We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Nearby Hotels
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$835
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$522
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$426
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Naumi Hotel(Singapore)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,176)
Filter reviews
2,176 results
Traveller rating
849
1,027
231
38
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
1,027
231
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolclarke quayrooms are smalldiy laundryhi expressminute walkwalking distance to chinatownmodern hotelshort stayfree breakfastthe breakfast areanoodlesbars and restaurantsnight lifestayed here for nightsmrt stationsbreakfast spread
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,657 - 1,662 of 2,176 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a brand new hotel at that time (we stayed on April 2014), almost taxi drivers did not know where the hotel is. If you are looking for a small budget hotel, then this is the right choice. I stayed with my hubby and kid. The room feels really dense. Not a family typical hotel. It suites for business person or someone who wants to explore the whole city, get out after breakfast and back just for sleeping. The plus point, they have a self service laundry room. Also it only took 5-10 minutes to walk to Clark Quay food centre.

Room Tip: Choose a room headed to another room, less noisy
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaHadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear MayaHadi

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to review the Hotel as well as being one of our first guests.

Holiday Inn Express is a select service hotel offering you great value, location, free WIFI, free Express Start Breakfast, comfortable beds & linen and a great shower.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is new, modern and functional - but it is a budget version. The room was small but well laid out and the internet fast and easy to access. No iron available to the room to smooth my shirt for the next day but you can walk to the guest laundry where there are irons. The bed was comfortable but the air-conditioning was cold - and no matter what temperature I set on the control it kept dropping back to freezing. With light bedding this did not make for a comfortable night. It was just a one night stop-over so the room facing inward to the courtyard was not an issue but could be if you were staying longer and wanted some outlook. Most rooms do face out so good to ask for one. Breakfast is included but don't expect a sumptuous feast. A few basic items however provided enough to start the day. The restaurant staff had an air of disinterest. One stood most of the time i was there texting on her phone, another put an empty salt shaker back into the centre of the table (I'd put it out to show it was completely empty).

The location is convenient to Clark Quay for restaurants and bars but a bit of a walk to the MRT. Would I stay again? Maybe, it was certainly clean tidy and efficient, but there are some options in Singapore at this price that may not be as new but have good service ratings and a little more style.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Anwil51

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to review us.

We are a select service Hotel and the Holiday Inn Express concept aims to provide our guests with a hassle-free stay with the comfort and convenience of great rooms, great location, free Express start Breakfast & free Wi-Fi - all at a value price.

Our Express Breakfast Bar includes four hot dishes (2 international & 2 local ), cold selection - 3 cereals, 3 cut fruits, 2 whole fruits, 2 varieties of yogurt, bakery selections with danishes , muffins, croissants, white & wholemeal toast. Hot drinks include tea, speciality coffee & chocolate. For the convenience of our guests, we have the Grab & Go option as well.

I have noted your comments on the air conditioning and the service team at breakfast and will certainly pick this up, appreciate the feedback. Certainly hope to welcome you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from 5 night stay at HI. This wAs my 5th visit to Singapore but my daughters first. Booked the hotel before it was open based on location and price.
Check in and out were efficient and quick, receptionist took time to explain pool hours, breakfast options, laundry etc when we arrived.
The location of the hotel is excellent, 5 min walk to Clarke Quay and MRT, easy for. Hop On Hop Off bus. Loved the layout of the compact room although it could certainly do with more storage space. The pool and terrace area are under utilised due to lack of seats, sun beds and umbrellas for shade. Shame as the view was good.
Our room was on the 7th floor under the pool/gym. It was not very clean on arrival - dust all over the kettle area, glass marks on desk and in bathroom which never changed during our 5 day stay. On 2 days the room was not made up although this was rectified as soon as I asked but again towels were changed, bed made but no hoovering or cleaning done. We found a sock under the bed from a previous occupant on our last day which only shows how little cleaning is carried out even between guests.
My biggest problem with the hotel though is how noisy the room was. We could hear our neighbours - singing in e shower, brushing teeth to name only 2 things, as well as traffic noise. To make matters worse every time the gym was being used we were subject to impact noise. I reported this to reception who apologised saying that no one had complained before. The manager asked me to let him know when we could hear the noise so he could come and see what the problem was but he did not respond to my phone calls.
Would I recommend this hotel? Only if house keeping improves and room is away from gym.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear travelfan2727

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed exploring Singapore and found check in and out efficient. I have noted your comments on the guest room cleanliness and have followed up with the Housekeeping team here to ensure this does not happen again, please accept our sincere apologies. I will also pick up with the Manager you spoke to regarding the noise issues and have the sound acoustics checked. Thank you for bringing these to my attention. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night while visiting Singapore, the room was small but very very nice and well furnished. The toilet also has a sliding door looking onto the bed, absolutely useless but cool!
The room shows the same high level of the hotel, clean and fully equipped, the bed is really comfortable.
Moreover the position is great in case you want to move by metro, you can reach both Clarke Quay and Chinatown stations in 10-15 minutes of walk.
Also close to the Clarke Quay area, full of restaurants and bars.
The only two drawbacks are:
- the breakfast is average and you have a quite poor selection of food
- a lot of rooms (including ours) are positioned arond a balcony that overlooks the breakfast area, it means that starting from 6:30am onward you will hear a lot of diish noises coming from there. Poor quality of sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the breakfast area
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea83Chiara87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Andrea83Chaiara87

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and taking the time to review us. I was pleased to read you liked the Hotel design, cleanliness and comfort of the rooms including the bed.

At Holiday Inn Express we give you great value by including free WIFI and free Express Start Breakfast which four hot dishes (2 international & 2 local ), cold selection - 3 cereals, 3 cut fruits, 2 whole fruits, 2 varieties of yogurt, bakery selections with danishes , muffins, croissants, white & wholemeal toast. Hot drinks include tea, speciality coffee & chocolate. For the convenience of our guests, we have the Grab & Go option as well.

I am sorry you found your room noisy and will certainly follow up on that, thank you again for the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our group of 4 have just returned from our 1st family trip to Singapore, which began well with our stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Check-in staff were friendly and quick, a big help when arriving at the hotel at 1.30am with a 7 & 9 year old! Only quibble there would be that we were first assigned 2 rooms on almost opposite sides of the hotel - not an intelligent thing to do when they could see the ages of our children. But sorted out very quickly.

Yes, the rooms, bathrooms and wardrobe are quite tight but are well-designed and laid out to maximise space - my husband & I were still able to unpack all our toiletries for our 4 nights there. Good water pressure and great shower heads. We were able to work out and manage the air-conditioning system and found it worked well.

We found the breakfast to be perfectly adequate, with slight amendments each day with regards to the Asian dishes on offer. And let's not forget - it's complimentary!

Pool is fine - not busy when we used it each day late afternoon, and lovely at night with the nearby lights. A suggestion would be more tables and chairs or sunlounges. We didn't use the gym so can't comment there.

Great to have self-service laundry, and very helpful to have a note-changer in the laundry so that you can have the right amount of change for the machines.

We didn't venture to the MRT stations, but the hotel is very close to Clarke Quay - literally a 5 minute walk round the corner and across the overpass. We found that taxi-drivers didn't have a problem with the location of the hotel as long as we always told them it was on Magazine Rd.

My only complaint would be that our rooms had a strange musty smell from the time we arrived, which I eventually tracked down to the bedding, particularly pillows/pillowcases, which had a distinctly pungent aroma of stale sweat. And that was the case for all 8 pillows across both rooms. Apart from that, the rooms seemed quite clean and were comfortable.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Holiday Inn Express, as long as you understand it's not luxurious resort-style accommodation. What it is, is clean, comfortable and fantastic value, especially for Singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markad6971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Markad6971

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay; I was really pleased to read you enjoyed your first visit to Singapore and that you choose to stay with us.

Delighted to read you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast, comfort of rooms & facilities - I have noted the linen, room allocation and will review, also we are looking at additional pool furniture.

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews