We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Hotel 81 Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Ranked #193 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The staff are very friendly and accomodating...the location is perfect and many restaurants nearby...accessible to public transports...clean room and clean bathroom...i love the vicinity...the room is cold...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    49
    53
    10
    15
See reviews for
9
54
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The staffs are very friendly and accomodating. The location is great having many restaurant nearby and accesible to public trasportation such as bus or mrt. They have small but clean, cold, and comfortable one.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel is about 1 km from the train/metro station and it’s not too hard to locate with little help/proper map. Hotel is located in the ”red light” district which cannot be seen during the day light but in the evening you can see all the signs such as happy house or group of girls standing next to the hotel. Hotel itself was really quiet. This hotel is really basic with small rooms with locked windows so I only recommend this place for sleeping. If you are planning to spend more time in the room don’t choose this hotel. Basically there is just a bed, AC and a bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

hotel check in was a breeze... the guy in the front desk just had to key in my guest info and check in was fast. this is a good hotel if you want reasonable rates. they have fast wifi too.... it is also accessible to a lot of food stalls. I checked in late and there were a lot of indian males (some drunk) in the streets so I would recommend this place to those in groups and not for solo tourists. this hotel has very courteous staff too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellokitty1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is the first time that tripadvisor reviews have ever led me wrong. I booked and paid for Hotel 81 Hollywood a month or 2 before my trip, and no refund options available.

We checked into Hotel 81 on Mar 10th, late at night. During our trip throughout Malaysia, people would ask where we're going to stay in Singapore and everytime we said Geylang area we always got the same reaction. We knew it was the "red light" district, but reviews had said it wasn't that bad.

The hotel is a brothel. As we were checking in, 2 different sets of men and women came in, tossed a few bills over the counter, got a room key and went up the elevator. This is all fine as they kept to themselves, but it makes you wonder how well they clean the rooms after. Secondly, upon getting to the room, as soon as I opened the door I was suffocated by strong, strong cigarette smoke and whatever cloying spray they use to cover it up (a non-smoking room). I can handle old hotel rooms with old smokey smell, it's common, but this was so bad I could hardly breathe. For the 30 minutes we were actually in the room, it sounded like a constant flow of people up and down the halls, and a bell that kept dinging. I was also getting a migraine from the smell.

We were booked for 3 nights here, and after a half hour, we packed up all our stuff and went down to the front desk and checked out. They were a little surprised but I knew I only had 3 days in Singapore, and this hotel, and this area was not going to cut it. There was TONS of food outside in the area, but it was all asian. Also the MRT station was not close by for anyone wanting to know that.

We ended up showing up at J8 hotel at midnight and checking into a FANTASTIC, clean, comfortable room. Made our trip perfect and I'm so glad we decided to forfeit the money for Hotel 81.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NIKKICRAIG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is very nice and comfortable to stay if you are looking for not that expensive hotel. Plus, with the price offered, the hotel is very worth paying for since the service is very good. The area is also easy access for tourist to move around singapore.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apulkude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a nice place to stay and enjoy your trip for those who are looking for a place which is not that expensive. Plus, geylang area is very good since there's reasonable food around. I really enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nffz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#147 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#229 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#242 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#246 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#201 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#218 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Hollywood

Property: Hotel 81 Hollywood
Address: 61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Hollywood Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing