We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and value for money”
Review of Somerset Bencoolen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Bencoolen
Ranked #114 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The apartments were clean and spacious. Comfortable and well designed for a short stay. Breakfast was average and not much of a selection. They clear the buffet right on time, so make sure to have your breakfast well before their closing time. Reception and security staff were friendly and helpful. Good place for families with children.

There is some construction going on around the area and it is very inconvenient to move about. Entrance to the hotel is through some dirty run down service lane. I think the construction is to be completed in 2017, so till then it is not a convenient place - but no fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors till the construction is over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Hk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Hk K,

Greetings! We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us. We read with much glee that you have found our team’s personal touch and service attitude to be helpful and friendly. Please be assured that your kind compliments will be shared with the team.

We sincerely apologise if you have found it slightly inconvenient to move about our premises with the ongoing construction works near our property. We would like to assure you that our management works closely with the local authorities to mitigate the inconvenience caused to our residents and thank you for your kind understanding that certain matters may be out of our control.

It has been a pleasure hosting your stay and we truly look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have been there alreadu a couple of time and in total spend their about 40 nights in total.
At this moment till 2016 their is a construction of MRT on-going just outside the Hotel and you may experienc some noise. The front desk staff is very accommodating. They offer a basic breakfast, with Eggs, jams , fresh fruit . danish, juices and coffees. If you take your breakfast early there will be no noice from the construction site will can sit of the terrace. They have a small gym. You got 2 rooms. A open plan kitchen living area and bedroom with a walk in wardrobe. If you spend more then 3-4 night in Singapore a very good place to stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank obr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear obr2000,

Thank you for writing this wonderful and detailed review. We are truly happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us again and are recommending our serviced residence as a choice accommodation. We are sincerely grateful for your recommendation as it is indeed a huge compliment for us too, especially from such a well-travelled resident like you!

We are delighted that you managed to have your Continental Breakfast at the open terrace adjoining our Residents’ Lounge as it is certainly a serene oasis favoured by most of our residents.

Thank you for staying with us. It has been a great pleasure being of service to you and all of us look forward to hosting your next 40 nights’ stay with us soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked 4 nights during 40% member flash sale...$180nett/night for 1 bedroom premium.

Upon checked in,got free upgrade from 1 bedroom premium to 2 bedroom deluxe (2nd bedroom is unlocked,add credit to bigger space). For singapore standard, the apartment is spacious and clean. However,the bed is worn out..time to change!

Breakfast choices is very limited, too boring.. should add some singapore flavours like fried noodles, laksa to fill up the stomach. I skipped breakfast for last 2 days of my stay.

Location is at bencoolen street, in the middle of bugis and orchard...quite convenient. Bras basah MRT is just few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Babybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Babybun,

Greetings! Thank you for writing this detailed review. All of us at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore are heartened to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our beds and Continental Breakfast variety. Please be assured that we value your feedback and the relevant departments would most certainly review how we may enhance our residents’ stay experience.

We are elated to see that you have stated that you ‘will stay again’ and we sincerely look forward to hosting your stay again soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The apartment was spacious, well fitted, and convenient, with lounge, bedroom, kitchen and bath. The daily breakfast in the garden was wonderful. The gym was well equipped and the roof top pools were amazing. For the price paid, this accommodation is amazing. My prior Singapore experiences in the midst of a were with expensive but tiny, basic, and dark hotel rooms. All the prior comments I saw here about noise from the construction can be ignored, as I experienced no noise issues in the entire time I was there for 4 nights--and my apartment faced the construction zone. All of the subway station work is being done underground now, so other than the inconvenience of the front entrance being inaccessable by car, the place was fantastic and noise was not an issue anywhere in the property. The property is stil totally accessible by car and cab by going into the attached parking garage instead of the front entrance. This is my new home away from home when visiting Singapore!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leeyarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear leeyarbro,

Aloha! Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. I am delighted that you had a great and comfortable stay experience with us. All of us are elated that you have already considered Somerset Bencoolen Singapore as your new home away from home. This is truly the biggest compliment we can ask for! From the bottom of our hearts, we sincerely say 'Mahalo'.

It has been a great pleasure hosting your stay and the entire team hopes to welcome you home again in the near future.

A hui hou.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been working in Singapore for 4 moths and have stayed at the Somerset Bencoolen all that time.

I have worked around the world over the past 15 years and have to say it is the best stay I have had anywhere.

There is a good management and great team that have truly made my stay home from home.

Nothing to much trouble, helpful and always a smile.

So please look after them and treat them well. They have become my friends.

Michael

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank profmjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear profmjm,

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review. Words cannot express how elated all of us at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore are and how much we appreciate your kind words!

It is truly heartening to know that you have enjoyed your 4 months’ stay with us and you felt very much at home with us. We are very touched to know this was your best stay ever and sincerely thank you for this HUGE compliment!

We, your friends at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore, eagerly look forward to welcoming you home soon.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I finally decided to book this property and signed up as a member. I booked a 1 bedroom suite. On arrival was given room 1002.
The unit comes with a kitchen.
Members get a welcome package, like chips, cookies, soft drinks and water.
There is a good sized gym that I used. The breakfast is a great option, liked the offerings, scrambled & hard boiled eggs, ham, beans, fruits, toast, oatmeal, cereals, juice, coffee tea, etc. What more can you ask for.
I also used the laundry machines.
Great property and a great location and great front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear djjaguar,

Thank you for your lovely review. You cannot imagine how happy all of us at Somerset Bencoolen are that you had finally decided to stay with us and have signed up as an online member!

I am delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and have found our Breakfast to be delectable. Your compliments for our team is greatly appreciated. Please be assured that we shall thank each member of our cherished team for their great contribution in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable.

Once again, thank you for writing this lovely review. It has been a great pleasure hosting your stay and all of us hope to host you again, should your travels bring you back to Singapore.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 1week in January 2013, two adults and two teenage sons. We were given two adjoining rooms, which gave us a massive room to share. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and two kitchens and lounge rooms! The rooms were clean and well kept. The hotel itself is basic but more than comfortable. The rooftop pool offers some great views. The location was excellent. An MRT station sits underground opposite the entrance, and you are within short walking distance of many attractions. While not luxury accommodation, this hotel does not pretend to be. With clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a great location, it offers fantastic value for money. I give it 4.5 stars.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Anthony R,

Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore and for choosing us as your preferred choice of serviced residence. I am delighted that your family and you enjoyed your stay with us and have found the spacious adjoining apartments ideal for your holidays. It is also great to learn that your family and you managed to relax at our rooftop pool area which offers a panoramic view of the city and I sincerely hope that all of you spent some time soaking in our Jacuzzi too.

Every member of our friendly team enjoyed hosting your family and you, and we eagerly look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to our island in the sun.

Best regards,
Cynthia Lim
Resident Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,305 reviews
Strand Hotel
#151 of 317 in Singapore
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street Bencoolen Residences, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#64 Business Hotel in Singapore
#71 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#94 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £102 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Singapore's former civic district, Somerset Bencoolen is strategically and conveniently located. A luxurious escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it nonetheless puts you just minutes away from every imaginable pursuit. Elegant shopping, fine dining, pulsating nightlife, as well as museum exhibits and world-renowned cultural performances are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing