We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #123 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been working in Singapore for 4 moths and have stayed at the Somerset Bencoolen all that time.

I have worked around the world over the past 15 years and have to say it is the best stay I have had anywhere.

There is a good management and great team that have truly made my stay home from home.

Nothing to much trouble, helpful and always a smile.

So please look after them and treat them well. They have become my friends.

Michael

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank profmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear profmjm,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. Words cannot express how elated all of us at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore are and how much we appreciate your kind words!

It is truly heartening to know that you have enjoyed your 4 months’ stay with us and you felt very much at home with us. We are very touched to know this was your best stay ever and sincerely thank you for this HUGE compliment!

We, your friends at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore, eagerly look forward to welcoming you home soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I finally decided to book this property and signed up as a member. I booked a 1 bedroom suite. On arrival was given room 1002.
The unit comes with a kitchen.
Members get a welcome package, like chips, cookies, soft drinks and water.
There is a good sized gym that I used. The breakfast is a great option, liked the offerings, scrambled & hard boiled eggs, ham, beans, fruits, toast, oatmeal, cereals, juice, coffee tea, etc. What more can you ask for.
I also used the laundry machines.
Great property and a great location and great front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear djjaguar,

Thank you for your lovely review. You cannot imagine how happy all of us at Somerset Bencoolen are that you had finally decided to stay with us and have signed up as an online member!

I am delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and have found our Breakfast to be delectable. Your compliments for our team is greatly appreciated. Please be assured that we shall thank each member of our cherished team for their great contribution in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable.

Once again, thank you for writing this lovely review. It has been a great pleasure hosting your stay and all of us hope to host you again, should your travels bring you back to Singapore.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 1week in January 2013, two adults and two teenage sons. We were given two adjoining rooms, which gave us a massive room to share. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and two kitchens and lounge rooms! The rooms were clean and well kept. The hotel itself is basic but more than comfortable. The rooftop pool offers some great views. The location was excellent. An MRT station sits underground opposite the entrance, and you are within short walking distance of many attractions. While not luxury accommodation, this hotel does not pretend to be. With clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a great location, it offers fantastic value for money. I give it 4.5 stars.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Anthony R,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore and for choosing us as your preferred choice of serviced residence. I am delighted that your family and you enjoyed your stay with us and have found the spacious adjoining apartments ideal for your holidays. It is also great to learn that your family and you managed to relax at our rooftop pool area which offers a panoramic view of the city and I sincerely hope that all of you spent some time soaking in our Jacuzzi too.

Every member of our friendly team enjoyed hosting your family and you, and we eagerly look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to our island in the sun.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with 1 nanny and 1 baby.

the suite was musty in the beginning but clean and spacious. there was a full sized kitchen fully loaded with kitchen stuff so you can actually cook here (we didn't).

with the construction of an mrt terminal in front, we had to pass through construction sites. it's okay but not the best ambiance.

there's a 24 hour food place, 7-11 nearby. there's also a bus station and mrt station 5 mins away.
the hotel is a 10 minute walk away from the start of orchard road.

hotel breakfast is okay. nothing great but adequate.

service is prompt and okay.

this is a real value if you'll be travelling with several kids since you'll get a big space for the same price as orchard road hotels. nothing great but okay. we can stay here the next time we're coming.

Room Tip: get the 2 bedroom suite if you'll be a couple + some more people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank appleManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear appleManila,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us at Somerset Bencoolen, Singapore. I am encouraged to know that your family and you have had a comfortable stay with us. Many thanks for reaffirming that we are indeed a great value and will be your choice residence during your next visit to Singapore. It has been a real pleasure serving your family and you, and all of us sincerely look forward to hosting your next stay soon.

Warmest regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Somerset Bencoolen is a nice place if you travel stay a few days in town without wanting the comforts of room service, big breakfast buffet or restaurants onsite.

plus points: pool - nice length, chairs to relax available, private; nice rooms and bathrooms, kitchen and living room offer all you need;
minus points: breakfast is very limited but the terrace is amazing (breakfast is served on the 5th floor and you can eat between palm trees). That's why only 4 stars this time :-)

I'd go back again...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank paternionerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Paternionerin,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful and detailed review. It is indeed great to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have found our facilities attractive and ideal. It has been a pleasure to host your stay and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia

Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here last November 2012. The location of the hotel is very convenient to restaurants, bus stops, and train station. Very ideal for family since they offer 2 bedroom suite which is very spacious. They also have swimming pool, children's playground, play gym for younger kids. What I also liked about this small hotel is that they have kids utensils readily available during breakfast. Though, there are only a few selection for the breakfast buffet, you will surely get satisfied. And the selection of food is different everyday. Their staff are all very friendly and helpful in our inquiries and request. Definitely great value for our money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingleWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear SingleWorkingMum,

I am heartened to know that although your stay experience with us has been more than a year ago, you have such fond memories of your stay and are writing such a wonderful review about it. Thank you!

All of us appreciate your kind compliments on our service, facilities, children amenities and location. We certainly hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Best regards,.
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here while the MRT was being built and after the initial shock of having a (albeit high) apartment overlooking the works with a adjoining door into the next apartment I was moved into another one and fell in love with the place. I was there for 8 weeks and would go back in an instant.
Clean and just so friendly. The apartment could do with a little modernising and having to pay for laundry was a little off but small things in the grand scheme of things.
Next door is a small karoake bar. Mainly for locals but if you show your face enough times you'll be playing electronic darts before you long.

Room Tip: Some rooms are only seperated by a door to accomodate families. I would ask if you are in one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattLeRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear MattLeRoss,

Thank you for staying with us at Somerset Bencoolen during your 8 weeks in our sunny island and for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

I am delighted that we have managed to provide you with an excellent stay experience despite your initial shock and that you have fallen in love with your home away from home. I am also pleased to know that you managed to acquaint yourself with new found friends to play electronic darts with, as this gives testament that we were indeed your comfortable home away from home!

Thank you for your kind compliments for our team's friendly and customer-centric service. The team is very heartened to know that they have contributed to your excellent stay experience.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to our sunny island.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Park Hotel Alexandra
#60 of 317 in Singapore
1,117 reviews
Ascott Orchard Singapore
#85 of 317 in Singapore
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#210 of 317 in Singapore
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#70 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#99 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £111 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing