We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect residence”
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #114 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in this residence for almost 2 month and our stay has been great. Mainly the stuff is very friendly and helpful.I was sick and they gave us complimentary fruits.I have been in SINgapore for business with my wife and my little daugter of 10 month old, and all of us have spent a very good time. Room is big, lounge is spaciuos and even the bed room. Clean every day (expect sunday) very well. Pool at the roof is very relaxing. Breakfast not so big bit but for us was OK as well. Take case also the location. it close to everything. Dhoby Ghaut MRT STation is just 5 minutes far away,and Bras Basah only 2 minutes walking. We can also reach easily Chimes, Esplanade and Orchad Road. I strongly suggest this residence for family.There are at the moment underground work they stop in the night, so not problem

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gi076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Somerset Bencoolen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Just leaving here today following a business trip to Singapore. This block of apartments is well positioned for the commercial district and marina bay area of the city. I chose this as I needed to be near the Marina Bay Convention centre and it is about 10 minutes by taxi and has worked out better value than having to book two rooms in say a 4 star hotel. The rooms are air conditioned and fairly basic but are clean and have all of the facilities you need for a short stay. There are restaurants and shops nearby too. The staff in reception were always courteous and helpful and always kept the bowl of sweets topped up despite my friend and I taking more than our fair share each day. There is a reasonable continental breakfast each day with a good selection of breads and rolls etc. with a small amount of hot food like scrambled eggs, bacon or sausages. There was always plenty of fruit but be aware that it ends at 10am and from about 9.45 they do not replace so if you arrive afterwards there is a chance that there might not be much left and they clear away pretty much on the dot of 10am. Finally there is some building work going on right outside for the new train station which will continue for some time unfortunately so it does get noisy from 9 in the morning onwards but the apartments cannot do anything about this. All in all I enjoyed the stay here and would definitely recommend it. Finally it is possible to extend the checkout time from 12.00 to 14.00 if necessary free of charge.

Room Tip: Smile nicely at reception
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel4fun0164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had a hard time in looking for 2-bedroom in Singapore and with the help of a great tripadvisor local expert I found this hotel/apartment. I booked the room through this hotel chain's HP and they offered citicard special offer price.

Construction was going on and that was our first concern but it turned out that our room was nice and quiet. We, two infants and two moms, enjoyed the pools, big one, small jaguzzi type and shallow ones for young children, far more than expected, and there was even a play space on the same floor of the pool. Washer/drier were very helpful. I actually thought of taking other options like from other hotel's 'second room's half the price' but this 2-bed room, just as other people pointed out, was two single(kind or queen size) bedrooms interconnected, which is so spacious and great for us.

Breakfast was nice with a great variety of food/fruit considering it's just a continental one, which changed every day. Kids just enjoyed it all through our 4 days' stay.

Mall/supermarket is very closeby, about 5 min walk and hotel staff gave us full instruction necessary to go around and visit the Zoo and other places.

Room Tip: maybe it'd help if you can ask for a quiet air conditioner...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiroyasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We recently dotted down here for 4 nights and the service started when we walked in the door, the chap at the front desk was great, helped us book tours, babysitter and just had all the answers, it was like nothing was a problem.
When we checked in we found that we had been upgraded to a bigger apartment which was great also as we had just spent a week sharing hotel rooms with a toddler.
The breakfast is simple but more than enough to get you going for the day.
The apartments are reasonably modern, ours was on the 9th floor and i should say there is alot of noise going on right out front as they are building a new metro station, but it didnt really bother us, and out wee one seemed to sleep through it.
The facilitys were great also, they have a great pool on the roof and a wee play ground for the wee ones.
Would i stay there again?
Absolutly and i highly recoment it to people with familys who need a bit more room.

Room Tip: Try to go high and away from the road if posible
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank symonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had booked a 2bedroom apartment but were informed on arrival that we would have 2singles interconnected - turned out to be excellent sizes with separate living areas - really good set-up; breakfast surprisingly good for a "continental" breakfast - good selection of fruits, cereals, breads and pastries; slightly awkward access via taxi unable to get really close to the entrance but not too bad -we were at the front of the complex and didn't find the construction noise out front a problem at all; reception staff were very helpful in organizing a large taxi for our departure without cost - our overall experience was really very good - I agree with others that it is not a deluxe option, but the price by Singapore standards is very good value for the room provided.

Room Tip: High up in the building reduces the nearby construction noise considerably.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom for 5 nights recently. It was full so we got upgraded to the 3 bedroom. Accommodation is good - agree with other posters it should have washer/drier in the unit (especially a 3 bedder). Its location is great walking distance to Bras Basah and Bugis MRT stops. Breakfast was passable. Staff very helpfull. Pool is huge and has a great view. Only downside is the MRT construction. It is noisy - but not enough to distub you - its hot so you always close the doors and have the aircon going. It does stop at 10 - I think they should drop their prices by $50 a night to reflect it. It is apparently going to be continuing for years.

Room Tip: At the back to get away from the construction.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great location, clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was ok. Coffee quality not that good for my taste. One bedroom apartment has a swivel TV from living room to bedroom, easy to use. Bed was comfortable. Had everything I needed including iron and ironing board. Full kitchen but did not use. Coffee and tea facility in room.
Staff very helpful. Only issue is the new MRT station being built right next door means noise during day and into evening and access is a little difficult. As I was at work most of day, no problem for me. Would stay here aging.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank jeremy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 316 in Singapore
2,275 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#158 of 316 in Singapore
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £100 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing