We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #55 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Design Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very good location, Chinatown, food market and cosy bars and restaurants are just around the corner.
Interesting design, with nice choice of furnitures and decorations, lobby area in particular.
Rooms are clean and comfortable but not very big and some of them have a sky windows only..but very comfy bed!
Nice bar on the roof top, good breakfast food selection.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Disappointing fact: no smoking room was actually stinking of cigarette.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper window if you are think you might suffer a little skylight ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolicchia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Paoliccia S

Thank you for your genuine review. We regret that the room assigned to you has a stench of cigarette smell. The Scarlet has a no smoking in the room policy and our guests are always being reminded of it upon check in and the cleaning charges that we impose for smoking in the room. Unfortunately, the charges does not deter some guests. Aside from this, we hope that you have had an enjoyable stay with us! We look forward to you next visit with us!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    608
    173
    63
    41
See reviews for
95
759
176
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at The Scarlet for five nights on business. Here are my thoughts:
- Location is good. Close to Chinatown, CBD and Clarke Quay (all walkable).
- Hotel itself is in good shape. Clean with interesting decor.
- My room, a terrace suite, was large, clean and inviting.
- The breakfast was not worth the money nor was the quality good.

Would I stay here again: Yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Scott P
We appreciate you taking time off your busy schedule to give us your thoughts. The room you were in is one of the favourite rooms amongst our regular business travellers! Please do not hesitate to write us an email to request for the same room on your next visit! Your valuable feedback of the breakfast quality will be reviewed by the management. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your patience and understanding. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Scarlet!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed ourselves here. It's great to stay in a characterful hotel near Chinatown - previously we've stayed in more standard hotel accommodation in Singapore and this was much more in a boutique style and had a flavour of old Singapore.
The room was very pleasant and had a great atmosphere, it was a shame that it was so dark as we were in a room with no windows apart from a skylight.
We really enjoyed spending the afternoons in the rooftop jacuzzi - a really nice touch.
The front of house staff were very friendly at all times.
For us it was the proximity to Chinatown and in particular the Maxwell Food Court that really made the stay special - really easy to get to the subway and to get around. Fantastic food just down the road - we'd stay again just for this reason!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Nicola S
Thank you for writing us this wonderful review. A Singapore's first boutique hotel, we hope that you've enjoyed the hotel's character and style! Most of our rooms on the first floor are more spacious and can accommodate a baby cot or extra bed. Rooms on the second floor will be a little tight for the room category that you have booked for. As all our rooms are of different size and configuration,do write us an email for your future reservations and we'll be happy to arrange a more spacious room room with windows for you. We look forward to your continual support!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanahoe
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

By comparison to other reviews I must say that we were a little disappointed with our one night room only stay booked through Agoda. I reckon we were probably given one of the poorest rooms deep in a basement area below street level with two tiny windows at the top of a wall. We stayed in 5 hotels in various parts of SE Asia over the preceding three weeks and unfortunately this was the smallest bed by far. This hotel was also by far the most expensive and exclusive. That was annoying.

The hotel is undoubtedly quirky and finished to a high standard. The staff are very good but we found the incessant chorus of "good mornings and good afternoons" each time we entered reception to be very off putting. The staff enthusiasm at seeing you is very contrived and needs to be toned down dramatically. This is an issue for management and not individual staff to address.

When we checked in we were welcomed warmly but it turns out that we were not made aware of many of the hotel facilities. I did not even realise there was a roof top restaurant or gym.

However, we will be eternally grateful for the shower facilities provided to us on the evening we were departing Singapore. We checked out as normal at 10 am but returned to the hotel circa 7pm for a welcome shower and change of clothes. This made the stay at the Scarlett very worthwhile and yes we would return again.

Room Tip: Discuss what room your are to be given. Avoid the basement if you want natural light and a window y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Chris O
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to give us your valuable feedback and many observations. As a hotel converted from conserved building like The Scarlet, all rooms are of different sizes and configurations. Please be assured that all reservations are equally important to us and all guests are treated as VIPs. We do not discriminate when doing room assignments. We have place a note on your profile to assign a room on the second level on your future reservations with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your reservations and we'll be happy to assist you with a room category that best suit your needs. We would like to sincerely apologize for not making our hotel facilities known to you upon check in and thank you for your patience and understanding. We will review our procedures to minimize reoccurance and to further enhance guest experience. We hope your recent experience has not marred your impression of The Scarlet and do sincerely look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were provided with excellent service before even entering the hotel. I usually request for an early check-in when I book staycations, and with Scarlet, they were the first ever hotel in Singapore to give me a call before I came to advise that the room can be made available for me an hour earlier than the normal check-in time as the previous guest has left. I was very impressed by their dedication.

When finally arrived and entered the hotel, my fiance and I were amazed by the decor. There isn't a lot of furniture around, but what they had was very elegant and luxurious. I also noted that all the laptops they used were the same colour and brand! Talk about attention to detail!

Check-in was very smooth and efficient, and another staff member brought us to our room (we got the Swank Suite) and gave further description on the room and how to enable WI-FI. The room is truly beautiful. A lot of effort was put into ensuring that the luxurious feel was not over the top, but still ensured that comfort and functionality was there. TVs were awesome, but I could not connect it to my laptop no matter how I tried (it was a smart TV, supposedly able to stream from other devices). The lights are also rather hard to control, I could not figure out how it worked, but managed to find the off switch at least! The person who brought us to the room should have explained how it worked, will definitely help other guests! :)

The bed is ultra comfortable and the bathroom was amazing! Downside was the lack of bidet and that the towels and bathrobes were rather scratchy. I was expecting fluffy warm towels since the rest of the hotel and room were so luxurious.

The minibar was part of the room rate, and complimentary (FREE!) stuff is always great! The in-room dining menu was very limited though, could use a wider variety of options and to consider other dietary preferences, such as vegetarian or vegan dishes (I'm a vegetarian). But the restaurant staff were very pleasant, and customised something for me. The food isn't really great though, especially at that high-end price range. Fret not! There are PLENTY of eateries nearby and all within walking distance.

To complete the experience, there was a small balcony area with a lounge bed, table and chairs. We're both smokers, and hence this was really good for us (all suites are non-smoking rooms, and they have a strict policy to charge $150 if there is any smoke smell or stains in the room). It was really warm, but the balcony had fans which was a nice detail. Not able to control the lights though.

They allowed us a late check out, which was awesome and we got to stay in said luxury for an additional 2 hours. Overall, we had an amazing experience. Everything exceeded expectations and we would definitely come back again when we next want to treat ourselves.

Room Tip: Pick a suite to be guaranteed a spacious environment with windows and/or balcony. Request for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeLeeWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear RaeLeeWP

Thank you for your informative and insightful review of The Scarlet! We regret that you have found some aspects of your accommodation to be lacking and we appreciate your kind patience and understanding. Rest assured we will strive and excel on our service standard at all times. We have shrunk our menu during this time as as our main kitchen is undergoing renovation for a new F&B outlet. We hope to include a wider range of food selection after that.
We look forward to your next staycation with us! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay and we'll be happy to handle them personally!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in April. Our room was very well furnished and a reasonable size (I think it was the smallest room type offered). The hotel, located in a heritage building, also has a lot of good character. The staff were very nice and helpful, and the rooftop bar is a nice bonus. It's a great location for Chinatown, with a short walk to a couple of the underground rail stations and walkable distance to the other central areas of the city. For us, it was very good value and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Bendy_Man

Thank you for your generous review! We certainly enjoyed having you with us! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly on your next visit and we'll be happy to handle your reservation personally! We look forward to you next stay with us!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This place in a Chinatown Street of terrace houses easily reached from the airport by car. It is not a bargain but hip with good service and unusual red decore. There is an excellent rooftop setting for breakfast.
The best part is the location: very quiet but close to malls selling tourist trinkets and the excellent Maxwell House eating complex next door. My preference is a small place in a good location than a concrete monolith connected to shops even though that typifies Singapore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackenziejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear mackenziejr

We thank you for taking time to write us a review despite your short one night stay with us! We'll be waiting for your next visit with us again soon on your next trip to Singapore!

Warmest Regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#12 of 314 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Hotel YAN
#54 of 314 in Singapore
374 reviews
Naumi Liora
#107 of 314 in Singapore
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#51 of 314 in Singapore
3,542 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 314 in Singapore
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#54 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing