We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlton City Hotel Singapore
Ranked #35 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It's a very new hotel with all the good and bad that you expect.

The good
Very new and tastefully decorated rooms, which are reasonably spacious, and I admit the bed was one of the best hotel beds I had in a while. A rather large 24hr supermarket is right across the street and a lot of shops and restaurants are nearby, as well as the tanjong pagar subway station.

The areas of improvement:
A new hotel comes with new staff, so not everything appears smooth, but most of the employees were doing their best not to make it too obvious. The breakfast is kind of forgettable and having to wait for 20 min to be seated when the room is half empty is not exactly professional, especially if you are a guest on business trip. Also arrangements with airmiles or a frequent visitor program are not (yet?) available.

Because of 'the good' I will definitely give this one another chance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Jan K,

Thank you for the review and sharing your thoughts on how we can improve. We value guests' feedback highly and look forward to being of service to you again at your next stay with us.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Singapore has become an expensive city to stay especially during the holiday period. We chose this hotel based on reviews in TA and other websites and because there was a good promotional deal at hotels.com.
We stayed post New Year and were pleasantly surprised. We asked for a room away from the construction noise (new hotel at the back) and this was granted. The hotel is only a few months old and some taxi drivers were not familiar with its location. The place is bright, clean and inviting. Not a large hotel but a medium sized one located a block away from the MRT, walking distance to Chinatown, with a grocery store across the street.
Staff members were nice and helpful although when I inquired about their business center where I can print our boarding passes (which I knew was located in the lobby bar) I was given the run around. The pool was small and in full view of construction workers but that is not the hotel's fault (although an indoor pool would have been nice). Gym was also small. We did not use their restaurant as there are so many eateries around the area. The location is good, away from the overcrowded Orchard road area. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: High floors away from the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRYMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear MRYMelbourne,

Thank you for reviewing us and we hope to have you back to stay with us the next time you visit Singapore.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

First trip to Singapore with very little knowledge on where everything is situated however this hotel has exceeded my expectations. It is minutes walk to the MTR station which allows the rest of the city to be easily reached. Across the road is 100am mall with some nice restaurants, shops and a great cheap foodcourt.

The room I had was only on 4th floor but great views regardless out the huge wall sized window! Large room with office desk and comfortable chair, very comfy kingsize bed and very modern tv/lights/aircon/shower. Was happy that the hotel allowed me to check in at 7am with no extra cost and the breakfast buffet was nice too. Some of the food could have been hotter but that was not a huge issue. Good selection that changed daily.

Overall really happy with my stay here, couldn't rate this place high enough and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie6776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear annie6776,

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are glad that you were very happy with your stay! Where possible and if room availability allows, we do offer the convenience of early check-in to our guests. Safe travels and we hope to have you here with us again, when you next visit Singapore.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on 30th and 31st December, 2013. After reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor decided to give it a try and were very happy. Executive room on 22nd floor was quiet, comfy bed, loved the rainwater shower and the plump pillows which were the best pillows we had on the 2 & 1/2 weeks we were away. Good breakfast choices and near to the Tanjong Pagar MRT which we used a lot. Staff were helpful and friendly and we were able to use the hospitality room for a shower before flying home. That was a big plus.
Free wi-fi was great. Would certainly recommend this hotel and it deserves its 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Zahle,

Thank you for recommending our hotel and the 5-stars review! We do hope we will have the pleasure to be of service to you again, when you next visit the city.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked this hotel through booking.com and put in what I found very important. Which is.....free wi-fi, outside pool and Fitness room.
We were very disappointed when we arrived, even I booked executive room with executive lounge acces( which was good) but the view from pool was bad as they were building right next to the hotel. the restaurant was direct overlooking the pool and it was more or less covered, so difficult to catch the sun . But the fittnes room was even smaller then a hotel room....very small and impossible to use equipment as all people wondered in and used machines with sandals . Only 2 runningmachines , but as the room was so small it didn't feel right inside. We broke up our holiday here earlier and had to find new accomadition. First they made it difficult to do this , but I explained why I choose their hotel and that they haven't been honest on their site. Even looking last minute for a new hotel was more expensive for us( I booked Carlton City already in september last year and had a early booking discount)

Room Tip: if you're looking for fitness room or poolarea outside with sunbeds....DON'T choose this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbonsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear lbonsing,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We always welcome feedback from our guests. As an upscale business hotel, our location is within proximity of the Central Business District. Our swimming pool on level 3 offers guests an urban oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. Other than the treadmills available, the gym is also fitted with other cardiovascular machines from LifeFitness. With regards to your comments about our website, we will be happy to look into it further if you are able to share more details with us via the hotel's generic email address. This can be obtained from our website under the "Contact Us" page.

Thank you.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Carlton City isn't a budget hotel, but if you can afford over 100 euros per night you'll get an overall comfortable stay.
Hotel is situated walking-distance to centre and 3 min from the MRT-station Tanjong Pagar.
Rooms are spacy, stylish and quiet, and beds perfect: not hard as usually in Asia nor too soft. All the techinique is top notch: airconditioning, lighting and showers all work seamlessly.
Breakfast offers both Asian and European dishes - a little something not-so-perfect here and there during the 5 mornings, eg. frozen watermelons and running out of glasses the during busiest time, but again alltogether good.
We stayed in the 16th floor, and even tho the construction site was next to our wall, the room was quiet.
A strange barnlike odour was is the whole floor, maybe from the new carpets or some other materials, but the room was kept fresh by the aircondition.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bl1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear bl1ng,

Thank you for the review and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon! Safe travels.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here in aug 2013 just after it opened. some small works were still going on but did not affect my stay. pool was great. staff were friendly. rooms were great with very comfortable beds. location was excellent. very fast secure wifi. Sky Bar (rooftop bar) was great I was there for the opening night. great views.
2mins walk to MRT. supermarket across the road. café in reception make a great coffee
breakfast was ok. 9/10. if they had bacon I would give a 10/10.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonCityHotelSG, Public Relations Manager at Carlton City Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear stan101,

Thank you for the raving review! To share, the breakfast menu at Plate offers guests a rotating selection and we do have bacon on the menu. We hope to see you back to stay with us again soon and our chefs would be happy to whip up some bacon for your enjoyment, upon request.

Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#58 of 319 in Singapore
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amara Singapore
#69 of 319 in Singapore
2,089 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#39 of 319 in Singapore
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton City Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Address: 1 Gopeng Street, Singapore 078862, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £111 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton City Hotel Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton City Hotel Singapore is conveniently located on Gopeng Street off Tanjong Pagar Road, along the fringes of Chinatown, Raffles Place and within the Central Business District. The hotel offers guests an upscale and stylish experience, resonating well with international business and leisure travellers. Designed by reputed leading international interior design company Hirsch Bedner Associates (HBA), the hotel exudes designer-conceived touches and furnishings from the grand marble lobby to its spacious guestrooms. With 29 floors and 386 guestrooms, the hotel is primed to be the preferred hotel for discerning business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton City Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton City Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing