We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel for budget traveller”
Review of Hotel 81 - Geylang

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Geylang
Ranked #202 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kuta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An average hotel for budget traveller”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was stayed here for 2 nights last year, i booked the hotel via online booking site. This hotel located nearby the Geylang MRT stations (arround 10 mins walking) which is only few MRTs from Changi Airport, its not in central of Singapore, but with MRT's every attractions is nearby. Its also easy to find for the first time traveller to Singapore.

People said geylang is a red district area, and yes it is, but from my experienced, at the hotel almost no sign of the red district as its very quite. Yes it was noisy from the neighbourhood, but when u spent your day exploring singapore, walking and by MRTs,you will get exhausted and will sleep deeply and wont heard a thing. Despite its location, its quite save area, I was walking back to the hotel through the street at 11 pm from the internet cafe nearby and its quite save, you might can see what they mean with the 'red district' but Singapore has low criminal rates, and they have cctv almost everywhere ..

Amenities in this hotel is just like what u expected to has in budget hotel but the water heater they provide is good, as i can use it to make my own tea and meal for breakfast, the room quite small, but again, if you only need it to sleep and take a shower, size wont matter. The staff are good and quite helpful, easy check in and check out, everything was prepared.

I would recomended this hotel for young solo or couple budget travellers, who looks for an average hotel to sleep in after an exhausting day exploring Singapore. If you looking for more comforts, definetely not here,what you pay is what you got. Overall it was good average experienced to stay here, i might back here if I visit singapore again in the future, or try another location.

Room Tip: I dont think they have such room to choose beside single/double/twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    85
    103
    46
    26
See reviews for
26
51
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
740 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This is affordable hotel, Sing$65 per night.
We stayed one night at this hotel because of missed connection flight to our final destination.
The rate is OK, this hotel is at the heart of night life activities, some of food stall and one of the supermarket open for 24 hours, a real busy place.
Rows of food stall are along the surrounding roads, unlimited choice of foods and drinks.
Rooms is a little bit small, but still OK for two people with Flat Screen TV and Air-Con, ensuite bathroom is OK with towels provided.
The night staffs are helpful and help us to call Taxi at a very early morning 5.30 am to airport.
On the negative side are :
- not for family with young children because at the heart of Red Light District
- some of the guests were smoking in the room and in the corridor (illegally in Singapore) and the smell of smoking still lingering in the air (in the room and corridor), so you need air fragrance (buy yourself) to hide the smell.
It is Sing $20 taxi cost from airport, or if you familiar with Singapore MRT system, use Green Line from Airport to Al Junied Station (cost less than SIng$ 2) and then walking for approx 1 km

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

I write as I lay on the comfortable bed of hotel 81 palace which is across the road from hotel geylang . Whilst most things have been said I will,gove my basic review .

Yes the rooms are small but if you are looking for a base at a cheap price then this isn't that bad. It's clean and I'm on the 7th floor and I can't hear anything from any other rooms or outside , tv has poor reception and the Internet I think depends which way the winds blowing !

The area is full of 1000 s of young Indian men and can be a bit intimidating when you first venture outside after about ten minutes you will realise no one has any interest in you and you will not be bothered at all , this includes women of all colours and creed , they are just not interested ...which is good as no one wants hassle .

The MRT station is only 10 minutes walk away and it's very easy to use . Just ask anyone and they will help you. Food looks fantastic if you come out and turn right and then right again down geylang road just go the first cross ways cross over and you will see lots of people eating in there just on the right. A very big establishment you won't miss it .

Back to the hotel , air con works great , shower works great , toilet works great , haven't tried the complimentary tea , they also leave you two bottles of drinking water everyday which is handy if you forget to some from 7-11 which is 30 seconds away. Any questions please ask .

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I was staying in this hotel in November 2012. And this hotel is clean and room is cosy. I like the service because the receptionist is very helpful and efficient. Easy to get transport to anywhere. Easy to get to 7 eleven shop and lots of restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flying Fish Cove, null, Christmas Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

rocked up in a taxi advised by driver good hotel, china town very central asked receptionn boy if they had rooms avaialable, he said yes i said 3 nights 260 dollars ok no worries and pay cash, after paying he tells me im not at that hotel no refund and im staying 20 mins away so get taxi 18 later i arrive to rude staff , tiny room no hot water 94 percent of time $10 for wifi (1day) no fridge no pool no gym this is place is a hole pay extra stay some where else or pay same stay somewhere twice as good

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

There are plenty of other options in Singapore. Yes the price is very low, but for just a few dollars more and I mean just a few, there are much better alternatives. The room has nothing more than a bed and television. One outlet for the entire room. The hot water heater in the bathroom barely function after 12 hours of warming up. Red light district is well-known, but the noise from this hotel and my neighbor's is unbearable. Lobby and staff are very nice, and I'm certainly not a snob, but there are great alternatives. I give it a D+.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I stayed at this place due to the cost and free wifi. Overall this is a very basic Hotel situated slightly far from the centre of Singapore. Although I wasn't completely dissatisfied with the Hotel, the general cost of Hotels in Singapore are very expensive. The main attraction was cost and free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#148 of 312 in Singapore
548 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#248 of 312 in Singapore
219 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#247 of 312 in Singapore
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#231 of 312 in Singapore
230 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#189 of 312 in Singapore
153 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#123 of 312 in Singapore
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Geylang

Property: Hotel 81 - Geylang
Address: 20 Lorong 16 Geylang, Singapore 398863, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Geylang 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Geylang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Geylang Singapore
81 Geylang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing