We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scarlet Singapore
Nearby Hotels
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$529
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marina Mandarin Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,661)
Filter reviews
1,661 results
Traveller rating
705
659
186
67
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
659
186
67
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub streetboutique hotelrooftop barann siang hillmaxwell hawker centerexecutive roomoutdoor jacuzzishop housesgreat boutiquerooms are smallno windowquiet streetbars and restaurantsmrt stationslocal foodfantastic locationfood court
Filter
Updating list...
938 - 943 of 1,661 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from 14th to 17th April and loved this hotel. Check-in staff were friendly and helpful as were all staff during our stay. Booked an Executive room with balcony and it was exactly as pictured on hotel website. Our room did overlook a multi storey car park but didn't bother us at all as was still quiet at night and not busy. The bathroom was small but lovely and the shower was excellent. The location was ideal for our stay as just around the corner from some great bars and resteraunts and only 5 mins walk to Chinatown.
I will definitely stay at The Scarlet again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a smaller hotel with more character than the large chains. The rooftop bar is a must too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Kay C
Happy 20th Wedding Anniversary! Thank you for choosing The Scarlet to celebrate this very special day and we're all thrilled that you've thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and glad to have been your gracious host. Please do contact us directly for future stays with us and we'll be glad to handle them personally. Wishing you both many more loving years together!

Graciously yours
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Hotel advertise itself as a romantic destination for couples. Hotel style and decor are actually in line with advertise. Hotel belongs to SLH Small Luxury Hotel that is one of my favourite guide for hotels around the world.
The Scarlet is conveniently located in Chinatown, just out of the crowd. Reservation was fine and compliant with our request as we were arriving from completely different places at different times. I gave them a ring before and a mail and they carefully attended my girlfriend who checked in earlier.
Rooms (standard ones) are definitely small, bathrooms quite fair and showers good in size and efficiency. We extended our stay and we had to go through the Slh website to get the advantages related to memebership (why not through the hotel itself? this is Slh silly way!) and we got an upgrade in a room not specially larger and situated near a noisy installation (door was cutting the noise efficiently though). The REALLY bad side of new room was a double larger bed with two separate mattress getting separated easily: is this a romantic for thing for a couple of lovers?!?? I take one star from points for this reason. By the way we experienced elsewhere a very cleaver mattress topper that transform a double mattress in a steady base for a double bed.......such simple solution...
We had a drink in the evening on the rooftop terrace and an icecream tasting dishwashing soap that was changed at once (not a nice experience anyhow, it may happen but..).
Overall in the expensive Singapore a fair price/quality ratio and we could go back although we may like to try some other location/hotel.
There are a few restaurants in the back road at few hundred meters distance where one can have a western dinner skipping the Chinatown food street.

Room Tip: We heard and we have seen several rooms have no window. Ask and confirm before booking.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Dear Carlo S

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to share this detailed review with us.
Our room sizes on the average are between 16-20sqm. Premium rooms and the suites are bigger and more spacious between 24-43sqm. We will gladly extend any SLH privilages that you are entitled for, for any extension of stays with us. However, we are unable to accumulate the number of nights stay with us for your future points redemption. We wil also be looking into alternatives for mattress topper and hope to improve in this area. Allow us to sincerely apologize for your unpleasant experience at Breeze and have since caution the relevant department on dish washing. We hope that your experiences have not marred your impression of The Scarlet and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Graciously yours
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed over for a night in the Premium Room during Valentine's Day. Absolutely loved the decor and feel of the hotel. This is the hotel you will want to stay in for a romantic night with your partner. Polite staff at the counter makes checking in a breeze.

Couple of bad points though. Mini fridge wasn't working and it took 2 trips by the technician to rectify the problem. That was a problem I was willing to overlook.

What I couldn't turn a blind eye to was that the housekeeper opened the door to our room without even knocking to check if anyone was inside first. What if we just showered and the housekeeper just walked in like that? That's what brought my ratings down.

Didn't bother making a complain though but I thought there people here should know about it. Other than that, we had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Beds were comfortable and shower amenities were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloud2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Cloud2609

Thank you for choosing The Scarlet as your preferred choice of accommodation for your Valentine's day celebration. We regret to learn of your experiences with our housekeeping staff and malfunction of the minibar and would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have since fine tune our procedures and do look forward to you next visit with us!

Graciously yours
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Elegance and romance pore out of everything at The Scarlet. It's location on the edge of Chinatown makes it close to everything but then when you get inside the lobby it's like stepping into another world. We got in well past midnight but we sent an email before our arrival letting the hotel know of the late check in. They were waiting and ready for us when we got there. Our room was on the second floor just past the outdoor spa area. While on the smaller side for Western standards on hotel rooms, the size and amenities for Singapore hotel rooms was outstanding! The bed was very comfortable - 4 huge pillows - and a wonderful duvet cover. Bathroom had walk-in shower with adjustable shower head from hand hold to wall hold and plenty of hot water! (And cold water for rinsing off after being outside for a few hours) Newspapers every morning in the delivery basket on our door and turn down service at night.
To top it all off, the balcony off of our room was such an added bonus, we were at times debating whether or not we'd rather just spend some time in the room! We were treated like family - like royalty - it was superb.

If you come to Singapore and are expecting peace and quiet and no noise at night, you're delusional. This is a city whose energy never ceases so of course there are noises to accompany that. Yes there were city noises (cars, occasional trucks, maybe a drunk tourist stumbling down the street singing Gangnam style at the top of his lungs) but those are not something over which the hotel has any control. And believe me; they were more sensitive to it all than we were. There was a group of loud vacationers who were enjoying the roof top spa area late into the night and the hotel was right on it the minute they started to get too loud.

Do yourself a favor – stay at the Scarlet, visit the rooftop bar and restaurant, expect amazing. Don’t forget to indulge in a Singapore Sling!

Word to the wise though: Money exchangers on that side of town are few and far between so go into Chinatown (around MRT station) to get what you need. Or find a Western Union. There’s a great food court area out the front door of the hotel and about two blocks over and is great for cheap quick meals. (Walk out of the lobby, turn left to the road –Ann Siang Road – at the top of the street, turn right and follow it down. Maxwell food center is on the right hand side.)

Room Tip: Room 207 - it's on the corner and is near the roof spa. Also a second set of bathrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Dani O
It is always a pleasure to read such detailed review from our guests and we really appreciate you taking time to give us your thoughts to share. The Scarlet is where one should be if you like to be away from the Orchard Road area during your vacation! We also have lots to offer in Chinatown. From temples to night markets and lots of local delights to our beautiful rooftop Breeze Bar. Glad you have indulged in a Singapore Sling and liked it! Do visit us soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future reservations and we'll be happy to handle them personally. Our gracious team are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Gracious yours
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Just got back from a 4 nights stay in this hotel. What a beautiful hotel! The decor and furnishings really are special and there is a real sense of luxury. The staff - smart as a button and polite as you can get - were excellent and only too willing to help at all times. As I had read on Tripadvisor, our room was small but not prohibitively so. There was sufficient space for the twin beds and space to move around plus a bathroom so there was no issue there. There was no window with a view in the room. As a refurbished building, our room had rafters which added to the quirkiness of the room and a high window we could not see out of but which allowed plentiful light. The carpet was a little tired but clean as was the rest of the room very clean, but a nice surprise was the mini-bar prices. $9 for a Tiger beer? No more expensive than my home city. The location of the hotel on the edge of Chinatown is ideal for Asian markets/bakeries/food halls but without being immersed in the tired and 'fragrant' areas. Ultimately, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Can't help on this one - our room was a Twin Deluxe and was fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussiePomchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear AussiePomchick

Sounds like you've had a great stopover in Singapore! Pleased to learn that you liked our hotel decor and that our warm, hospitable team have extended their assistance to you and to your satisfaction. Glad that you felt comfortable in our unique room with skylight. As we are in plans for refurbishment soon, we hope that you'll enjoy the newly laid carpets the next time you visit us! We look forward to your next visit with us!

Graciously yours
Carolina Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews