We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chic 'n' Cozy Boutique Hotel in Colorful Charming Exotic Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #52 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
LI, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Chic 'n' Cozy Boutique Hotel in Colorful Charming Exotic Neighborhood”
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I loved the Scarlet. At first I was a little surprised to find this tiny boutique hotel in a very "local" flavor section of Chinatown in Singapore. The Hotel and my room were small, but the vibe, decor and atmosphere made up for it. I really liked this place.

Yes, I too wish I had a window, my light also came from some weird "hole" in the ceiling 15 feet up in a small abyss in the ceiling, but no complaints, I wasn't in my room all that much, there is SO much to see in Singapore.

I loved the small restaurant. Although I thought continental breakfast was included with my stay, I don't think it was but that's ok. The service was excellent, the food, above average.

I had a drink on the roof bar. Super cool ambience and views here.

Lobby was awesome, and staff was accommodating and kind. The location was great, although too far to walk to several key areas in Singapore like Clark Quay. Taxis are plentiful and reasonably priced from what I recall.

Singapore is not a cheap city, but still cheaper IMHO than Manhattan or London.

I would easily stay at the Scarlet again and recommend it to other travelers ONLY if you appreciate the boutique hotel experience. This is a FAR cry from a huge Hilton, Hyatt or Sheraton.

Good luck and have fun in Singapore, a very clean and very safe city :)

  • Liked — The General Vibe & the boutique look and feel.
  • Disliked — No window in room, felt a little like staying in a basement.
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kydonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    594
    169
    61
    40
See reviews for
90
741
170
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2009

2 nights here en route to New Zealand from the UK - what a treat staying at The Scarlet. The building is interesting and quirky and the rooms, whilst small, are so well appointed, the beds so comfortable, the showers so good, that size ceases to be an issue. Small is beautiful!
My job revolves around 5-star hotels throughout Europe, and the service at The Scarlet is practically on a par with these establishments. This hotel is visually more interesting and more beautiful than many 5-star business hotels too. The dim lighting is a cool respite from the tropical heat, and I had the best strawberry mojito on the roof top bar I have ever had. The food is superb, the breakfast is very good indeed, and to be able to step out into Chinatown, and also have interesting bars and restaurants within 2-5 mins walking distance is fab. If you want to deviate from bog-standard tourist hotels, I really recommend The Scarlet. I will be back next time I pass through Singapore - this hotel now represents S'pore to me!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becks34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Arriving with a cab into Singapore Centre I was suprised with the intimate Scarlet hotel. Indeed the hotel and the room is dark but it has a nice warmth. The rooms are not so big but convenient enough , especially when your touring around town during the day and come in to get some rest.

The food-court is closeby and you can wander around China town which is around the corner.

Breakfast is simple but with the a la carte menu you have a good start of the day! Don't forget to visit the roof top bar, spectacular view over Singapore by night and has a good restaurant.

The bathroom could use a renewal but was ok.

Overall, it was a great start for our 4 weeks Singapore / Malaysia and I'm glad we didn't check in a rather cold an businesslike hotel.

  • Liked — The intimate feel of the place, the roof terrace / restaurant
  • Disliked — The small pool (but who needs one when strolling around town all day)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

A really nice boutique hotel in ChinaTown. Next to a good hawker (food-court). Great acces to all ChinaTown's tourist atractions. Nice clean rooms, very cozy. The bathroom was full of cosmetics and other products.
The breakfast was nice - a la carte combined with a buffet.

  • Liked — The cozy feeling
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I stayed here with my partner in May 2007. We asked for a room with a window and got the most horrible room with a so-called skylight that was hidden up behind a wall, so the light that came in was barely noticeable (i.e, the room was practically pitch black and you couldn't see where the tiny chink of light was even coming from). The room was horribly claustrophobic and over-dressed. When we stated we had asked for a window, the Reception woman who showed us to our room just wasn't interested.

In the morning we complained and spoke to a different Receptionist who moved us with no problems and we had a window this time.

Breakfast was nothing special in the over-dressed breakfast room. But on the last day there appeared to be a work conference on and there was a sign at the bottom of the stairs leading to the restaurant indicating it was closed due to the function. When we asked where we were supposed to have breakfast, which we had paid for in our booking, the same unhelpful Reception woman just pointed outside and told us to go and find a restaurant outside somewhere! My other half complained at this point and suddenly we were allowed into the breakfast room and there was no function on inside. But we just felt awkward and that we had to hurry.

We would never stay here again. For the most part, things just seemed too much trouble for the staff. The narrow corridors wound on forever and were very claustrophic - if they had a fire in there, goodness knows how you would get out in a hurry, particulary from the 'basement' rooms (where we were put initially).

The rooms were over-dressed, gloomy and stuffy as was the hotel and for the most part, its staff. An uncomfortable experience.

For the record I have never complained about a hotel before, but this one was not nice, considering it was supposed to be higher up the range.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SitgesDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My girlfriend and I travelled to Singapore for New Years Eve (riverside table at Khubus Indian restaurant in Boat Quay - highly recommended for the food and view of the NYE fireworks). I had previously stayed at the Re Hotel, which was also good, but the Scarlet was great. The rooms are small but luxurious and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The area the hotel is in is very chic and clean and the short walk past the Chinese and Hindu temples and through the markets to get to Chinatown MRT station was interesting rather than an effort. From there most places are easily accessible via MRT and walking from the cty centre, Boat Quay or Clarke Quay is only about a 15 minute casual walk. There is no good reason to pay over the top for a plain room in a generic 5 star in Orchard Road when the Scarlet offers such style and value.

When you do stay there, please ask the staff why the outdoor spa on Level 2B is heated (!) when I would assume most people would like a refreshing dip as respite from the tropical heat.

  • Liked — Style and service
  • Disliked — Small rooms, hot (!) spa
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

My husband and I stayed in this hotel as a treat from our family after conducting research for four months in Sumatra. We arrived from Jakarta late at night, completely bedraggled and with tons of equipment. The staff did not bat an eye at our appearance and showed us to the most delightful room and we immediately relaxed into the the luxury of the Scarlet. Our family had splurged on an executive room for us and it was well worth it. The balcony was so peaceful that I wished we had hours to spend there. The room was small, but elegant and very comfortable. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower was one of the best I have experienced in a hotel. The staff was very accommodating and when we requested a 4:30 wake up call to catch our plane, we were greeted with hot tea at our door. In all, it was a very wonderful experience for us and we would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to splurge in Singapore!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#108 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Furama City Centre
#274 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing