We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Precious gem at Singapore's Civic District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #52 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Precious gem at Singapore's Civic District”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a staycation weekend here. The elegent and regal decor and atmosphere reminded of 19th century Europe. The rooftop bar and the cosy jacuzzi gives an extra bonus. The staff and concierge are extremely efficient and friendly. Lots of good food around maxwell road, amoy street, tanjong pagar road and chinatown. The little pastry store at ground floor Antoinette has great macarons and looks like Little France in Singapore. A note to the management, after the hotel renovations, please DO NOT change the decor, as it is major selling point. Will visit again after re-opening in 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dominictom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear dominictom

It's always a booster to see such wonderful review on Tripadvisor! We appreciate you taking time to give us your many observations and valuable feedback. Do check our website fo rthe latest updates on our refurbishment. Have a fantastic day ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back home at The Scarlet!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    594
    169
    61
    40
See reviews for
90
741
170
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

it exceeded my expectations. Perfectly located (near the famous Maxwell Road Hawker Food center and Ann Siang Hill) and a great value for money. The service was great, rooms are ok. Try Breeze restaurant on the rooftop and

Room Tip: choose the room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REDDOT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear REDDOT_13

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us a fabulous review on Tripadvisor! We are pleased to learn that our services have exceeded you expectations and will continue to strive and excel to the next level! We look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet after our refurbishment in December 2013 !

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have travelled a lot and this is amongst the finest hotels I have been in with exceptional staff and customer service. We arrived early from a long flight and was greeted with the porter who ran to the cab to help us with our bags, reception staff who couldn't have been friendlier - they rushed thru the cleaning of our room so we could use it earlier, they gave us water whilst we waited and lots of information about the area.
It is a small boutique hotel with beautifully appointed rooms in opulent style - reminded me of a mini Raffles, yet at a fraction of the cost. Range of quality toiletries, complimentary water, ice, slippers, fluffy towels and bathrobes etc. They have a jacuzzi and gym too. Beats hands down the faceless modern hotels. TV is a little large for the room though which is quite tiny although I've been in smaller!
Located in the middle of China Town it is a great location. Plenty to do in the area and MRT nearby for other trips.
Highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: Choose luxury room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Paullaw

Thank you for taking time to share this wonderful review and for recognizing the quality of our services and the area around us! We truly appreciate you taking time to give us your many observations and valuable feedback. As we will be closed for refurbishment soon, we look forward to your next reservation with us from December 2013. Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime for your future reservations and our friendly staffs wil be delighted to be of assistance!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Two years ago I stayed at the Scarlet at the recommendation of a friend. I wrote a review on TA, and more importantly didn’t return, UNTIL a few weeks ago. I’ve heard enough positive that I thought it was worth the try.

Honestly, I have no idea what caused it, but the staff this time was terrific. Helpful; friendly; generous with time; courteous; always there. I also had the good fortune to twice meet Carolina Lee
the Front Office Manager. She is a delight, and extended the hotel’s services repeatedly.

Oddly, or maybe coincidentally, I had the exact same room as before (I complained about the size before). But given the positive mood of the entire hotel, I really didn’t mind this time. Maybe that says more about me than the hotel.

Anyway, the hotel is nicely situated in the Ann Sang Hill / Club Street ‘district’. That puts it close to social activities (restaurants and bars), and close to the City (I walked there several times), and close to the Maxwell Road Food Court (for a quick, good, and reasonably priced bite to eat).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Andy H
It is indeed a pleasure reading this review and to learn that you have chosen to give us another chance after your last experience some time ago and glad you've had a more positive stay this time. A pleasure meeting you while you were here! Please be assured that my team and I will always be here to serve you to the best of our abilities, to ensure that you feel at home! Noted on your preference in room size and will be in your profile. As we will be going through refurbishment from July 21 to December 2013, please do write me an email or contact any of our friendly and efficient reservation staff who will be around to answer any queries at any time for your future stays with us. We look forward to your continual support! Wishing you a fabulous day ahead!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is located in very good area for exploring Chinatown. So here's the but.
I had booked a room with expedia, a upgraded room with 2 single beds and a balcony. I had read reviews that said even if you get the executive room it does not mean you always get a window. I did not want to be stuck in a room without a window so I made sure to book a room with a balcony. When we arrived I was told they did not have our room with 2 beds because the person in our room had extended their stay. I explained that I booked a room with 2 beds. My sister and I do not like sleeping in the same bed and that it was not acceptable for 1 bed. They put us in a room below ground, no balcony, and narrow window at the ceiling level (not really a window because you could not even touch it must less see out of it. They crammed a cot into the room wedged into the bed. The only way we could have gotten in and out of the bed would have been climbing in from the foot of the bed/cot. After asking to speak to the manager 4 times and being moved to 2 different rooms and spending the first hour and a half of our 1st day in Singapore begging for the room we paid for she called. She asked what she could do to make things right and I told her she could give us the 2 bedroom suite that we had been shown earlier. The staff wanted us to take the suite in place of our deluxe room with a balcony and my son and daughter-in-laws room ( they also were given a room in the basement not the room they booked). After the manager checked to make sure the suite was not booked she had us moved to the suite and gave my son the room we had been shown with the window near the ceiling. It all worked out and we had a very beautiful suite, the manager and the staff were always polite and we enjoyed staying there very much. I just don't know what they were thinking. They wanted us to be satisfied with the rooms they gave us because someone else extended their stay????? They did end up taking care of us and I really did love the hotel, just not the run around.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a balcony if you want a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear paulette p

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. Allow us to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused on your arrival day and thank you for your patience. We regret that that rooms assigned to you upon check in was not up to your expectation but enjoyed your stay after all was settled. As a boutique hotel converted from conserved building like The Scarlet, most of our rooms are of different sizes and configurations dispite the room category. Most deluxe rooms are on the first level with skylight while more spacious with high ceiling. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your future reservation with us and i'll be happy to recommend the room type that most suit your preference. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Scarlet in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here for a night during my recent business trip to Singapore. The hotel is right next to the Maxwell Hawker Center. Staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. Rooms are very nicely decorated.

The only draw back is that the room is very small. It's actually similar to other boutique hotels that I have stayed before in the China Town area. The bathroom, however, is of decent size compared to the ones within the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Antony_Yiu

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for sharing this wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and also the area around us. As we are converted from conserved building, most of our rooms are of similiar sizes expect the Premium rooms and the Suites will be more spacious with bathtubs as well. Perhaps you would like to try any of these room category during your next trip to Singapore! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and i'll be happy to handle your reservations personally. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a terrific, quirky little hotel that perfectly suits our non-corporate personalities. We were welcomed at our early morning arrival and every effort was made to make us feel at home whilst we waited for our room to be ready. The staff are excellent and the location is terrific - close to China Town and not far from everywhere else.
They are closing for renovations soon - but we hope it is just as good, if not better, when it re-opens.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Bruce U

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us on Tripadvisor! We are delighted that we have provided excellent service during your stay and will continue to strive and excel to the next service level. We wil be closed for refurbishment from July 21 to December 2013 and hope to welcome you back with us again thereafter!

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#108 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Furama City Centre
#274 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing