We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 81 Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Ranked #197 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
1 review
“Great value and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel 81 Hollywood has got to be the best value hotel I have found in Singapore for the money. It's clean, comfortable, very well located to shops, restaurants, and mount batten mrt station walkable. In particular I found the staff at the front desk mr. Davin to be very friendly and helpful to my personal needs on several occasions while staying here. This is the definition of service with a smile and a willingness to make the best for each guest. I will definitely be frequenting this hotel for my future visits to Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    44
    51
    10
    14
See reviews for
8
48
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel 81 - Hollywod at Lor 8 Geylang is good, cleaned, things that i loved from this hotel is the staff is very helpful, the air conditioning is working so good, so we can sleep well under the blanket. one thing that i like this hotel, when we are have to checked out earlier but still want to go to somewhere in Singapore, we can board out our luggage to receptionist for free, thanks to David (one of Staff Hotel) who give us free charge.

this hotel have a high speed internet access, the guess can access the internet everywhere in hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is a dump - smells - cigarettes and musty, tiny rooms, linen that must be so old (the towel I had was thread bare), no room facilities except kettle and a hair dryer!!! Bathroom is small with soap/shampoo dispenser but shower spray if door not closed, ends up outside. Water pressure and temperature is a rare positive.
Noisy and very unfriendly staff.
Apparently this hotel is in Red Light Area of Singapore - from the noises I heard it seems it is.
Not really even worth a stop over stay - price for Singapore is so so but .... I can't be at all positive in any regards - oops, WIFI in rooms is ok.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere or use this site to find other hotels in area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanJH1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Since most of the time we are out of the hotel because we our Busy going to different tourist attractions. We only need the hotel to sleep. The room is just enough for us. It has a bath tub, hot and cold. No ref but it is ok. Just the basic stuff you need to make your stay worthwhile. We don't need a fancy hotel. This Hotel has a very good location because it is near the good and affordable restaurants on Geylang. 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The Kallang MRT station is just 15-20 minutes walking distance. You can tour around Singapore on the MRT. No need for expensive Taxi. When we checked out, the front desk allowed us to leave our luggage since our flight is 12midnight and we still have to visit Universal Studios on that day. Front office staff are very helpful with the directions on the location of Tourist Attractions. I rate this hotel excellent.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CyberFreesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

It is good for people who are traveling on budget. Very basic and small rooms. Hotel is only good for sleeping. You cannot have any leisure there. Hotel does not have any restaurant or even a swimming pool. However rooms were very clean look new. Housekeeping was also good. Considering extremely high rent in Singapore, this hotel is good for its price.

There is one problem with the surroundings and not the hotel. The street on which the hotel is located is a red light street. Its ok in day time but at night time you will see many prostitutes and their pimps on road looking for customers. So I wouldn't recommend staying in this area if your are going with family. Please note that Hotel 81 is very clean and many families stay there. Its just the surroundings.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulraiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

It is good enough for us (my sister and I) to sleep after had lot of activites at Sentosa Island in the afternoon. Unfortunately no WiFi to whom who want to online.

Located at Lorong 8 Geylang, few young taxi drivers confuse because they are not familiar with this area. They told me this area is an old town of Singapore.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WanZuha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai Mueang, Thailand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

For me who like to stay this area i know it well that cannot expect anything with this location So all hotels around here are not 5-6stars for sure U will fact the old building hotel, atmosphere,people etc
So about Hotel81 Hollywood also like that shouldnt expect anything but once i open my room im quit satisfy that the bed clean toliet not dirty ... and everything quit ok
Just only this buiding might be too old and need a big renovation aslo decoration as well

Room Tip: if want a quiet room Better request the room at the back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iku_iku69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#146 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#241 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#258 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#257 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#237 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#214 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Hollywood

Property: Hotel 81 Hollywood
Address: 61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 81 Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Hollywood Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing