We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy weekly stay”
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #121 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights and the hotel really makes you feel like home. They have everything you want from large fridge to oven and even chopsticks and strainer in the kitchen which really surprising me, thumbs up! Wifi reception within apartment earns another thumbs up. However, I think the apartment needs maintenance in the bathroom as I found water dripping from the ceiling but it didn't affect my happy stay. From my personally point of view, I think the warm white lighting could not satisfy the purpose of makeup and hair styling.

Without providing toothbrush and toothpaste is a good move to eco-friendly style.

Room Tip: Since MRT construction is expected to be completed in 2017, go for a room not facing Bencoolen Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendylamcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for taking time to write this delightful review! We are elated that we have successfully created the home away from home stay experience for you. Thank you for your detailed post on our facilities and services.We are truly elated that we have exceeded your expectations as we continuously strive in our efforts to provide the best in services and facilities for our guests.

Thank you for recognizing and supporting our eco-friendly initiatives. As most travellers would pack their personal toothbrush and preferred toothpaste with them, we have decided to minimise our use of plastics in our support to "Go Green". However, in the event that these items are required, our team members would be most pleased to purchase them.

We hope to welcome back in the near future!

Best regards,
Cynthia
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with my 2 year old son, my wife and my mother in law. We got 2 large rooms next to eachother. The units were clean, and quite nice. Fully self contained with kitchens, which was great with a young child. The pool area on the roof was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and frindly.

The hotel is located in the middle of town and it is easy to get around from there to everywhere in Singapore.

Overall, I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction site if you want a quiet room (there is a major train stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from 11/11/13 to 14/11/13 and want to say thank you to manager Mei for her excellent service and the accomodations she provided. The room we had was quiet and without the construction noise some other reviewer complained about. .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Traveller,

My sincere apologies for being unable to reply in French.

Thank you for your writing this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 5 weeks stay with us and you have enjoyed the warm hospitality of our team. It is gratifying to know that our pleasant and homely ambience of our apartments has also successfully contributed to the comfort of your stay experience.

I note that you have found our utensils insufficient for proper food preparation. In consideration that we have residents who have their families accompanying them during their stay and that they may require more storage space for their food items, we have equipped our kitchens with the more commonly used utensils. However, I would like to advise you that we have a range of additional utensils and crockery in our inventory which can be made available to our residents upon request.

We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Cynthia
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at Somerset Bencoolen in November for a month and I can just highly recommend to everyone. The front desk team is amazing. I had my birthday while I was staying there and on the day the receptionists started to sing the "Happy Birthday!" once I entered the property. It was such a nice surprise. The apartments are also very clean, the housekeeping team did a great job every time they cleaned my apartment. There is also a small gym to use and of course the swimming pool on the rooftop, where you have a nice view of the city and you can relax after a long day of work. The apartments have a kitchen as well so you can prepare your own food if you wish to do so. However the property is centrally located, so shopping malls, restaurants and supermarkets are available in walking distance.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gabor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed 4 nights here in early December in a 1 bedroom apartment. Having an apartment gives you just that bit extra space. We really liked it and would stay there again. Everything was clean, bed and pillows we're comfy. The power points in the kitchen didn't work on the first day which meant we couldn't make a cuppa, but after we reported it, it was fixed by the time were turned later in the day. The staff were very professional and extremely helpful. The hotel is close to cafés, small supermarket, subway station etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at the Somerset Bencoolen for four nights. Overall I was pleased. The location was extremely good and the underground railway works in Bencoolen Street, while keeping the apartment tower a bit hidden, did not impact on us. Reception and room staff were without exception friendly, helpful and efficient. I appreciated the light breakfast included in our apartment tariff and the efforts made to change what was on offer from day to day. Internet service was great. The rooftop pool area was delightful and stylish. The apartment itself, 1210, was scrupulously clean and excellently maintained. While comfortable, the decor of the kitchen and lounge was, I thought, a little tired and basic given the tariff that we paid. The range of kitchen equipment provided also appeared hit and miss, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraSteve38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is a well located serviced apartment with excellent and friendly service. We stayed with two small children - services for them include a child friendly pool, outdoors play area and toy room. There is a brand new Cold Storage supermarket in the PoMo mall behind the hotel, and it is an easy two minute walk from the MRT and buses. Within four blocks there is a wide range of well priced eateries and food courts, with lots of dining options, including Serangoon Road if you feel like Indian food! The breakfast every day was varied and perfectly adequate. The room servcicing was very good - the housekeepers were very creative in the way they displayed our kids toys for them every day!The MRT construction outside is noisy but if you have a room at the back, or higher up, you dont hear it at all. Taxis are directed into the onsite carpark, and it is no trouble. Very close to cultural attractions including the National Museum and the Singapore Art Museum, and a short walk to Raffles Hotel and Orchard Road if you feel like braving the heat... The front desk staff were always helpful, including arranging a tour to Malaysia legoland, and airport transfers. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: at the back, higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PsmithOfThePsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rashidahmad, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear PsmithOfThePsmiths,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review about Somerset Bencoolen.
We are absolutely thrilled to know that you and your family had enjoyed our apartment facilities and services. Indeed, due to our excellent location with easy access to surrounding lifestyle options and transport modes, Somerset Bencoolen has always been very popular with families.

We are very grateful that we have had this opportunity to host you and your family during your vacation in Singapore. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Somerset Bencoolen.

Warmest regards,
Abdul Rashid
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Park Hotel Alexandra
#61 of 317 in Singapore
1,111 reviews
Ascott Orchard Singapore
#88 of 317 in Singapore
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#210 of 317 in Singapore
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#70 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#97 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £111 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing