We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joo Chiat experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
Ranked #153 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Booked for 2 nights here. The General Manager of the Fragrance Hotel chain has been very helpful and accommodating of my whims in booking rooms. Initially has been booked full but have been squeezed into last minute deluxe room. Really appreciate the effort.

The area around the hotel is interesting with lots of shops and a food centre nearby. There are pubs around but nothing noisy. Foot traffic also not as intense as the Geylang area where I spent one night. There is a bus stop a few steps away from the hotel and you can board bus 33 and hop off Dakota MRT which is only a short ride and will connect you to other MRT stations all over the city. There is a mall straight ahead - 112 Katong - if you want to shop or watch some movie. It's very walkable from the hotel and had no problems walking back after watching a last full show on a weekend.

There are several 7/11 stores close by if you want to pick up some essentials and a mini-grocery just on the first intersection. I admit there are girls in "skimpy" outfit that we've passed by late nights during one of our walks but it's no big deal really and still safe to walk around hotel vicinity.

Unlike the room we've had in Fragrance Pearl, the one we've had here had no windows but still had that basic room layout as in Pearl. Mattress is comfortable though some stains can be seen in the pillow case but otherwise everything is clean. Bathroom clean, better layout than bathroom in Pearl although the toothbrushes have dried toothpaste in them instead of having it in a standard toothpaste tube. TV is not the LCD type but better channel reception than the one in Pearl. Wish it could have more channel options to choose from. Wifi is expensive but got an offer that included free WIFI up to 2 devices. An added bonus: There is a massage chair in the hotel lobby and you can enjoy it for a nominal fee. If you've been beat after a grueling tour, you can just sit in, pop in some $2 and be treated to an 8 minute massage.


Overall, enjoyed my stay here in Joo Chiat and will probably be booking again later this year. There's still a lot of things to discover in and around Singapore and I'm looking forward to another stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shiela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Ugliest hotel on a historic street now known for its nicely refurbished old buildings. Interesting neighborhood is quiet and has a few good restaurants scattered about. There's also a decent supermarket nearby.

Street DOES have a few prostitutes loitering about at night, and there are more bars here than the last time I stayed on Joo Chiat Street. But it's still not as bad as Katong, about a mile away, which is loaded with ladies of the night and their customers. Let's call Joo Chiat a "red LITE" district. In general, this is a neighborhood on the up and up, and the old buildings are in fantastic shape, nicely painted and provide photo ops.

This is a bit dreary, but clean. Makes for a decent transit hotel, because it's a short taxi ride to the airport. I happened to book at a time when Singapore hotels were all expensive, so I can't say it was good value for money. There was NO value this month in Singapore rooms. Hopefully the prices will settle a little lower.

Bed was comfortable enough, and I was glad I reserved a Deluxe room, because that means a window comes with it. But it's pretty bare bones. They comp the guest two small bottles of drinking water, but these do not fill up to the minimum line of the hot water kettle provided. There was a hair dryer, a shower cap and toothbrush, a tea bag and a sachet of Nescafe, and that was the extent of the amenities.

If this is the cheapest place you can find for an airport transit type stay, it's a pretty good bet.

Service was fine, but WiFi didn't come free with the room (there are a couple of computers in the lobby also) and it's a rather no-frills operation. Cable TV was poorly tuned with lots of snow on the only English language movie channel.

Room Tip: Spring for the deluxe (window) rooms. A high floor (3, 4) might be quietest and give a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrugalMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed in the hotel for four nights. The room with two single beds is better because they have window and seem more spacious. The air con and shower works really fine. It is a comfortable place to stay. It also got a mini refrigerator so i can put my juices and puddings in it. However it is pretty far from the MRT station.. But the bus station is just in front of the hotel so if you choose bus to go around singapore this place would be a really nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Nice hotel in the area. It was the cheapest on the strip and for the price it was pretty good. The room isn't massive, but hey, it's only for sleeping. The facilities in the room were good: the air con worked, hot water available, fridge ok. Close to airport.

Only downer was the charge for wifi.

Room Tip: The walls in this place are thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnieronron26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We looked a long time at the tripadvisor reviews for Singapore before deciding on this hotel. The online deal came to $51USD, including Internet access. The hotel did not disappoint. The staff was professional, courteous and helpful; the room was secure, clean and quiet (although tiny), and the beds comfortable. The ambience of the hotel was in contrast with the street on which it was located, which was filled with bars and other "night spots," but don't let that fool you -- this is a fine place to stay. The hotel arranged for our taxi to Changi Airport, and we arrived in less than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ettraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I've found Singapore Hotels are comparatively expensive from the rest of Asia. This was one of the cheaper offerings and was adequate for my short stay there. Not too far from Airport (taxi around $12 singapore). Room was clean with basic furnishings and bathroom fairly dated but clean. The walls are fairly thin and although I was in an end room I could hear the next room and corridor noise. I found the staff probably the hotel's biggest asset. There are many shops, restaurants and bars close by opening late.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We select the Frangrance Hotel primarily for its interesting location. The hotel is 'budget' and fine for shorter stays. It's clean, secure and if you get a larger room with a window, ok for size. The staff are most helpful. Once you learn how it works it's good. The air conditioner can be turned down to decrease the noise and the air flow. If you take the effort to pack things away, the small room is no problem. We spend most of our time exploring Singapore rather than being in the room, so it suits our priorities.

Joo Chiat Rd is a major interest for us. There is a lot of Singapore heritage here, shophouses offer things from hotel supplies, bike repairs, fish, green groceries and a score of restaurants. Specialty foods including steamed buns and fish head recipes! Right opposite the hotel is an interesting shop where they make funerary mementos – which are burnt. These are typically house creations made from bamboo and paper, very colourful, quite an art. These shops are very decorative, see picture.

Other shophouses, just off Joo Chiat Rd have been delightfully renovated. See pictures.

Joo Chiat is a 'red light district' but this is not intrusive. In fact it's another aspect of the colourful nature of the area.

Our favourite breakfast restaurant is the Al Falah Barakah for pratas (what a skill to be able to whirl the pastry to stretch it out!) and freshly squeezed orange juice.

A taxi driver commented that the best bargains for shopping are available in the shophouses rather than in the upmarket designer label shops off Orchard Road and Marina Bay. There is an Islamic community located on the northern end of Joo Chiat Rd, along with a large shopping complex. The clothes, materials, jewellery and much else are an entertainment in themselves.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat), responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Mr Gavin, I see that you have been returning to stay with us since 2011. Having said, I must express my appreciation to you for choosing this hotel as your preferred accommodation choice during your travels to Singapore.

I am glad to learn that you had expressed your fondness in the rich heritage of the Joo Chiat area, in particularly the funeral memento shop and the Joo Koon conservation houses nearby the hotel. I also read with interest that you enjoyed being entertained by the sights of the prata maker tossing the hand-made pastry up in the air. In doing so, you had truly discovered the unique cultures of Singapore.

I wished you well and hoped to see your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#145 of 317 in Singapore
287 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#120 of 317 in Singapore
825 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#184 of 317 in Singapore
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#206 of 317 in Singapore
147 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#134 of 317 in Singapore
475 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#156 of 317 in Singapore
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)

Address: 219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#52 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat) Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing