We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #55 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed in many holiday inn express in Europe. Hotel look better than Europe one.but service standards really lack. Staff really need some training.

I have been waiting for a long time to check in. Security not even bothered to help with luggage or taxi. Rooms very small compared with other hotels.

I would rather pay little extra and stay at holiday inn atrium.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank febin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Febin1234

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us, I was disappointed to read your experience with us and in particular the time to check in. The hotel does provide self service luggage trollies which are guests can use and take to their rooms.

We are a select service Hotel and the Holiday Inn Express concept aims to provide our guests with a hassle-free stay with the comfort and convenience of great rooms, great location, free Express start Breakfast & free Wi-Fi - all at a value price.

I am sorry that you did not feel this brand was for you, but thank you for your loyalty for staying within the IHG family.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,613 - 1,619 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

This indeed is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Beautiful location, friendly staff and good breakfast. The room provided us good comfort, to peel off all the tiredness we had. This is at just 10 mins distance from the nearest MRT - Clarke Quay. If you wish to take a boat ride, the Clarke Quay boat boarding point too is nearby. The only complaint I have is with respect to the ladies washroom near the lobby. This was not clean when my wife walked in to freshen herself up. May be you can provide a "how-to-use" guide for the thermostat, which I found a bit difficult to use.

Overall, a good, comfortable stay on offer, if you are willing to spend around 150$ per night.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms near the lift, could cause a problem for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subramaniam_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Subramaniam_I

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for giving a great review of 5 stars. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay, the team and thank you for the top tip to our other Tripadvisor fans about the boat trip. We are currently working on some instructions for the thermostat which should be in place very soon and please accept my apologies for the restroom cleanliness, these are cleaned regularly each day.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beware that there is a large additional charge on top of this booking. A service charge of 10.5% was not clearly stated and tax.
The service was average. When asking for help I was passed off by staff and ignored, breakfast was average. The rooms were nice and the bed was comfy but walls are thin!
pool is amazing apart from the jacuzzi was broken and no one was up there to help.
Location is poor as it's far to go anywhere.
Nice stay but not worth the money

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank keke696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Keeley B

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and taking the time to review the Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you weren't aware of the 10% service charge and 7% GST, this is clearly communicated in all our confirmations and is a standard throughout the whole of Singapore; I will check up on the jacuzzi as I am not quite sure when you stayed with us however this not been out of order for the last month plus.

I appreciate your comments on the rooms and the comfortable bed; being a Holiday Inn Express we do have the standard of bedding and comfort in the guest rooms as our full service brands.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very good location, 10 mins walking to MRT, can walk to Clark Quay and China Town. Newly opened hotel, good facilities. But too many tourists and made breakfast supply insufficient. Also the room is quite small can be same as HK.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room near the elevator, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Cherry C

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and taking the time to review us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the location; thank you for the five stars. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights and honestly could not fault the place. The rooms are said to be small but it didn't feel that way. The staff were excellent. The location was great. The breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twin068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear twin068

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us; I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and in particular your comment regarding the team being excellent.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything was new in this hotel with green concept thrown into it. The corridors at the room levels (2 - 7) are all outdoors, which is green considering saving having to have air condition along these corridors. The room was new but a tad small. Typical holiday inn express amenities without the minibar. Wash basin tap water is like a trickle (As they use the water filter to save water). A shower area without bath tubs. If you require additional amenities like shaver, you got to collect it at the reception like all other holiday inn express that I had stayed before. There are trolleys for you to push your bulky luggage to your room (typical of holiday inn express). Overall, it is a new and green hotel. With the price of close to SGD$200 (inclusive of taxes/charges), there may be other hotels that you may consider. Location is great as it is at clark quay and you can have lots of night activities (beer, drinking, eating) in that area. The entire hotel is wired up with wifi for up to 4 devices per room. It is also walking distance to china town and other tourist locations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear TC N

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay. I am delighted you enjoyed the location of the Hotel and its proximity to Clarke & Robertson Quay.

The Hotel has been awarded Platinum status for Benchmark Green Awards in Singapore, and with some of our features such as external corridors we help to reduce the environment impact in a small way.

Holiday Inn Express is a select service hotel that offers you everything you need and nothing you don't; whilst we don't have bathtubs we have a rain shower and a 3 phase shower in the bathrooms; the fridges are provided in the rooms for you to keep your own items should you require this - all our rates also include free WIFI and free Express Start Breakfast giving you extra value especially with WIFI as you can use a number of devices at the same time all inclusive.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Planned my stay here at Holiday Inn Express Clark Quay to fulfill my BIG WIN promotion but was mislead by the staff and I failed to qualify for it. Corresponded with the IHG rewards via email but they refusing to share the fault of their staff and I was forced to swallow this failure on my own. Upon paying, the staff retained my credit card as I made my way to the airport. I had to make a u turn to collect my credit card which was very much inconvenient. I'm planning to switch to another group of hotel operators (probably Hilton, Concorde or Pan Pacific) because I'm sure pissed with how IHG handled my case here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klyong2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear klyong2502

Thank you for your review about your experience with us, I am very sorry to read your comments and disappointed I was not able to speak with you prior to your departure and understand about the communication you had with our IHG Rewards membership centre. I would be grateful if you could contact me so I can further investigate with our corporate office on this issue. Please could you contact me via info.sincq@ihg.com

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#60 of 319 in Singapore
4,689 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#65 of 319 in Singapore
3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,309 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#70 of 319 in Singapore
6,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 2 Magazine Road, Singapore 059573, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £102 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Singapore, Clarke Quay with free Breakfast and Wi-Fi offeredThe new Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time, located minutes away from Central Business District and Clarke Quay, the trendiest riverside nightspots and dining options.Our great location offers accessibility to Singapore’s major attractions included Chinatown, Sentosa Island, Universal Studio, Gardens by the Bay, Suntec International Convention Centre and the world-famous shopping district of Orchard Road, we are near the mouth of the Singapore River, just a short 30 minutes drive from Changi Airport, 5 minutes walk from the speedy MRT Subway train, Clarke Quay and Chinatown Stations.Relax in one of our 442 brand new and well-designed rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows. Kick start your day with our free Express Start Breakfast or Grab and Go option and stay productive with our free high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Experience our high quality bedding, have a restful night with a choice of soft and firm pillows, have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a rain shower to recharge after a long day and have everything in control with our self service laundry facility.Our hotel offers bright and airy landscaped social spaces, rooftop fitness room and 40 metres swimming pool overlooking Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing