We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay that's expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #55 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Englan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average stay that's expensive”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Beware that there is a large additional charge on top of this booking. A service charge of 10.5% was not clearly stated and tax.
The service was average. When asking for help I was passed off by staff and ignored, breakfast was average. The rooms were nice and the bed was comfy but walls are thin!
pool is amazing apart from the jacuzzi was broken and no one was up there to help.
Location is poor as it's far to go anywhere.
Nice stay but not worth the money

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank keke696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Keeley B

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and taking the time to review the Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you weren't aware of the 10% service charge and 7% GST, this is clearly communicated in all our confirmations and is a standard throughout the whole of Singapore; I will check up on the jacuzzi as I am not quite sure when you stayed with us however this not been out of order for the last month plus.

I appreciate your comments on the rooms and the comfortable bed; being a Holiday Inn Express we do have the standard of bedding and comfort in the guest rooms as our full service brands.

Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    866
    210
    35
    24
See reviews for
248
737
177
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very good location, 10 mins walking to MRT, can walk to Clark Quay and China Town. Newly opened hotel, good facilities. But too many tourists and made breakfast supply insufficient. Also the room is quite small can be same as HK.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room near the elevator, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Cherry C

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and taking the time to review us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the location; thank you for the five stars. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and honestly could not fault the place. The rooms are said to be small but it didn't feel that way. The staff were excellent. The location was great. The breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twin068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear twin068

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us; I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and in particular your comment regarding the team being excellent.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything was new in this hotel with green concept thrown into it. The corridors at the room levels (2 - 7) are all outdoors, which is green considering saving having to have air condition along these corridors. The room was new but a tad small. Typical holiday inn express amenities without the minibar. Wash basin tap water is like a trickle (As they use the water filter to save water). A shower area without bath tubs. If you require additional amenities like shaver, you got to collect it at the reception like all other holiday inn express that I had stayed before. There are trolleys for you to push your bulky luggage to your room (typical of holiday inn express). Overall, it is a new and green hotel. With the price of close to SGD$200 (inclusive of taxes/charges), there may be other hotels that you may consider. Location is great as it is at clark quay and you can have lots of night activities (beer, drinking, eating) in that area. The entire hotel is wired up with wifi for up to 4 devices per room. It is also walking distance to china town and other tourist locations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear TC N

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay. I am delighted you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and its proximity to Clarke & Robertson Quay.

The Hotel has been awarded Platinum status for Benchmark Green Awards in Singapore, and with some of our features such as external corridors we help to reduce the environment impact in a small way.

Holiday Inn Express is a select service hotel that offers you everything you need and nothing you don't; whilst we don't have bathtubs we have a rain shower and a 3 phase shower in the bathrooms; the fridges are provided in the rooms for you to keep your own items should you require this - all our rates also include free WIFI and free Express Start Breakfast giving you extra value especially with WIFI as you can use a number of devices at the same time all inclusive.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Planned my stay here at Holiday Inn Express Clark Quay to fulfill my BIG WIN promotion but was mislead by the staff and I failed to qualify for it. Corresponded with the IHG rewards via email but they refusing to share the fault of their staff and I was forced to swallow this failure on my own. Upon paying, the staff retained my credit card as I made my way to the airport. I had to make a u turn to collect my credit card which was very much inconvenient. I'm planning to switch to another group of hotel operators (probably Hilton, Concorde or Pan Pacific) because I'm sure pissed with how IHG handled my case here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klyong2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear klyong2502

Thank you for your review about your experience with us, I am very sorry to read your comments and disappointed I was not able to speak with you prior to your departure and understand about the communication you had with our IHG Rewards membership centre. I would be grateful if you could contact me so I can further investigate with our corporate office on this issue. Please could you contact me via info.sincq@ihg.com

Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Clean? Tick. Friendly helpful staff? Tick. Comfy bed? Tick. Great location? Tick. Room service? NO. Exciting breakfast? NO. 3 days later, the breakfast was EXACTLY the same. One guy who'd been there for 10 days, said it hadn't changed in all that time. No restaurant either. You have to go out to eat or dial out for takeaway. Not ideal.......but there are loads of places to eat fairly close by.

Room Tip: I think the ones facing the main road are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear liz t

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us; I was very pleased to read you enjoyed the service and the quality of the product at the Hotel. We are a select service Hotel and the Holiday Inn Express concept aims to provide our guests with a hassle-free stay with the comfort and convenience of great rooms, great location, free Express start Breakfast & free Wi-Fi - all at a value price.

Our Express Breakfast Bar includes four hot dishes (2 international & 2 local ), cold selection - 3 cereals, fruits, yogurts, bakery selections with danishes , muffins, croissants, white & wholemeal toast. Hot drinks include tea, speciality coffee & chocolate. For the convenience of our guests, we have the Grab & Go option as well.

We do have a range of snack items available at the Bar serving 24 hours a day and there are some great restaurants in the local area at Clarke & Robertson Quays.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A convenient hotel in the Clarke Quay area. Walking distance to Clarke Quay and Chinatown attractions.
At the time of this review, an adequate breakfast and fast internet were provided free, however that may not last. A collection of rubbish channels on the TV. Rooms are small.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out, otherwise you may end up with a view of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayidth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Ayidth

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us, I am delighted you liked the location and enjoyed our free Express Start Breakfast and WIFI. I am sorry you didnt enjoy the selection of TV channels in the Hotel; we cover all key categories of channels including news, movies, entertainment... We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,434 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 312 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#61 of 312 in Singapore
6,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Address: 2 Magazine Road, Singapore 059573, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Singapore, Clarke Quay with free Breakfast and Wi-Fi offeredThe new Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time, located minutes away from Central Business District and Clarke Quay, the trendiest riverside nightspots and dining options.Our great location offers accessibility to Singapore’s major attractions included Chinatown, Sentosa Island, Universal Studio, Gardens by the Bay, Suntec International Convention Centre and the world-famous shopping district of Orchard Road, we are near the mouth of the Singapore River, just a short 30 minutes drive from Changi Airport, 5 minutes walk from the speedy MRT Subway train, Clarke Quay and Chinatown Stations.Relax in one of our 442 brand new and well-designed rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows. Kick start your day with our free Express Start Breakfast or Grab and Go option and stay productive with our free high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Experience our high quality bedding, have a restful night with a choice of soft and firm pillows, have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a rain shower to recharge after a long day and have everything in control with our self service laundry facility.Our hotel offers bright and airy landscaped social spaces, rooftop fitness room and 40 metres swimming pool overlooking Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing