We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience, not a good restaurant”
Review of NOX - Dine in the Dark - CLOSED

NOX - Dine in the Dark
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Arab Street
Description: At NOX – Dine In The Dark, we invite you to plunge into an intriguing new world of mystery and sensation you have never experienced before, and join us on a culinary journey through taste, smell, touch and sound, in total darkness. Seated in our pitch-black dining room, you will be guided and served by blind or visually impaired individuals that have been specially trained to offer guidance and reassurance to sighted guests. It is truly a rich human experience when the roles are reversed and the blind become your eyes, opening your mind to a deeper consciousness. Also, discover our exquisite menu crafted from the finest ingredients by our Chef de Cuisine and his team, and enjoy our fine wine selection and unique signature cocktails customized for each individual's palate. NOX - Dine in the Dark is definitely more than just dining, it is a unique mind-altering sensory experience! Experience this new European dining trend first-hand and 'see' it for yourself!
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I will recommend people to try NoX since the experience of dining in the dark is really cool. Don't go in large group but prefer 2 or 3 people max. A blind person will guide you through the darky restaurant and help you get your forks, glass of wine and so on ! Honestly we went as a couple and laughed so much that I would go back... However I have to admit I have been very disappointed with food. It is very basic and not fine food at all. Supposedly there were foie gras, but believe me, I am French I can recognise this taste in the dark and there was none or very bad because it tasted like cheese...

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank clemencel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Dear Clemence L,

Thank you for dining with us and we appreciate your feedback.

Contrary to your belief, we have many guests that feel it is more fun and exciting to dine in a big group. To us, the dynamics are very interesting in the dark and definitely changes with group size. Couples tend to have a more quiet and intimate dinner, whereas bigger groups tend to have a more fun and light-hearted dining experience.

It is unfortunate that you did not appreciate the food we were serving during your visit. I believe you were mistaken as we served a foie gras pâté in your menu, and not foie gras per se. With it being a pâté, it did have a savoury and creamy texture, similar to cheese.

With that said, we do change the menu every 6-8 weeks and do invite you to try a different menu the next time you decide to pay us another visit. Till next time, have a fantastic week!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,393 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016

It is a very interesting experience dining in complete darkness; not only it's a challenge to the taste buds but also give you a feel of what it's like to be visually impaired. The food are quite good - though not michelin quality but definitely pleasurable. The only thing I would complain is that the whole experience is a bit rush; we are required to finish four dishes (and a drink) in every 10 mins. The whole meal is under 1.5 hours. Being someone who likes to enjoy my food slowly, and with the price paid, I would expect a more relax dining atmosphere than what I had instead.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank junetlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear June T,

Thank you for dining with us and it was our pleasure to have served you during your visit.

It is great to hear that you loved the food and the dining experience, where you got to get a feel of how the life of the visually impaired would be like.

It is unfortunate that you felt the whole experience was a bit rushed. Because here at NOX, we believe in letting our guests enjoy their food at a leisurely pace to savour the tastes and textures of each dish. We usually allocate at least 2 hours to each reservation and it should be more than enough time for a relaxing and comfortable dinner. If at any time during your meal you feel that you need more time, or if you need a longer break between courses, feel free to let our staff know and we will make the necessary arrangements.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us. We can definitely extend your dining time with us and hope to offer the more relaxing dining experience that you are looking for the next time around as well.

Have a great weekend ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Been to this restaurant last night and loved it. Experience was very good and memorable. You don't know what you are eating, until you eat it.

Staff are caring enough to consider food allergies and other restrictions. Very cooperative.

Overall, awesome experience and unforgettable.

Situated right across Arab street. Very easy to find.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bharadwaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear Bharadwaj K,

Thank you for taking the time to dine with us and for writing a review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and it was our pleasure to have provided you with a comfortable and fuss-free dinner.

We look forward to meeting you again soon and hope to bring this memorable and unique dining experience to more of your friends and family.

Have a great week ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Embarking in an experience such as dining in the dark attacked me, and I did love that part.
Not being able to control things that we take absolutely for granted does give me the vibes as I do love to try new things.
It does enhance all your other senses when you don't have your sight. You wonder which way is the room placed, who is sitting next to you, where is your glass and your fork, you place your napkin carefully, you laugh and chat with your friends in a totally different way, and mostly you do wonder what you are eating and you try hard to guess.
For this part, the experience is definitively worth it!
As to the quality of the dishes, unfortunately it was not up to the expected standard.
Considering you are eating in the dark, the decoration of the room may be just cement, the tableware may be bought in a supermarket and lack quality and design, and yet you pay quite an expensive bill. At least you could have good ingredients and cooked to perfection, but... that is not the case.
If you enjoy new experiences, go for it! You will have a blast!
If you are expecting a wonderful meal, forget it! you will leave disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ciganitazinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Dear Ciganitazinha,

Thank you for dining at NOX - Dine in the Dark. We are glad you loved our friendly service and the dining experience. It is unfortunate that the food was not to your liking and we appreciate the feedback.

Thank you for your review and we do hope to see you back in the future, regardless. We change our menu every 6-8 weeks, and maybe you will like the next one better.

Have a great week ahead.

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

It was indeed a unique experience, with your sense of sight being taken away.
Having to rely on just your sense of taste on food, your tastebuds really open up and we were able to really just enjoy food in its purest form.
Our server was very professional and his instructions were clear and yet amiable. I like how he was so attentive to details, explaining to us clearly how to enjoy our dinner. His service was impeccable!
Food wise, I am shocked to have tried food which I normally wouldn't think of. And they are actually really tasty and delicious! Thumbs up to the fresh ingredients and fusion cooking method! And at the end of our dinner, we are brought down to the bar area where the dishes are than revealed to us.
Definitely coming back again!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Lostinnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOXDineInTheDark, Guest Relations Manager at NOX - Dine in the Dark, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Dear Lostinnowhere,

Thank you for visiting us and we are happy to know that you loved your experience so much you will be heading back to NOX soon!

It was our pleasure to have served you and we are glad you loved our service and food, and that we were able to give you a different perspective on ingredients you would not normally order.

We look forward to meeting you again soon, for another round of great food and good fun!

Have a great week ahead!

Cheers,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NOX - Dine in the Dark also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.