We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Singapore
Ranked #37 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Based on my positive experience I am surprised by the mixed reviews. For starters the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Marina Bay and the CBD. I found the staff to be welcoming and attentive and the room very well equipped. The rooftop pool offers a lovely place to relax and enjoy the view

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mikeymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us; in particular the infinity pool on Level 35. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Singapore again for your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Given the mixed reviews and relative low-ranking of Westin on TA, I wasn’t sure what to expect. After spending nearly 2-weeks at Westin, I can understand both. Clearly there’s management focus and effort, and in some areas the execution is outstanding. However, there were some very unexpected and unexplained associate actions that undermine the exceptional efforts of so many.

As for the hotel itself, the property is modern, new and generally comfortable – though our initial mattress had a massive slope and gully and it was so uncomfortable and impossible to sleep on. Quite strange for a new hotel – perhaps just a defect or poor quality – impossible to be worn out. However, the hotel was quick to replace it, and the new mattress was fine.

As I said, the staff execution is quite mixed with some outstanding individuals and areas, but also some unexplainable behaviors that are downright irritating and offensive.

Staff greeting guests upon arrival are kind, helpful an attentive. In fact, on one day during our stay we were waiting for a taxi and my girlfriend finished a beverage or something, and returned to the entrance to discard the trash. The young-lady who works in the area observed this and promptly took the trash from her to discard it. By the way, she was terrific every time we interacted with her. Also, staff at the front desk were professional and efficient – with the exception of one caucasian gent, they weren’t so warm and personal, but they were courteous. The highpoint of the staff are in the Westin Club. The girls we experienced there were absolutely terrific – whether getting coffee or making copies or simply chatting, they were authentic, kind, professional and simply delightful. Personnel in Cook and Brew restaurant were nice, but not very attentive to our table, even though the restaurant was empty. They were standing around and chatting with each other so much we had to get up from our table and ask them for service.

The worst part of the staff, and this is truly unexplainable, was a security man. We were in the Westin Club for a few hours one-day and noticed a guest having her photo taken around the pool. My girlfriend learned that she was also photographed throughout the public areas of the hotel. Since I’m the worst with a camera and had a lot of work on one day, my GF arranged for this photographer to take her photos as well. Shortly after they started, a hotel security officer insisted they stop. He claimed this was not permitted since the photographer wasn’t a guest! I mean come-on, this is absurd. By following his logic then no wedding can have a photographer, no corporate event can have photos taken, no celebrities or VIPs will be photographed, etc. It’s an absolute offense. Not sure if he was just ill-informed or sexist or felt like he had power or racist – but it was 100% inappropriate. And it wasn’t just that that he prohibited this, it was his aggressive, mean-spirited and I’m-in-charge manner.

Another issue was the engineering staff. Cook and Brew was as cold as an ice-box. When we advised our waitress, she complained that the staff there is always complaining to the engineers, but they never listen. I’ve seen this at other properties where the engineering staff think they know best and treat many non-management with disdain for disturbing them. Her comments, though not this detailed, clearly exposed a problem with engineering.

Finally, it was 11:24 am on Saturday and we were sleeping in after a long night with friends. We had our Privacy light on AND the Do Not Disturb sign was on the door. With all this, at 11:24am on a Saturday morning, the man who refreshes the minibar was pounding on our door. Unbelievable! I politely asked him to come back in an hour, but as I watched him through the security hole, he was irritated.

You decide if you want to stay here. I’ve stayed at Marriott, St. Regis and Grand Hyatt – but quite some time ago. And I’ve visited and dined at Raffles and and Fullerton. All quite different. All good. And except for these 3 incidents, I can’t really discourage anyone from staying at Westin. It’s just not great, and fails to reflect two of the most important attributes of 5-star service: consistency and guest respect. Though as I said, the staff at the Westin Executive Lounge and in some other areas are terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppreciateAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and would like to extend our sincere apologies for any lapse of service you had experienced during your recent stay with us. We are also happy to receive the positive comments you have for our team at the Westin Executive Club and will share them with the associates accordingly. Once again, we sincerely apologized for any inconvenience caused and are certainly looking forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend to The Westin Singapore when your travel plans bring you back to this sunny island in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A mixed review of our staycation at the westin , the room on one of the executive floors was spacious and well appointed and the bed was top drawer. The breakfast was good with lots of choice including a gluten free section. On the downside the service around the pool was practically non existent with a very DIY approach to towels , water and F&B , there is no good reason 2 apple juices takes 45 mins nor not being offered ice water. The cocktail hour at the executive lounge has no cocktails - again this is DIY but lacking basics like limes that had to be requested - simple stuff really.The really bizarre thing was a message on the mini bar - items removed from their holders for over 15 seconds are automatically charged - that is a new one on me. Compared to other staycations at the Park Royal and Fullerton Bay the Westin is way behind in terms of service.

Room Tip: The Park Royal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we sincerely apologized for any lapse of service you had experienced during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your comments regarding the minibar and will review the service level for the poolside and Westin Executive Club Lounge to ensure that they meet with guests' expectations. Nevertheless, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Singapore again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Nice new hotel. Sizeable stylish rooms with interesting views of the harbor or working port (on some sides an office construction site).

Check in polite but slow. Service generally ok. Nice restaurant again with good views. Decent buffet breakfast. Internet not as quick as I would expect. Close to CBD destinations, good choice if that suits.

First time I've ever commented on this but the taps in the bathroom are dreadful. Unnecessarily complicated. The hotel was full so I ended up with the two x double bed config (which was as per my booking). This arrangement must suit some people but given all the king rooms were full there may have been a miscalculation in the original configuration of the suites.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Greg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back for another seamless experience at The Westin Singapore soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights. We were stunned and impressed by the lobby floor; its decor, its use of high quality materials and the efficiency but warmth of the staff -sometimes efficiency leads to a cold and haughty demeanour, but not at this Westin. Likewise the room was superb again well designed, well furnished and well maintained.
So why did we give the hotel only 4 stars? The F&B offerings were downright silly.
We went for tea in the magnificent lobby lounge, tea they have, but no cakes and no sandwiches. We were offered bar snacks, smoked salmon bruschetta and spring rolls - at tea time!!
Then we discovered that they had no quiet dining room/restaurant. The choice for dinner was a gastro pub or the buffet in the restaurant that is used for breakfast, lunch and dinner, with happy families all around us.
We will stay there again and are happy to recommend the hotel, however we will plan to have tea or dinner with friends somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments for Lobby Lounge and will review the food variety with our Chef and the F&B Team accordingly. Meanwhile, we will look forward to your return for another seamless experience at The Westin Singapore in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Two things you must look out for during your stay, the infinity pool and the lobby lounge with high ceiling. The brunch was great as well but it's a little pricey, good for celebrations and anniversaries though. The front desk staff at the brunch buffet was very rude, I arrived 30 minutes before closing and she refused to let us in for some reason and insist we come back another time. We got ourselves in, and once we seated she is still trying to make us go away. It was uncomfortable eating our food seeing her hovering around and giving us looks. This happened on 25th May Sunday.

However the hotel front desk was lovely and very patient. The location is ok, it's located right in the centre of the CBD so great for business people. For tourists, you need to walk to the Downtown station to get around.

Room Tip: Take higher floor to get a better view, and a room that faces the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RockTheTrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us; in particular the infinity pool located on Level 35. We must apologized for the lapse of service you had experienced at Seasonal Tastes and this issue has been addressed with the F&B Team to ensure that it is not repeated in the future. We hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again and certainly looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Let just say high hopes is met with disappointment, resulting in a let down.

My first disappointment happen within 5 minutes from entering into the lobby. It was a Saturday afternoon check-in. You could see the efforts of the hotel trying to create a lively and relaxing welcome to all guest with its lighting and ambience. Checking in was torturing. It’s not because of the queue we had to bear, but it’s the service we were rendered by the check in staff – on our turn, we stood in front of the counter, thinking that the check in staff is going to check us in, BUT NO, we saw her attending to someone else and she was literally doing something else for at least 3 minutes while me and my wife stood there like a fool before she finally attended to us. Never mind that, I wrote that experience away just to make sure my weekend wasn’t spoilt. Perhaps the hotel should have clearer signs and barricade to direct check in guests and of course, guests who wants to check out as well.

And so, we checked in. The room was big, toilet was magnificent and it has sofa, wardrobe, king sized bed and a working desk. No complaints about it. The only down side was the TV channels (way too limited coming from a hotel with this reputation) and the pillow was way too hard, causing slight neck discomfort. Perhaps guests who prefer soft pillows should made it clear with the hotels just to make sure you don’t spend your night having difficulty sleeping.

It’s our intention even before we check in to try Cook & Brew before we even check in but unfortunately, it wasn’t open on Saturday afternoon. Therefore, we headed to the Seasonal Tastes for some ala carte meal. Now, this is where it get a little ridiculous. We went in and saw a staff speaking on the phone and naturally, we thought we’d wait until she finish her call before letting her attend to us. Instead, she pointed to her right and signaled us to move in without understanding our needs while being on the phone. I couldn’t believe what she did and continued waiting for her as a respect. BUT, this time, she gave us this impatient facial expression and mouth gestured us ‘shooed’ to get us to go in. Without knowing where we would be sitting, me and my wife went in like a headless snake. With no staff expecting us and no seats for us, we walked out naturally. Bad experience, no doubt about that. Poor service standards.

We ordered room service thereafter instead. Express service over the phone was prompt but food was average with my Hainanese chicken rice barely warm.

The rest of the experience was simply average but thankfully, it is only for a night.

Check in with expectations, check out with disappointment.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms on 33rd floor as it is on the same floor as Cook & Brew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kendoarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance_J_Ourednik, General Manager at The Westin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We appreciate your valuable feedback and would like to apologize for the lapse of service that you had experienced during your recent stay with us. By way of explanation and definitely not intended as an excuse, we have checked with our associate and understand that she was in the midst of attending to another guest at that time. However, we have advised her that she should have acknowledged your presence, let you know that she is attending to another guest in the meantime and will attend to you immediately thereafter. As for your comments regarding the pillows being too hard, our Housekeeping Team do have alternative pillows to offer our guests upon request. We have also addressed the issues you have highlighted for Seasonal Tastes and In-Room Dining with the F&B Team and please rest assured that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure that service standards are not compromised at any point of time. Once again, our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
SO Sofitel Singapore
#27 of 317 in Singapore
1,683 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#25 of 317 in Singapore
2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Singapore

Address: 12 Marina View | Asia Square Tower 2, Singapore 018961, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#37 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £175 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Singapore’s financial district within the vicinity of Marina Bay and walking distance from corporate headquarters, retail, dining and entertainment options, The Westin Singapore occupies levels 32 to 46 of Asia Square Tower 2. 305 inviting guest rooms and suites, innovative dining options, a myriad of business and leisure facilities throughout the hotel, let you create your own experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing