We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for sleep”
Review of Hotel 81 - Gold

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Gold
Ranked #220 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 7 February 2012

suitable for backpackers / travelers who just want to sleep and want a privacy toilet
bedroom smelling cigarettes even though non-smoking room.

10 minute walking distance to aljunied mrt station
on the way to the mrt station at night, you will go through areas infested with foreign workers hanging out, but nobody will bother you
Geylang area is not as clean as the other Singapore

Hotel 81 Gold located next to Fragrance ruby hotel and hotel 81 lucky.

Room Tip: Take non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, this ain't it. However, if you want a low cost, clean, safe place to stay near the MRT (subway), this is it. I stayed here for 5 days. The staff was friendly, professional and the hotel was very nice and clean. I had a room big enough for two small beds and the air conditioner worked great. Bathroom was nicely remodeled. Hotel Gold is located within 5 minutes of subway and lots of places to eat. It is in so called "red light" district, but I didn't see any problem. If there were prostitutes around, they ignored me. Located in very busy shopping district. I will stay here again when I return to Singapore.

Room Tip: didn't have any problems; just don't expect the Hilton Hotel. lots of room for one person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swiswach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

It's one of the cheapest hotels in Singapore and considering the price has a good location. It's not that far from the city centre by MRT which is ten minutes by foot from the hotel. There are numerous food corners in the area where you can eat a tasty dinner for S$4. Well, it's Geylang - a bustling and lively neighborhood which streets are alive almost 24 hours a day. It's a red light district but you shouldn't be afraid - it's very safe at any time of day or night, much more safer than any big US/European city even in the bright day. The only reason you might want avoid this area is if you are offended seeing working girls (or for the same reason - if you're traveling with children).

The room is very small, not much space besides bed. No fridge which is a big disadvantage considering temperatures (I mean the aircon is very efficient so it's not like there's hot in the room - but you really enjoy a cold drink in Singapore at any the of day and night)! Well, this is a budget hotel and one of the cheapest in Singapore - you can't have high expectations.

Don't push the lock button from the inside if you're leaving the room (what is a common practice in many hotel locks) - if you push it you won't be able to open the door from outside, it's mean to use from inside only. The reception staff is very nice and helpful though and they send someone within two minutes after I reported a problem with getting to my room - the man who came had master key and simply opened the door for me.

Even if the hotel is a budget one, the service is good and the room is cleaned well and fresh towels delivered during your stay (not that obvious standard in very cheap hotels).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b79pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at Hotel 81 for 2 nights. Hotel is located in famous district Geylang which has a bad opinions but I was feeling safe. Around hotel there is many local restaurants with tasty food. 5 minutes to MRT. About hotel: I had room at 5th floor (there was elevator), rooms was small, tv, bathroom with full equipment, air-conditioning (we can't turned off and staff too so a-c worked all time during our stay - sometimes was very cold in room). Generally I recommend for young little requiring persons.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooordek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I've stayed in the Geylang area numerous times before as it's pretty much the only area in Singapore with cheap hotels...It is in a red light district but I guarantee it's safer than wherever you're from...rooms are tiny, just big enough for 2 average persons...it won't be all that comfortable...staff were very friendly...helped us out a lot with bus routes and info around town...my main complaint was that you couldn't control the AC from your room, so it could get cold at night...overall, not much worse or better than the other 81 or Fragrance hotels in Geylang...adequate for a night or two...

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed 2 nights here a week ago. The room was quite clean but very small with no extra space for luggage. Also the bathroom/toilet was small and there wasn't socket for ie. electric razor.

The hotel is located on a street where prostitutes hang out. I was left alone even though I was alone, but if you're disturbed just by the fact that the prostitutes are there, this hotel (and area in general) is not for you.

Aljunied MRT station is about 10 mins. walk away and there's lots of restaurants nearby.

The conclusion is tha it's an OK hotel for short stay for solo traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papaija2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

i go with my buddies at 11/5/2011 and stay there for 3 nite and they charge us SGD200. for us it was cheap. the room was clean also the toilet. got a lcd tv attach to the wall. but the place for us is quite scarry coz its located at Geylang (hooker place). the hooker already standing along the road and in front the hotel waiting for the customer. so, we afraid to go out at nite. thx god, as long as we stay there, we did not occur any trouble.

Room Tip: choose the other Hotel 81 near pasar Geylang. but not at lorong 20, Geylang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AiiniiAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#148 of 317 in Singapore
573 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#197 of 317 in Singapore
171 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#159 of 317 in Singapore
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#121 of 317 in Singapore
835 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#256 of 317 in Singapore
237 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#184 of 317 in Singapore
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Gold

Address: 20 Lorong 20 Geylang, Singapore 398738, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £34 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Gold 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 81 Gold has suspended operations and will be undergoing major refurbishment. We expect to serve you again in late December 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Gold Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing