We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and service! Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #52 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent staff and service! Great location!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great place to stay. Staff was very nice and helpful. Location is very central with a lot of bars and restaurants around. Would definitely recommend.
The rooms were quite small, but this is the standard in Singapore. The gym was a bit disappointing - a very small room with only 2 machines and some weights.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askardziute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarletSingapore, The Scarlet Management at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear askardziute,

It's wonderful to know that you had a lovely stay with us, although we are sorry to learn that our workout facilities did not quite meet your expectations. In spite of its size, please be assured that the equipment is among the top-of-the-line and we always seek to keep the surroundings comfortable and conducive for a good workout. We look forward to seeing you again and hope you'll have the opportunity to savour the culinary delights at our rooftop bar, Breeze, on your next stay.

Sincerely yours,
The Scarlet Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    604
    171
    61
    41
See reviews for
92
752
173
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Boutique delight

What a delight to be right in the centre of Chinatown in Singapore and discover this gem.

After checking in with the friendly reception you will walk down a series of winding corridors to find a beautifully prepared and sparklingly clean room.

Additionally they have a small but well equipped gym that just enough to keep your fitness program on track.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarletSingapore, Scarlet Singapore at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Bill D,

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your lovely compliments. I hope that you also had a chance to visit Breeze, our rooftop bar. By the time of your next visit, there will be a new menu of gastronomic delights and fine cocktails that I believe you will enjoy very much.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Love,
Scarlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Housed in a conserved building with built-in elevator, this chic boutique hotel in a history-rich neighbourhood easily remains one of the quaint low-rise old European hotels.

Rooms though small, are decorated nicely and one can even request for the special theme rooms or suites which are all uniquely furnished for a special occasion. There is also a cosy rooftop bar to chill out on and lots of great local food in the vicinity. Perfect for impressing an out-of-town lover who is all big about going off the beaten track.

Room Tip: Note that this hotel is a low-rise conserved building by a busy street so you can expect some street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanLeongGI, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Y880,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am heartened to learn of your many praises for the hotel, including the new offerings from our rooftop bar, Breeze.

Do consider a stay in one of our five individually decorated suites on your next stay as I look forward to pampering you with another memorable experience soon.

Love,
Scarlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I spent a week on the 3rd floor in an Executive Suite at this lovely botique hotel. We had a wonderful time; made particularly so by the hotel staff who were unfailing polite, helpful, gracious and clearly committed to ensuring we were comfortable and happy. The hotel is in a very interesting part of Singapore - and close to many activities and sights. The room is cleaned daily and fresh towels and another tidy done late afternoon/early evening when the bed is turned down. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanLeongGI, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear CNH2014,

Thank you for spending a week in my Executive Suite. Our hearts are warmed to learn that we made you feel right at home, away from home. Your lovely compliments have inspired us to keep giving our best. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Singapore!

Love,
Scarlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice, the styling is quite funky in the lobby and the lobby always smelt great as we walked in. The staff were nice. Our room was nice, modern and comfortable although it didn't have a proper window (only a small window at the top near the ceiling). The room was located below ground level and as nice as it was, it did have a slight musty smell to it as we walked in. I think it would have this due to the rooms location below ground level and lack of natural ventilation and light with the window setup. A nice room but wouldn't have booked it knowing the rooms position and having no window.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanLeongGI, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Melody B,

It pleases us to learn that our stylish lobby and team members gave you a warm welcome and glad to know also that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us. Please be assured that we are looking into your feedback on the musty smell and apart from the change in our air-conditioning system during the recent refurbishment, we are continually in search of various ways to provide our guests with a 'next best thing to home' experience. We have at the same time also noted your preference regarding a proper window and will be sure to deliver a better tailored experience to you on your next visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on your next visit and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Graciously Yours,
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

location is great, near to MRT and lots of famous food centers and restaurants. The room is not spacious but good enough if you go for a short trip without large luggage and just ask for a king bed to sleep. I also like the balcony with fan and its cool at night for a short drink outside the room. Highly recommend!

One point for the reader: at weekend nights it would be a bit noisy ( if face street) as there are quite a number of bars nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamfionapang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanLeongGI, Owner at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear lamfionapang,

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our location and the cool evenings on the balcony of our guest room. You will be pleased to know that we have a range of larger rooms including our Premium Room and five individually decorated suites. Do also check out our newly furnished rooftop bar, Breeze on your next visit with us. We trust you'll love the new menu and wide selection of cocktails.

Thank you for your kind recommendation and this gracious hostess looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Love,
Scarlet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I've stayed at Scarlet 3 times now and this time was just as wonderful as I remembered. We were upgraded to a suite since it was our anniversary and the room was absolutely wonderful, clean, well maintained. Really comfy bedroom slippers, bathrobes and bed. Nice strong hot shower and hairdryer. Complimentary bottled water available in the fridge and kettle with tea and coffee available. Toothbrushes, shower cap, nice smelling shower amenities and moisturiser available. The fan in the balcony was also a nice touch and a godsend in Singapore.

Only downsides were the lack of cotton pads (only buds available, so bring your own to clean your make-up ladies) and weird configuration of lights which I simply could not figure out how to use. Ended up leaving the lights on in the living room which I would've done anyway. Also the jacuzzi function in the bath didn't work, which was a disappointment.

The area around the hotel on that side of the road is still quiet and nice, with a couple of nice boutique shops and the lomography store is just around the corner which is a nice browse. The Club Street area has gone downhill massively in terms of atmosphere on the weekends - not really somewhere I'd hang out at night anymore. However the Scarlet hasn't adopted any of that and is still a lovely hotel to stay in and the rooftop bar is intimate and nice. Service is also great! Close to Tanjong Pagar MRT which is about 8 mins walk away and lots of great local food in Maxwell Food Centre for lunch (just opposite the hotel).

Really pleased with the overall stay, but fix that tub!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows and despite the opulent decor and comfortable bed, it can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSingapore, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear DLPA
Thank you for your continual support! We hoped you've had a wonderful and memorable anniversary! We have since placed in cotton pads for all suites while we also have them at the reception upon request. Our sincere apologies for the malfunction of the jacuzzi tub. We have since looked into fixing it and thank you for your patience and understanding. We look forward to your next stay with us. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any special arrangements if any and we'll do our best to assist.

Warmest regards
Carolina Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 312 in Singapore
1,217 reviews
Naumi Liora
#106 of 312 in Singapore
846 reviews
Hotel YAN
#61 of 312 in Singapore
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,489 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 312 in Singapore
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing