We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New 3 star holiday inn express experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #52 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything was new in this hotel with green concept thrown into it. The corridors at the room levels (2 - 7) are all outdoors, which is green considering saving having to have air condition along these corridors. The room was new but a tad small. Typical holiday inn express amenities without the minibar. Wash basin tap water is like a trickle (As they use the water filter to save water). A shower area without bath tubs. If you require additional amenities like shaver, you got to collect it at the reception like all other holiday inn express that I had stayed before. There are trolleys for you to push your bulky luggage to your room (typical of holiday inn express). Overall, it is a new and green hotel. With the price of close to SGD$200 (inclusive of taxes/charges), there may be other hotels that you may consider. Location is great as it is at clark quay and you can have lots of night activities (beer, drinking, eating) in that area. The entire hotel is wired up with wifi for up to 4 devices per room. It is also walking distance to china town and other tourist locations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear TC N

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay. I am delighted you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and its proximity to Clarke & Robertson Quay.

The Hotel has been awarded Platinum status for Benchmark Green Awards in Singapore, and with some of our features such as external corridors we help to reduce the environment impact in a small way.

Holiday Inn Express is a select service hotel that offers you everything you need and nothing you don't; whilst we don't have bathtubs we have a rain shower and a 3 phase shower in the bathrooms; the fridges are provided in the rooms for you to keep your own items should you require this - all our rates also include free WIFI and free Express Start Breakfast giving you extra value especially with WIFI as you can use a number of devices at the same time all inclusive.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 1,966 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Planned my stay here at Holiday Inn Express Clark Quay to fulfill my BIG WIN promotion but was mislead by the staff and I failed to qualify for it. Corresponded with the IHG rewards via email but they refusing to share the fault of their staff and I was forced to swallow this failure on my own. Upon paying, the staff retained my credit card as I made my way to the airport. I had to make a u turn to collect my credit card which was very much inconvenient. I'm planning to switch to another group of hotel operators (probably Hilton, Concorde or Pan Pacific) because I'm sure pissed with how IHG handled my case here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klyong2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear klyong2502

Thank you for your review about your experience with us, I am very sorry to read your comments and disappointed I was not able to speak with you prior to your departure and understand about the communication you had with our IHG Rewards membership centre. I would be grateful if you could contact me so I can further investigate with our corporate office on this issue. Please could you contact me via info.sincq@ihg.com

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Clean? Tick. Friendly helpful staff? Tick. Comfy bed? Tick. Great location? Tick. Room service? NO. Exciting breakfast? NO. 3 days later, the breakfast was EXACTLY the same. One guy who'd been there for 10 days, said it hadn't changed in all that time. No restaurant either. You have to go out to eat or dial out for takeaway. Not ideal.......but there are loads of places to eat fairly close by.

Room Tip: I think the ones facing the main road are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear liz t

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us; I was very pleased to read you enjoyed the service and the quality of the product at the Hotel. We are a select service Hotel and the Holiday Inn Express concept aims to provide our guests with a hassle-free stay with the comfort and convenience of great rooms, great location, free Express start Breakfast & free Wi-Fi - all at a value price.

Our Express Breakfast Bar includes four hot dishes (2 international & 2 local ), cold selection - 3 cereals, fruits, yogurts, bakery selections with danishes , muffins, croissants, white & wholemeal toast. Hot drinks include tea, speciality coffee & chocolate. For the convenience of our guests, we have the Grab & Go option as well.

We do have a range of snack items available at the Bar serving 24 hours a day and there are some great restaurants in the local area at Clarke & Robertson Quays.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A convenient hotel in the Clarke Quay area. Walking distance to Clarke Quay and Chinatown attractions.
At the time of this review, an adequate breakfast and fast internet were provided free, however that may not last. A collection of rubbish channels on the TV. Rooms are small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out, otherwise you may end up with a view of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayidth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Ayidth

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us, I am delighted you liked the location and enjoyed our free Express Start Breakfast and WIFI. I am sorry you didnt enjoy the selection of TV channels in the Hotel; we cover all key categories of channels including news, movies, entertainment... We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed two nights here. Very clean hotel and nice staff. 40M long swimming pool on the roof is great! Fantastic location and high tech feel.

Room issues: Thermostat controls were difficult to understand, had to keep resetting the temperature due to lack of information on how to set and hold the temperature. TV set popped on in the middle of the night, TV remote would not shut it off, had to unplug it from behind the panel. Shower temperature was cold, found out on the second day they had plumbed hot and cold backwards on the shower handle. Room safe was insecure, it was in a removable dresser drawer. Management addressed issues overnight in a friendly manner. So they rescued my experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear John K

Thank you for your review and for staying us with us; once again I am really sorry you had a couple of technical issues with your room but I am glad we helped rectify these and you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. Appreciate your feedback as its helps us to improve the service we can deliver to our guests. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay has only been open 2 months and is in excellent condition. The first floor holds the lobby and the restaurant area in an open setup. Large windows creates a fresh atmosphere. You can eat breakfast both in and outdoors. The rooms are Holiday Inn Express size, thus smaller than in more upscale hotels, but they service their purpose and delivers real value for money. The large windows in the rooms creates an open environment. The location is great since you easily can walk from Clarke Quay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johan6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Johan6688

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, we really appreciate your comments and that you understand the Holiday Inn Express brand and that we offer you great value in a great location. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was about to book a hotel when I read this....how right you are about the sales manager Jason. We are travelling from the US and now moving through South East Asia.....having stayed at multiple Hol Inns throughout the US, this has got to be the worst experience in Clarke Quay Singapore. The dude is downright rude and unaccommodating, never been talked down like that before - shocking. In the US, I'd take this up with the IHG group but being in a foreign land, I am told by my wife to just shut it. The rooms are ok, everything else is alright.....but this guy takes the cake.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socal1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Socal1980

Thank you for your review on the Hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel; however was extremely disappointed to read your comments about Jason. I would be grateful if you could contact me personally as I see you are a first time tripadvisor reviewer.

Many thanks

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#65 of 319 in Singapore
3,753 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 319 in Singapore
4,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#67 of 319 in Singapore
6,585 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 2 Magazine Road, Singapore 059573, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £102 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Singapore, Clarke Quay with free Breakfast and Wi-Fi offeredThe new Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time, located minutes away from Central Business District and Clarke Quay, the trendiest riverside nightspots and dining options.Our great location offers accessibility to Singapore’s major attractions included Chinatown, Sentosa Island, Universal Studio, Gardens by the Bay, Suntec International Convention Centre and the world-famous shopping district of Orchard Road, we are near the mouth of the Singapore River, just a short 30 minutes drive from Changi Airport, 5 minutes walk from the speedy MRT Subway train, Clarke Quay and Chinatown Stations.Relax in one of our 442 brand new and well-designed rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows. Kick start your day with our free Express Start Breakfast or Grab and Go option and stay productive with our free high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Experience our high quality bedding, have a restful night with a choice of soft and firm pillows, have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a rain shower to recharge after a long day and have everything in control with our self service laundry facility.Our hotel offers bright and airy landscaped social spaces, rooftop fitness room and 40 metres swimming pool overlooking Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing