We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic,pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Ranked #182 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, basic,pleasant”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

"Interesting" neighborhood (not for all but it was alright for my husband and I), 5 min walk to the train station which is convenient. Wifi and breakfast isn't a standard part of the booking though. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, and very pleasant in general.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decembermaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    178
    209
    58
    45
See reviews for
64
119
62
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We book the hotel few weeks ago thru agoda.com. We book the hotel for 5 nights and hoping that it will be all good.

The day we arrived after a long flight, we wanted to check in but there were so many unattended guests. There was only one staff at the counter. He tried his best to make everything smooth but he was soo slow. So i tell him we went out for a smoke while waiting for our room.

When were outside, we asked a lady and a guy where to smoke. So they show us whereis the smoking area. We start to smoke and they go back in. Actually these are the staff of the hotel. Front desk staff. They are suppose to be on duty and help the heavy check in at that time instead of having their sweet time to smoke. But hey.. atleast we got our room.

In my booking i specificly mentioned that i need a twin bedroom. They keep on saying that the hotel is full and they have no rooms. But what is the point booking the room few weeks in advanced?? This is unacceptable. We were very dissappointed with the service.

When we were about to go out we asked the front staff where can we get the nearest bus station. They were very nice telling us where to go and how to get there. But we have to walk really far. We are not happy about this because when we get back. We found out there is a bus station just 2 blocks away from the hotel. The one that they told us was about 6 to 7 blocks away.

We hope that the service can be better and the room can be alot cleaner.

Unhappy guest.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazillah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Crystal, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
I had read your review only after receiving a TripAdvisor posting notification on 02 May. Regretfully, my attempts to get in touch with you were unsuccessful, as you were out till late on the night itself, following which you departed the hotel the next early morning.

Regarding your check in, my Hotel Manager had already briefed the concerned staff on the hotel's smoking regulations. The designated smoking area for staff is located at the back area of the hotel and all staff had been reminded not to smoke in the presence of the hotel guests.

I also wished to clarify that request for Twin Beds is subject to the hotel's availability and I apologise that this could not be provided to you during your stay at the hotel.

Given that the hotel is accessible via a network of public transport infrastructure, guests can enjoy the convenience of taking the train or bus for travelling to the city. As you had requested to visit the Marina Bay Sands, my Front Desk Staff had recommended you to take the train, which provide the fastest and easiest means of access to your destination and return to the hotel. There is a bus stop which is close to the hotel, but it would be time consuming and might proved difficult for guests who are not too familiar with the bus service routes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I got here today and after a long hassle regarding the booking I finally managed to get into the room. I didn't expect to see anything fancy but I did expect to find a clean room. I was terrified. The walls are all dirty, the tiles in the bathroom are all cracked and disgusting, the bed linen was full of staines and the TV as well. Oh, and the room was also windowless. But the worst thing was when I have found three lizards in the bed. That's when I packed everything and got to the reception. I was given another room at a higher floor (7 rather than 2) so the lizards couldn't climb in. The room is a bit bigger but there is no big difference, it looks just as dirty.

Honestly I am extremely disgusted and there is no way I can sleep there. Absolutely horrific.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iulia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a perfect stay. The hotel staff was helpful, they clean the room everyday and there are lots of Indian restaurants nearby. Overall stay at this hotel was unforgettable. Thanks to Clear Trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Bharath T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhue
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked four superior rooms from this hotel. Two rooms had tiny cockroaches and stained blankets. But aside from these, this hotel is okay for a budget hotel. It would take you about 10mins (walk) from this hotel to Aljunied Station.
Restaurant Tip: We enjoyed local Singaporean food from nearby stores (not the fancy restaurants)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerhue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This place may be in a part of town that is not for the kids, but even though everyone said we should be careful and "watch out" i think it was only because Singaporians scare easy...
The neighbourhood has a red light nature but as a couple we walked everywhere safely and without hastles.
The main thing is to book online somewhere first. internet cafe up the street, and save 50%, seriously!
The price of two dorm beds we get a hotel, water coffee, fresh linen and bathroom/shower. All you need, the location is a bit of a walk from the MRT but no big deal...

Room Tip: Book online! No smoking in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanVaudrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Anyone looking for budget hotels in Singapore will come across the Fragrance brand of hotels.

I booked the hotel purely on price, just over 40SGD per night on Agoda, now that cannot really be beaten. The hotel is located in Geylang, the red light area, but having said that, there was not much evidence of hangers around at the hotel and if it was being market towards the 'transit' element of guests, it was being done very discretely. There was no noise from outside at all.

Check in and out was very quick. The rooms were clean and everything worked.

I would certainly consider again for Singapore if I'm looking for a cheap and moreover clean place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#123 of 312 in Singapore
810 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#147 of 312 in Singapore
279 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#144 of 312 in Singapore
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#146 of 312 in Singapore
548 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#150 of 312 in Singapore
367 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#157 of 312 in Singapore
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Crystal

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Address: 50 Lorong 18 Geylang, Singapore 398824, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Crystal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Crystal Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing