We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #50 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We are here for a long business trip of 5 weeks, all in all from outside hotel looks pretty and new. Rooms are a little bit small, but enough space for 1 person. Work desk is really small...hardly enough place for the laptop and some paperwork!
Rooms have really thin walls, if neighbor prefers to watch TV little bit louder or decides to shower at 2am you will be awake for sure.

All of us are really disappointed of the service and staff. Beginning in the morning, its hard to find an empty table at the breakfast, because nobody is cleaning the used tables.
Latest 2pm all towels at the pool are taken and nobody refills them.
Also closing time of the pool is a little bit early (7pm whirlpools and 9pm pool). I think for Singapore standard this is way to early. Experience from other hotels is pool opening time minimum 10pm. This is really annoying to us, because we usually work till 9pm.

Location of the hotel is great! Clarke Quay, Chinatown, Marina Bay, everything in walking distance.
Thats the big plus on this hotel, thats why it got "Average" rating.

Conclusion: If you really want to stay in this area, invest 30$ more and you will get much better hotels in this area.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the elevators as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_111190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Mike_111190

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to review us. I was disappointed to see we got a mixed review from you and please accept my apologies for this; I have noted your point regarding breakfast and will follow up with this as well as the pool towels being replenished, which we do a number of times during the day and I am sorry we had ran out at that time.

I hope we can regain your faith in us and welcome you back again.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is very new, clean and modern. According how Holiday Inn Express Hotels are, don't expect great service but the staff is always friendly.
It is close to many sightseeing points in walking distance. Don't listen to the locals saying that "it is too far". It takes approximately 15 minutes to reach the raffles place or you can take a nice walk along the river.
It was not less than expected which is why I am very happy with this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Numinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Numichen

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for leaving us a review. I was pleased to read that we exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel which is in easily walking distance of a number of areas!

Look forward to welcoming you back

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel be only for one night using my high rewards and on checkin there was no problems no fuss, the room was on the smaller size but trust me in the job I do I have stayed in smaller, this room was fantastic with floor to ceiling wall to wall window with a great view , only problem I had the electric went off but I informed reception and in a couple of mins a guy came up and sorted it, the shower was fantastic wish I had one in my bathroom, breakfast is free but unfortunately I woke up late as I had been out the night before drinking wine, all in all fantastic room and great service totally recommend this hotel and location is brilliant for the local taxis buses and mrt, thank you holiday inn for a nice nights stay if I return to Singapore n the future I will definitely book in again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank rodders2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Rodders2014

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for giving us a fantastic five star review! Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Member as well.

We smiled at your review (been there done that) sorry you missed Breakfast, but next time even if you get down just before we close you can Grab & Go. Thank you for your comments about the room and the shower.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Singapore next time!

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The building itself is very funky, huge windows on the rooms, a lovely lap pool on the roof and all outdoor corridors. Its better than most HIExpress properties. Good free breakfast etc.

Staff are a bit rubbish. I left a key at reception for a friend to pick up and they lost it. Took 4 members of staff to find it. This is just nonsense. Also, they checked me in and gave me a room that had not been cleaned. No big deal but it did take a while to sort it out. Singapore service in general seems to be terrible. Not sure why.

Location is fine. Calling it Clarke Quay is a bit naughty as its probably a 10 - 15 walk to the actual centre of Clarke Quay.

But its a reasonable choice in Singapore

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Marraminga

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to leave us a review. I was pleased to read you comments on the design of the Hotel and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us including our free Express Start Breakfast.

Please accept my apologies for the confusion and inconvenience caused by our Reception team; I have certainly followed up with this.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Hard to fault this place really. I had read the rooms were small so was a bit cautious, but the place was fantastic. Clean, fresh, modern, handy to Clarke Quay, handy to Chinatown... it really was great. Yes the rooms are a little on the small side, but far from tiny. Beds were comfy, shower/bathroom clean and modern and the hotel as a whole is really very, very nice. The pool on the rooftop is pretty awesome and the gym (although small) has everything you need if you like a workout. The breakfast each morning was mainly standard fare, but perfect for a big pig out before you head out for the day.... toast, cereal, fruit, sausages, eggs, rice, noodles, muffins, croissants - really all you need! Thoroughly enjoyed staying at the HIE and would highly recommend it and would definitely go back if we were to return (and I am pretty fussy when it comes to hotels!!). 5 minute walk to Clarke Quay, 8 min walk to Clarke Quay train station and 10 min walk to Chinatown.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robdave72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Robdave72

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to give us a fantastic five star review!

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations; thank you for your comments on our Express Start Breakfast, room design, location and cleanliness.

Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Singapore.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. For me, as a solo traveller, it ticked all the boxes. Great location adjacent to Clarke Quay and close to shopping malls and public transport
The hotel is very modern and the room, albeit quite small are similarly very modern, clean and functional. The bed was comfortable and I had a quiet nights sleep.
There is quite a beautiful garden and swimming pool and gymnasium on the roof which I enjoyed.
I was was delighted with the breakfast. As it was included in the tariff I was expecting cereal and toast only. Instead it was a reasonably comprehensive buffet.
My only small gripe was that my room was not ready when I checked in. Given that it was 5 pm I found this surprising
Interestingly check out time is 1200 which is generous
I would stay again

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank trevhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Trevhz

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to give us a fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read of your stay and in particular the comfort of your room, our Express Start Breakfast and the rooftop swimming pool and fitness room.

I am sorry that your room was not ready when you initially arrived, the Hotel was particularly busy over that period, and I have picked this up with the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A nice hotel in a good location, a short walk to Chinatown. Stayed 3 nights as this was a part of our 2 Centre Holiday (9 nights in Holiday Inn, Penang). Although the rooms were on the small size, they were new, compact and clean. The staff and service were excellent.

The best surprise is found on the Rooftop Level - Skydeck, an open air swimming pool and a jacuzzi! What a spectacular view!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lily1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Lily1908

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke and for taking the time to give a great review! I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit to Singapore and found us a great find! We love our pool on the rooftop as well and the view is wonderful.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 317 in Singapore
4,463 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#63 of 317 in Singapore
3,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 2 Magazine Road, Singapore 059573, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £92 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Singapore, Clarke Quay with free Breakfast and Wi-Fi offeredThe new Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time, located minutes away from Central Business District and Clarke Quay, the trendiest riverside nightspots and dining options.Our great location offers accessibility to Singapore’s major attractions included Chinatown, Sentosa Island, Universal Studio, Gardens by the Bay, Suntec International Convention Centre and the world-famous shopping district of Orchard Road, we are near the mouth of the Singapore River, just a short 30 minutes drive from Changi Airport, 5 minutes walk from the speedy MRT Subway train, Clarke Quay and Chinatown Stations.Relax in one of our 442 brand new and well-designed rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows. Kick start your day with our free Express Start Breakfast or Grab and Go option and stay productive with our free high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Experience our high quality bedding, have a restful night with a choice of soft and firm pillows, have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a rain shower to recharge after a long day and have everything in control with our self service laundry facility.Our hotel offers bright and airy landscaped social spaces, rooftop fitness room and 40 metres swimming pool overlooking Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing