We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #52 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
1 review
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Stayed three nights as part of an extended layover on way back to UK from NZ. The hotel is in a great location right next to all the amenities of Chinatown but up a quiet side street so rooms are quiet and no bustle. Hotel is boutique-esque, small and quirky and the interior design is unusual with a red and black theme, could be very romantic choice for couples. Rooms are not huge but are nicely decorated, very modern and clean with all the amenities you need, lovely bathrooms, minibar, air conditioning etc. Make sure you book one with a window though as there are rooms on the ground floor without.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was impeccable. The restaurant does great food if a little pricey. Both bars are nice especially the rooftop one although service there can be a little slow.
The rooms were amazingly cheap given the five star standards here and the location is much nicer than any of the big hotels on Orchard Rd.
I loved my stay here and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orrj020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    594
    169
    61
    40
See reviews for
90
741
170
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We just returned from a stay at The Scarlet Hotel in Singapore. This is a boutique hotel set in Singapore's Chinatown. We could not fault this hotel. Absolutely excellent service - the staff were very friendly and went over and above to make our stay memorable. The hotel is very tastefully decorated in a chic boutique hotel style which although hip is very warm and inviting. Our room had high beamed ceilings and a very comfortable and cosy feel. The shower was perfect - tons of pressure and no shortage of water. We did not try the food in the hotel as the Scarlet is located close to an Asian food centre and a myriad of food stalls just across the street on Smith Street. Here we found authentic Asian dishes which were of course much cheaper than eating in the hotel itself. However, the lounge on the roof terrace looked great and would be perfect for sundowners.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComoxValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We chose the Scarlet based on its smaller size, location and reviews from Tripadvisor for a one night stopover in Singapore. This hotel is a gem, fabulous decor unlike anything we have seen in a city hotel before and excellent friendly service. We had an excellent dinner on the rooftop restaurant - the fish was the best we have ever had.
There are a lot of comments on tripadvisor on room size and yes, they are small but they are very well set out and have everything you need. We chose a deluxe room with a window and it was all we needed for a short stay. If I was staying longer than 2 days I would upgrade to a larger room, but this is the hotel we will stay at next time we are in Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

What fabulous staff at this wonderful hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, we stayed overnight on route to Sydney and left a mobile phone in the room. The staff saved it for us in their safe for 4 weeks until our return journey. There was always a genuine greeting from all the staff when we got back to the hotel from our days out. The reception staff, porters and bar staff were so helpful, we were sorry to leave. The rooms are small, but the decor is lovely and the breakfast was very tasty. I have stayed in Hotels all over the world and the service in this one was head and shoulders above any where else. Thank you for a lovely stay - we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkTravellerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

The Scarlet first came to my attention because of its beautiful décor. The façade, entrance and lobby all look extremely stylish, and the color palette (red and black) just adds a sense of nostalgia and elegance to it. My room is also classically styled. You really have nothing to complain but its size.

Apart from physical layouts, it is also worth mentioning that the staff there provide good services. It is so obvious that they want to make everything right for you, and that kind of attitude makes all the difference. One example I can share is that I had to check out early due to my flight. And before I even asked, the Receptionist found out which terminal I should head to already. I found that very thoughtful and useful.

Now, move on to the not so positive side. Like what I said earlier, it is true that the rooms are not spacious. And it is not guaranteed that there will be a window in your room, which makes it somewhat claustrophobic. The air-con can be VERY loud sometimes. I consider myself very easy to fall asleep, but even I found the noise quite disturbing. When I visited Soda, (the alias for their jacuzzi, I love they give names to their facilities) I was shocked that there were no clean towels around.

It is fair to say that this hotel has some charming traits as well as minor flaws. However, with its reasonable tariff, I still think it is a good choice for people who plan on visiting Chinatown with a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The Scarlet is in a great location just across the road from Chinatown and about 5 mins walk to the station. The hotel staff were welcoming, very helpful and were keen for us to enjoy our stay. The service isn't the same as you get in the big hotels and that helps make the Scarlet that bit different. The rooms are small and as per a previous post we requested a room with a window and were not disappointed as the small window let in an enormous amount of daylight. The late checkout (2 pm) was perfect with our evening flight and prior to heading to the airport were able to freshen up at the hotel with the use of a shower room, which after a day walking around Singapore is very nice!.
The surrounding area with Chinatown and the narrow streets (Club St) with great bars, restaurants and shops is the perfect antidote to the shiny efficiency of the MTR and downtown Singapore.
With a downstairs bar and roof top open air bar, the Scarlet will not be to everyone’s liking, but if you want something different rather than the formulaic big hotel chains, would recommend giving the Scarlet a go.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We booked the Scarlett based on tripadvisor reviews and a special offer the hotel was giving for our dates of travel. We stayed for a single night, as part of a two-day city trip in Singapore.
The hotel's location is excellent, right in the heart of chinatown, within 5 minutes walk of MRT stations, close to the bus, and next door to an excellent food court with loads of hawker food stalls.
The hotel itself is built within a row of old peranankan style townhouses, giving an amazing look on the outside, aswell as a quirky yet beautifully dressed up corrider inside. It gave an amazing feeling of staying in something of the Raffles hotel, with a seductive twist.
Reception was very helpful with our check-in, and we were in our room no more than 2 minutes later. The rooms are a little on the small side, yet the hotel has used the space very smartly, meaning you have all the typical 4-star amenities plus some tucked away smartly. The dressing and style of the room is just as the name suggests - very burlesque with loads of deep velvets and reds, but all very very stylishly. There's plenty of space to get rid of your stuff, and the bathroom is of a good size also.
The hotel goes out of it's way to tick the boxes here too - our room was also decked out with complimentary fruit flavoured sparkling water, and a bowl of dried tropical fruit slices. The toiletries in the bathroom are very extensively stocked and should fulfill most of your needs.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel the next morning, as we were kicking to go out and get a morning bowl of noodle soup (nothing better than a breakfast of champions) from the foodcourt next door, but we did see the spread and it looked very well stocked with many items available a-la-carte to ensure freshness.
Checkout was also very easy, and the reception was kind enough to take care of our bags for a few hours. They also helped print out our departure boarding cards as we had left ours home by accident.

All in all the hotel is spectacular. The staff are very friendly, the place is very clean, and the location is fantastic. If you want to stay someplace in Singapore, this is the place. Ideal for city breaks with your loved one.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johno.franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Liora
#108 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Furama City Centre
#274 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#48 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Property: The Scarlet Singapore
Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#52 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing