We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Hotel / Apartment”
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #126 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here last November 2012. The location of the hotel is very convenient to restaurants, bus stops, and train station. Very ideal for family since they offer 2 bedroom suite which is very spacious. They also have swimming pool, children's playground, play gym for younger kids. What I also liked about this small hotel is that they have kids utensils readily available during breakfast. Though, there are only a few selection for the breakfast buffet, you will surely get satisfied. And the selection of food is different everyday. Their staff are all very friendly and helpful in our inquiries and request. Definitely great value for our money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingleWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear SingleWorkingMum,

I am heartened to know that although your stay experience with us has been more than a year ago, you have such fond memories of your stay and are writing such a wonderful review about it. Thank you!

All of us appreciate your kind compliments on our service, facilities, children amenities and location. We certainly hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Best regards,.
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here while the MRT was being built and after the initial shock of having a (albeit high) apartment overlooking the works with a adjoining door into the next apartment I was moved into another one and fell in love with the place. I was there for 8 weeks and would go back in an instant.
Clean and just so friendly. The apartment could do with a little modernising and having to pay for laundry was a little off but small things in the grand scheme of things.
Next door is a small karoake bar. Mainly for locals but if you show your face enough times you'll be playing electronic darts before you long.

Room Tip: Some rooms are only seperated by a door to accomodate families. I would ask if you are in one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattLeRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear MattLeRoss,

Thank you for staying with us at Somerset Bencoolen during your 8 weeks in our sunny island and for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

I am delighted that we have managed to provide you with an excellent stay experience despite your initial shock and that you have fallen in love with your home away from home. I am also pleased to know that you managed to acquaint yourself with new found friends to play electronic darts with, as this gives testament that we were indeed your comfortable home away from home!

Thank you for your kind compliments for our team's friendly and customer-centric service. The team is very heartened to know that they have contributed to your excellent stay experience.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to our sunny island.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with husband, two children and mum. We were in a two bed room apartment which was well suited to us. The apartments are a little older, but very clean with kitchen facility. The pool area is lovely overlooking the city. Close to MRT. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good location would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Virginia,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review and recommendation! It is indeed very gratifying to know that your family and you have found our service residence suitable for your vacation and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely compliments about our staff; this has brought such big smiles to their faces when they learnt about your compliments.

We sincerely hope to welcome all of you back again, should your travels bring you to Singapore!

Best regards,
Cynthia
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights and the hotel really makes you feel like home. They have everything you want from large fridge to oven and even chopsticks and strainer in the kitchen which really surprising me, thumbs up! Wifi reception within apartment earns another thumbs up. However, I think the apartment needs maintenance in the bathroom as I found water dripping from the ceiling but it didn't affect my happy stay. From my personally point of view, I think the warm white lighting could not satisfy the purpose of makeup and hair styling.

Without providing toothbrush and toothpaste is a good move to eco-friendly style.

Room Tip: Since MRT construction is expected to be completed in 2017, go for a room not facing Bencoolen Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendylamcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Wendy,

Thank you for taking time to write this delightful review! We are elated that we have successfully created the home away from home stay experience for you. Thank you for your detailed post on our facilities and services.We are truly elated that we have exceeded your expectations as we continuously strive in our efforts to provide the best in services and facilities for our guests.

Thank you for recognizing and supporting our eco-friendly initiatives. As most travellers would pack their personal toothbrush and preferred toothpaste with them, we have decided to minimise our use of plastics in our support to "Go Green". However, in the event that these items are required, our team members would be most pleased to purchase them.

We hope to welcome back in the near future!

Best regards,
Cynthia
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with my 2 year old son, my wife and my mother in law. We got 2 large rooms next to eachother. The units were clean, and quite nice. Fully self contained with kitchens, which was great with a young child. The pool area on the roof was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and frindly.

The hotel is located in the middle of town and it is easy to get around from there to everywhere in Singapore.

Overall, I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction site if you want a quiet room (there is a major train stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel from 11/11/13 to 14/11/13 and want to say thank you to manager Mei for her excellent service and the accomodations she provided. The room we had was quiet and without the construction noise some other reviewer complained about. .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Traveller,

My sincere apologies for being unable to reply in French.

Thank you for your writing this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 5 weeks stay with us and you have enjoyed the warm hospitality of our team. It is gratifying to know that our pleasant and homely ambience of our apartments has also successfully contributed to the comfort of your stay experience.

I note that you have found our utensils insufficient for proper food preparation. In consideration that we have residents who have their families accompanying them during their stay and that they may require more storage space for their food items, we have equipped our kitchens with the more commonly used utensils. However, I would like to advise you that we have a range of additional utensils and crockery in our inventory which can be made available to our residents upon request.

We sincerely hope to be able to host you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Cynthia
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at Somerset Bencoolen in November for a month and I can just highly recommend to everyone. The front desk team is amazing. I had my birthday while I was staying there and on the day the receptionists started to sing the "Happy Birthday!" once I entered the property. It was such a nice surprise. The apartments are also very clean, the housekeeping team did a great job every time they cleaned my apartment. There is also a small gym to use and of course the swimming pool on the rooftop, where you have a nice view of the city and you can relax after a long day of work. The apartments have a kitchen as well so you can prepare your own food if you wish to do so. However the property is centrally located, so shopping malls, restaurants and supermarkets are available in walking distance.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Gabor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#207 of 319 in Singapore
24 reviews
Ascott Orchard Singapore
#90 of 319 in Singapore
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore
#102 of 319 in Singapore
410 reviews
Park Hotel Alexandra
#53 of 319 in Singapore
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#70 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#102 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £98 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing