We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy tropical wood, fast wifi but not in the room”
Review of Perak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Perak Hotel
Ranked #161 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff very friendly. In the room is an apology letter attached on the door regarding the beautiful wooden floors left in the original state after renovation. Management apologizes about the POSSIBLE noise of other guests walking in the rooms above. Indeed it was noisy. One should never sacrifice comfort for old tropical wooden floors. Tile joints in bathroom black by mold. Fast internet but not in rooms. What a pity.

Room Tip: check the reception by phone before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here in July on three separate occasions. We loved coming back to this hotel.
The management were always friendly and helpful. We left our baggage there for the day when we
had to catch a train at night. We had a fantastic breakfast with lots of choice and we thought
the decor was charming. We cannot understand why this hotel has been given bad reviews.
Yes, our room was small but it was clean and had everything we needed in it. It is located in
Little Indian which is very atmospheric and near to many sights. We would highly recommend this
hotel for value for money in Singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank dancingjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 4 and stayed in Perak Hotel for 5 nights in 2 twin rooms but felt like we were staying with a distant family and not in a hotel :-)...
The atmosphere is extremely friendly and cozy. Everyone there makes you feel special. The staff went out of their way to assist us. I have to mention Ms. Jiawen. She was the best of all and was there at all times :-)... No amount of appreciation can be expressed by the hospitality that we received. Thank you Jiawen. Thank you Perak. Keep up the good work and I will be recommending you to all my friends who wish to visit Singapore :-)..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Bhakti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Budget hotel in Little India. Walking distance to MRT. The rooms are very small but clean. Friendly staff. Free breakfast.
And most importantly (at least from my point of view) you could walk to Mustafa's - the 24 hr shopping centre.

And I wish to add pls be beware of the taxi drivers, the most rudest and illiterate in the world. Avoid them at all cost. Walk or use the MRT. I nearly got assaulted (I kid you not) when I questioned the start up fare which seemed high.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank YuhanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Perak. Frankly, I don't understand people with unrealistic expectations of modest price accommodation! As tourists, we really only needed a bed, a bathroom and maybe breakfast. All these were well supplied at the Perak Hotel. The hotel didn't claim to supply wifi in the rooms, only in the foyer. In fact wifi was fine in our room so that was a bonus! The bed was comfortable, although the pillows were a bit springy for our liking, and the cotton blanket was not quite enough with the a/c running at times. It took us a little while to get the temperature setting right. In fact we found air conditioning everywhere in Singapore and Malaysia colder than necessary - they must have cheaper power charges than Australia! The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Rooms were clean and serviced daily. It was good to find a safe in the room which meant we didn't need to worry about passports. We thought the mural on the wall adjoining our window was hilarious and a great way to overcome the disadvantages of being an older building in an area undergoing 'progress'. It is convenient to so many restaurants and Indian markets as well as many other tourist destinations. We walked everywhere! At present the street is closed to traffic not far from the hotel while MRT construction is continuing but it isn't closed to pedestrians. The only thing I need to add is that Sunday is the 'day off' for all building and construction workers in Singapore. Many of those are itinerant workers of Indian origin and it's hardly surprising that they flock to 'Little India' and the streets are packed, mainly with polite young men. Not a problem, just hard to find a taxi!

Room Tip: Wifi is not available in all rooms but it is in the foyer and dining room and is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank emjayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

With original floorboards, friendly and genuine staff and proximity to the best of Little India and two MRT's, this was an awesome place to stay for our recent trip to Singapore.

We were less than a minute's walk from Dickson Road and Mayo Street where restaurants abound, ten minutes walk to the bargain shopping at Bugis Junction, 5 minutes walk to Tekka Centre for authentic hawker cuisine and less than fifteen minutes walk to Mustafa Shopping Centre and the 24 hour bargains therein. Plus, the major public and private bus lines were four minutes from our doorstep and Little India MRT train station was barely 7 minutes walk away.

The staff were so friendly and called us when we missed breakfast one morning to ask if we would like them to keep open for us (we were going out hence not popping downstairs) and they were very knowledgeable about the local attractions and free with suggestions of where to go for food, culture and fun.

We were not bothered at all by the fact this gorgeous older property has no elevator but if this a concern then you should ask for first floor accommodation. We were on the third (top) floor and enjoyed balcony views of the iconic mosque across the way and gentle breezes as we had our morning coffee and simple breakfast.

If you like charming accommodation close to food and culture this is a very inexpensive and comfortable place to stay. We would stay there again (unless we won the Lotto and could stay at the Ritz!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank hickles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

front desk 1/5 (actually they dont deserve even 1)
room 2/5
cleanliness 3/5 (there were stains all over the bedsheet)
location 2/5

overall: i will not going back to this hotel. it is not worth the money at all! there were so many nice hotel around this 'so-called-hotel', and with the same price!

- : service! we asked for an extra bed because they won't let my 3years and 4years kids to stay in 1 room with me, they asked me to get another room! and after we checked out, i got an email saying that i 'no-show' at this hotel and they will charge my credit card for the full amount of our staying. i had to call them and they had me waiting in the line for like 15mins!

once was enough man!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasyatiedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#129 of 317 in Singapore
1,025 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#171 of 317 in Singapore
339 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#149 of 317 in Singapore
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#186 of 317 in Singapore
35 reviews
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#181 of 317 in Singapore
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perak Hotel

Address: 12 Perak Road, Singapore 208133, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £58 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Perak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perak Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing