We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #51 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good hotel with a great location. Rooms were very small but adequate and they were clean. Breakfast was good but you had to fight crowds of people. Service was fair, mostly I account this to the hotel being open for 2 weeks when I arrived.

They have laundry facilities and the pool on the roof is great for laps or just dipping in to cool off.

Short walk to Clarke Quay where there is lots of nighttime entertainment and restaurants.

Room Tip: Singapore is a great place for food and Little India is one of my favorite ares to find excellent me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wizsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Wizsup

Thank you for your review and for being one of our first guests.

I am delighted you enjoyed breakfast, the rooftop pool and our second floor DIY laundry area.

Thank you for your tip on Little India, a great place to get some authentic food! Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Located just one street away from the busy walkways of Clarke Quay where tourists and locals both enjoy alfresco dining along the Singapore River lies the newest addition to the Singapore IHG family, the Holiday Inn Express (HIX) Clarke Quay. The HIX is a no-frills kind of accommodation that is a separate brand from Holiday Inn which caters towards a more value-conscious segment of travellers. I've chosen to stay at this property to explore the Clarke Quay/Robertson Quay areas which were within walking distances from the hotel.

Contacting this property for reservation confirmation was painful. My emails sent two weeks prior to arrival and then one more seven days later went unanswered. My Facebook messages to the official account for this property were marked read but ignored entirely. I did eventually get a reply from the property after sending a final message at 1230am on the day of arrival. The funny thing was that I received two conflicting responses (which I presume were sent by two different people on different devices) from the team at approximately 1am. Otherwise, it must be a serious case of schizophrenia.

My check-in process was almost painless and the staff had no trouble locating my reservation and prepayment. However, Platinum IHG guests do not get anything extra here. I understand that some international HIX properties offer bonus points or welcome drinks for Platinum Guests but you're not going to find such benefits here. Check-in staff also seemed rather fresh at their job and slightly flustered for some reason. I did however get a late checkout for 4pm the next day and a room on a higher floor but I don't think these benefits were reserved for Platinum members per se. No offer for a morning call or complimentary newspaper were extended.

The roof level (level 8) provides for travellers a rather unique 40m swimming pool and two jacuzzi pools that overlook certain areas of Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay. The transparent glass makes the pool look like some kind of animal enclosure as people are able to see your swimming strokes from the outside. Yet again, the pool probably distinguishes itself from other hotel pools this way. Whilst the pools were only open from 7am to 7pm daily, the small fitness gym is open 24 hours a day - making it convenient for you to slip in a workout even if you arrive in the wee hours of the morning.

One problem that I faced while enjoying the facilities was the evident lack of pool chairs and tanning decks. The wood was also burning hot from the scorching sun making it difficult to walk barefooted for the common man. Moreover, this problem was already pertinent when the hotel is far from full occupancy. Some guests resorted to lying down on a towel over the wooden floor for a tan. I believe more needs to be done to ensure that hotel guests are able to enjoy a leisurely dip in the pool.

While other hotels generally have a King sized bed, my room had a queen sized bed, four pillows, a small working desk and a flat screen television which I guess were pretty standard for more affordable hotels. The rooms were clean but slightly dusty as they were rather new. Personally, the sheets were coarse and could do with some softening up. In fact, I would highly recommend higher thread-count sheets. The distinct indication of soft or firm pillows on the pillow cases was redundant to me and served no purpose. The air-conditioning unit in my room went to a minimum of 24.5 degrees despite me trying to lower the temperature down even further. My sheets were also creased at the sides which I guess is another thing to deal with for staying in a relatively new hotel.

The room also came with an empty mini-bar that you can utilise to chill your own beverages or snacks. Basic tea and coffee making facilities (i.e. teabags and hot water kettle) were provided for hotel guests. In-room dining was almost non-existent for hotel guests as the dining menu was a combined fast food menu from nearby restaurants (e.g. Wendy's). Also, you will not be able to charge these to your room as payment is by cash only.

The bathroom was tiny and despite having a rain shower fixture, the water pressure was weak. A reader has previously shared with me that the fire alarm has gone off multiple times (even through the night) during her stay at the property when it first opened. The weaker pressure could be a temporary solution to the sensitive in-room smoke detectors until a more permanent solution is established. Fortunately for me, the fire alarms stayed silent throughout my stay. A sticker on the shower screen also suggests both sliding doors (one overlooks the bedroom - see photo below) to be closed so that the hot steam from the shower does not trigger the fire alarm.

The bathroom and the sliding window did not come with locks meaning that anyone in the room is able to open it at any time. This may be important for those of you who intend to share rooms with your friends. Having the sliding window however meant that I was (somehow) able to access the tap from my bed which could be useful if you get lazy.

With all that being said, the Holiday Inn Express Clarke Quay is still a pretty nice budget accommodation (when comparing to other substitutes like the Ibis hotel). While the current opening promotion does provide for 2,000 bonus points for Reward Club members, the average room rate for this hotel may be on the high side for what it has to offer. That being said, I still have not received my 2,000 bonus points from my last completed stay which was over a month ago.

Communication with the hotel is beyond horrible so I hope you won't have to contact them for whatever reason.

Full Review: http://www.theshutterwhale.com/blog/2014/4/22/holiday-inn-express-clarke-quay

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shutterwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Markcwj

Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Singapore and for having a staycation with us.

Firstly I am sorry you had trouble communicating with the hotel prior to your arrival, I will certainly look into this - as the hotel is a select service some of our emails going directly to our central reservations office rather than the property.

As the hotel only has one room category, our Platinum members are preallocated rooms on the higher floor and we do offer then a complimentary late check out.

The swimming pool is now open till 9pm a change that was just made a few days ago, you will be pleased to note, and we are looking at increasing the pool furniture. The linen in the hotel is 230 thread count but I have noted your comments.

Thank you for posting the photos, they are great!

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This new Holiday Inn Express property sits close to Clarke Quay area in a quiet area, about a 10 minutes walk from either Clarke Quay MRT or Chinatown. This modern, clean lines hotel design is hipper version of the older Holiday Inn Atrium in the neighborhood. Rooms are small, but super neat and clean with quality bed and linen. This hotel will cater to all your needs, provide a great night sleep, a great shower a simple healthy breakfast with limited hot items, indoor / outdoor breakfast areas in in a modern attractive minimalist design style. Don't expect any great luxuries such as a standing doorman and bellman hauling your luggage. For that purpose airport style luggage trolleys are provided. The staff s very friendly and a rooftop infinity pool and gym with skyline view adds to a great experience. For those of you who like the hustle and bustle of downtown or colorful neighborhood will be disappointed. There is not much to do within 10 minutes walking radius of the hotel. Families with 1-2 kids will need to ask for larger rooms (if they have), since moving around a regular room with queen bed will not be easy.

Room Tip: For families, check if the have larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Mirza A

Thank you for your review of Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for staying with us! I am really pleased you enjoyed the design of the hotel, breakfast, the rooftop pool and the team at the Hotel. At Holiday Inn Express we offer you great value and convenience and provide the things you need for your stay like our self service luggage trollies.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Singapore.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed there for 4 nights during a recent business trip to Singapore. The hotel is just across the bridge from Clarke Quay. I love the design of hotel and how it is conveniently located but still away from the major traffic. It is new so everything is still in pristine condition.

As a Holiday Inn Express, you won't expect to get in-room dining but they do have a in-room takeaway menu that you can call and get restaurants to deliver the food to the hotel.

Overall, it's a very nice hotel, at a reasonable rate, and in a great location. I would have no hesitation in staying there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Antony_Yiu

Thank you very much for your review and the five stars! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked the design of the Hotel - thank you for your tip about our Dine In Restaurant menus which are in the guest rooms we are glad you found this convenient.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights one week after they opened. Got a great opening special and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this holiday express hotel. Yes rooms are small but cleverly designed so that you didn't feel too boxed in. Fine for a short stopover or if you are not the type to spend a lot of time in the room then this is the place for you if you just want to come back to your room and watch some tv before you crash. As with most holiday inn brands around the world sleep quality was great, breakfast was usual express style which is cereal, juice, some sort of eggs, plenty of different breads/croissants, pastries. fruit, tea and coffee. Great location for catching the MRT and short walk over to Clarke Quay which is full of restaurants. If you like swimming it has an interesting glass front lap pool. Has a problem with the room charge which needed to be amended when checking out. This was a little complicated but was corrected most professionally by Daniel Camoens, the Assistant Manager who promised he would email through the amended invoices and refund the discrepancy which was all completed in a timely fashion. His service alone would ensure we would return to this hotel as how many times do you get told things will be sorted and you have to wait months and make numerous call, emails etc. Well done Holiday Inn on your staff selection.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper ask for a room away from lift and not along that immediate corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Kimsuz

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay. I was delighted to read your comments about the hotel location, rooms, our Express Start Breakfast and the rooftop swimming pool.

Thank you very much for your comments on the team at the Hotel especially Daniel, I will be sure to share this with everyone.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Well located around 10 minutes walking distance from Clarke Quay/MRT. Best way to Clarke Quay is to walk down Merchant Road then cross the foot bridge which leads directly on to the river dining area. Smallish rooms with tall ceilings so doesn't feel small. Ideal for two people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiros K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Spiro K

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We loved your top tip on how to get to Clarke Quay MRT thank you for sharing this.

Delighted you enjoyed the rooms at the Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay hotel for three nights last month and feel that this new hotel is a good choice for short stays. Do not be disguised by the word Express which relates more to its simplicity than price advantage. But with its proximity to the Clark Quay MRT station (at most ten minutes walk but for me it's five), and all the Clark quay restaurants, pubs and shopping close by along the Singapore river, while at the same time sitting on a quiet street Magazine Road, it gives one a serene getaway with all the conveniences. The room size is not big but comfortable and adequately furnished with a nice shower stall. Breakfast was included in my room rate but that is the express style which means do not expect an opulent selection on the buffet table, and there is no proper restaurant service nor other bells and whistles on site. Staff are generally amicable and willing to help. There is a glass walled lap pool and gym equipment on the roof top where one can work out or get some sun tan but if you are planning to take a dip in the pool, please be reminded to wear your flip flop or slippers to protect your feet as the roof top tiles could easily burn your feet even if you only have to walk a short distance especially around noon time. All in all, it's a place that's worth returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Ricky Y

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, we loved your review and in particular your description of us as a serene getaway with all the conveniences!

Its always a pleasure to hear comments on the team and thank you for your top tip on the roof top - with its stunning location it can get a bit hot up there!

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#54 of 317 in Singapore
4,581 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#65 of 317 in Singapore
3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#68 of 317 in Singapore
6,672 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 317 in Singapore
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 2 Magazine Road, Singapore 059573, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £95 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Singapore, Clarke Quay with free Breakfast and Wi-Fi offeredThe new Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time, located minutes away from Central Business District and Clarke Quay, the trendiest riverside nightspots and dining options.Our great location offers accessibility to Singapore’s major attractions included Chinatown, Sentosa Island, Universal Studio, Gardens by the Bay, Suntec International Convention Centre and the world-famous shopping district of Orchard Road, we are near the mouth of the Singapore River, just a short 30 minutes drive from Changi Airport, 5 minutes walk from the speedy MRT Subway train, Clarke Quay and Chinatown Stations.Relax in one of our 442 brand new and well-designed rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows. Kick start your day with our free Express Start Breakfast or Grab and Go option and stay productive with our free high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Experience our high quality bedding, have a restful night with a choice of soft and firm pillows, have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a rain shower to recharge after a long day and have everything in control with our self service laundry facility.Our hotel offers bright and airy landscaped social spaces, rooftop fitness room and 40 metres swimming pool overlooking Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing