We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant oasis in expensive Singapore”
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #112 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
honolulu, hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant oasis in expensive Singapore”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The apartment was spacious, well fitted, and convenient, with lounge, bedroom, kitchen and bath. The daily breakfast in the garden was wonderful. The gym was well equipped and the roof top pools were amazing. For the price paid, this accommodation is amazing. My prior Singapore experiences in the midst of a were with expensive but tiny, basic, and dark hotel rooms. All the prior comments I saw here about noise from the construction can be ignored, as I experienced no noise issues in the entire time I was there for 4 nights--and my apartment faced the construction zone. All of the subway station work is being done underground now, so other than the inconvenience of the front entrance being inaccessable by car, the place was fantastic and noise was not an issue anywhere in the property. The property is stil totally accessible by car and cab by going into the attached parking garage instead of the front entrance. This is my new home away from home when visiting Singapore!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leeyarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear leeyarbro,

Aloha! Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. I am delighted that you had a great and comfortable stay experience with us. All of us are elated that you have already considered Somerset Bencoolen Singapore as your new home away from home. This is truly the biggest compliment we can ask for! From the bottom of our hearts, we sincerely say 'Mahalo'.

It has been a great pleasure hosting your stay and the entire team hopes to welcome you home again in the near future.

A hui hou.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    115
    28
    1
    3
See reviews for
114
32
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been working in Singapore for 4 moths and have stayed at the Somerset Bencoolen all that time.

I have worked around the world over the past 15 years and have to say it is the best stay I have had anywhere.

There is a good management and great team that have truly made my stay home from home.

Nothing to much trouble, helpful and always a smile.

So please look after them and treat them well. They have become my friends.

Michael

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank profmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear profmjm,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. Words cannot express how elated all of us at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore are and how much we appreciate your kind words!

It is truly heartening to know that you have enjoyed your 4 months’ stay with us and you felt very much at home with us. We are very touched to know this was your best stay ever and sincerely thank you for this HUGE compliment!

We, your friends at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore, eagerly look forward to welcoming you home soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I finally decided to book this property and signed up as a member. I booked a 1 bedroom suite. On arrival was given room 1002.
The unit comes with a kitchen.
Members get a welcome package, like chips, cookies, soft drinks and water.
There is a good sized gym that I used. The breakfast is a great option, liked the offerings, scrambled & hard boiled eggs, ham, beans, fruits, toast, oatmeal, cereals, juice, coffee tea, etc. What more can you ask for.
I also used the laundry machines.
Great property and a great location and great front desk staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear djjaguar,

Thank you for your lovely review. You cannot imagine how happy all of us at Somerset Bencoolen are that you had finally decided to stay with us and have signed up as an online member!

I am delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and have found our Breakfast to be delectable. Your compliments for our team is greatly appreciated. Please be assured that we shall thank each member of our cherished team for their great contribution in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable.

Once again, thank you for writing this lovely review. It has been a great pleasure hosting your stay and all of us hope to host you again, should your travels bring you back to Singapore.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1week in January 2013, two adults and two teenage sons. We were given two adjoining rooms, which gave us a massive room to share. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and two kitchens and lounge rooms! The rooms were clean and well kept. The hotel itself is basic but more than comfortable. The rooftop pool offers some great views. The location was excellent. An MRT station sits underground opposite the entrance, and you are within short walking distance of many attractions. While not luxury accommodation, this hotel does not pretend to be. With clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a great location, it offers fantastic value for money. I give it 4.5 stars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Anthony R,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore and for choosing us as your preferred choice of serviced residence. I am delighted that your family and you enjoyed your stay with us and have found the spacious adjoining apartments ideal for your holidays. It is also great to learn that your family and you managed to relax at our rooftop pool area which offers a panoramic view of the city and I sincerely hope that all of you spent some time soaking in our Jacuzzi too.

Every member of our friendly team enjoyed hosting your family and you, and we eagerly look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to our island in the sun.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with 1 nanny and 1 baby.

the suite was musty in the beginning but clean and spacious. there was a full sized kitchen fully loaded with kitchen stuff so you can actually cook here (we didn't).

with the construction of an mrt terminal in front, we had to pass through construction sites. it's okay but not the best ambiance.

there's a 24 hour food place, 7-11 nearby. there's also a bus station and mrt station 5 mins away.
the hotel is a 10 minute walk away from the start of orchard road.

hotel breakfast is okay. nothing great but adequate.

service is prompt and okay.

this is a real value if you'll be travelling with several kids since you'll get a big space for the same price as orchard road hotels. nothing great but okay. we can stay here the next time we're coming.

Room Tip: get the 2 bedroom suite if you'll be a couple + some more people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appleManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear appleManila,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us at Somerset Bencoolen, Singapore. I am encouraged to know that your family and you have had a comfortable stay with us. Many thanks for reaffirming that we are indeed a great value and will be your choice residence during your next visit to Singapore. It has been a real pleasure serving your family and you, and all of us sincerely look forward to hosting your next stay soon.

Warmest regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Somerset Bencoolen is a nice place if you travel stay a few days in town without wanting the comforts of room service, big breakfast buffet or restaurants onsite.

plus points: pool - nice length, chairs to relax available, private; nice rooms and bathrooms, kitchen and living room offer all you need;
minus points: breakfast is very limited but the terrace is amazing (breakfast is served on the 5th floor and you can eat between palm trees). That's why only 4 stars this time :-)

I'd go back again...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank paternionerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Paternionerin,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful and detailed review. It is indeed great to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have found our facilities attractive and ideal. It has been a pleasure to host your stay and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia

Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here last November 2012. The location of the hotel is very convenient to restaurants, bus stops, and train station. Very ideal for family since they offer 2 bedroom suite which is very spacious. They also have swimming pool, children's playground, play gym for younger kids. What I also liked about this small hotel is that they have kids utensils readily available during breakfast. Though, there are only a few selection for the breakfast buffet, you will surely get satisfied. And the selection of food is different everyday. Their staff are all very friendly and helpful in our inquiries and request. Definitely great value for our money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear SingleWorkingMum,

I am heartened to know that although your stay experience with us has been more than a year ago, you have such fond memories of your stay and are writing such a wonderful review about it. Thank you!

All of us appreciate your kind compliments on our service, facilities, children amenities and location. We certainly hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Best regards,.
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Strand Hotel
#149 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Kai
#113 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
V Hotel Bencoolen
#162 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Property: Somerset Bencoolen
Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#92 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing