sparkling and gorgeous decor is really very nice, almost plush like with beautiful shiny silver fittings that are state of the art. The Foyer is elegant and beautiful. The room was not huge but certainly an average size and all that you need. There is a lovely lounge chair to relax in and an office desk and chair, beautiful bathroom and very comfy bed. Big viewing window and on the 10th floor we had a really nice city view. The check-in was instant, desk staff very helpful and friendly. I suppose there are plenty more hotels in more popular areas but we liked the 2 minute walk to the fantastic MRT train system which we loved and used every single day with only usually a minute or two wait for the next train. We bought a card to swipe for $12 aNd topped it up only once for $10 travelling all over the city area all day every day and out to Changi airport on our last day. The Hotel is right next door to Tanjung Pagar station and it took less than 5 minutes to get to main shopping areas. There is a good size swimming pool,restaurant etc. The only reason I have chosen 4 stars and not 5 for service relates to same comment from another trip advisor re housekeeping that 3 times forgot towels, although room was cleaned beautifully. I also agree with 2 only coffees etc - yes not appropriate or good enough, still staff are very new and hopefully will improve.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen22Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear helen22Newcastle,

Thank you for the good review. We are always happy to hear that guests find the hotel's location very convenient and this is also one of the hotel's main advantages. When you do visit Singapore again, we hope to have you stay with us again.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I travel to Singapore 2-3 times a year, mostly on business. This time is was for a short holiday with my partner. I booked the carlton city hotel based on the hotel features and the price. Given it was a new hotel, the prices were attractive, with a 25% discount for a three night stay.
The good bits:
The hotel is well located. A five minute walk from the MRT, several small bars and restaurants nearby. The fact that the hotel was new was a plus (and a BIG minus - but more on this later). The rooms were well appointed. We had booked an executive room, which based on the description was better than the normal room but same as a Club room.
The restaurant, the only place to get food in the hotel, was pretty good. It was small, mainly because they've crammed soo many tables in there but the food was of a good standard. The staff at the restaurant are still not very organised but this is made up by a few outstanding , hard working staff members. Well done to them.

The bad bits:
Lets see, I paid for a hotel that had a 2 bars, a restaurant and a bakery. The sky bar, effectively the BEST bar and location in the hotel was not yet operational. Contrary to the advertisement. The lobby bakery was also not open - so no signature Tuxedo cake for us :(. The lounge bar was pretty basic, as is most lounge bars. Apparently to compensate for this shortcoming, they upgraded us a Club room. Great we thought, access to the club lounge - how cool is that? Not. The club room was not operational either. Makes you wonder what I got for the upgrade.
Basically the hotel was a room, a pool and a restaurant with a small menu. Not what I consider 4.5 stars as they advertise.

The ugly
The complimentary mini bar was a nice touch, would have been nice if they refilled it daily as they said they would though. Once we ate the one chocolate bar and drank the water and juice on day one. That was it no more refreshments.
Being charged for local calls when we were told it was complimentary. Minor issue as I only had one ten cent call on the bill but if you say it's complimentary - DONT CHARGE ME FOR IT!!
Taking a shower then realising that there's no towels in the bathroom and after waiting ten minutes for reception to send some up, having to go to the store room your self to get them.
Having to put up with percussion drilling from 10am through to 6pm each day we were there. Seeing workman working everywhere: pool, lobby, hallways.

The final insult
Time came to check out. I explained to the front desk our disappointment. I asked for a discount. They offered me a discount equivalent to about 3% of the total bill. Saying thrat we already had a "good price". When I shopped for this hotel I should point out, it was only slightly cheaper per night than the other 4+ star hotels we were considering. Thanks guys, might as well not bothered with the discount of $30 on a $1,000 bill.

Overall.
There's lots of hotels in Singapore and currently prices are competitive. The carlton city might be an above average hotel in six months time but right now, it's still "under construction" and staff "in training". I can't believe they charged me what they did to stay there. I wouldn't stay here again and if this is the standard at carlton hotels, I wouldn't bother with any of their hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank intorox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, General Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear intorox61,

Further to your recent stay at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Whilst we are pleased to note that you've enjoyed the location and attractive pricing of our new hotel, we offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that all the hotel’s Food & Beverage outlets were not open during your stay. However, we are pleased to advise that Tuxedo Patisserie opened on 26th August, Graffiti Sky Bar will open on 30th August and our Carlton Club Lounge and Club Room floors will be fully operational by Tuesday 27th August. All of the hotel's facilities and services will be available to guests from 31st August 2013.

With regards to menu variety at Plate our all-day-dining restaurant, we offer a range of cuisines including Western and Asian style salads, local dishes, burgers, sandwiches and items from the grill. Whilst we will be further expanding the menu in the future, the current menu is fairly extensive offering a selection of 40 items.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Waited many minutes to check in while 3 staff had a conversion - I was the only person checking in at time.

Restaurant menu very average and service very very slow with only 3 tables of 2 people and 1 with me.

Breakfast service non existent.

Coffee machine made big mess and nobody helped out.

Omlette was totally raw inside.

Paper serviette for dinner and breakfast and only 1 per person. No sign of any available serviettes anywhere.

juice glasses more like thimbles...


First and last time I stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Steve M,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We consistently strive towards service excellence and your comments are valuable to us. We do hope you will still return and stay with us in the future.

Safe travels.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Brand new hotel. Perfect location. Right next to MRT (Green Line). Lots of stores and eating options within 1 minute walk. No problem getting a taxi 24/7. Good bed/pillows. Good airconditioning. Dark but reasonable decor.

Concierge excellently helpful and speedy.

What's wrong then? Housekeeping. A total flop. No towels, no bathroom mat, not enough towels. Obviously no vacuuming, since my shoes were untouched. They kept forgetting to replenish things.

No glasses. Just two mugs, two tiny spoons, and a water heater. 2 sachets of some cheap coffee, and 1 of tea.

Just generally cheap. And not appropriate for a hotel in this range. They need to do better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QureshiFaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Faisal Q,

Thank you for the review. We have taken note of your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in here for 4 night, arrived this hotel at morning n feel sleepy n maybe the reception notice that than he gave us room n ready to stay n rest. Room was clean but less amenities. Love pool n the service was bad but I love it. Do not expect much this is Singapore just suit yourself n have fun n freedom. Anyway this is new hotel n the graffiti sky bar will ready at 31-8-2013.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaGa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear NaGa85,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Graffiti Sky Bar will open very soon. Do visit us again and enjoy the city's skyline with your friends and favourite cocktail!

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews