We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extreme Mediocracy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Apartments
Ranked #96 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Extreme Mediocracy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have been staying in the Shangri-La serviced apartments for 6 weeks with my wife. To begin with, the hot water tank in the apartment did not provide enough hot water to suffiently take a shower. The apartments are in desperate need of renovation; the apartments just look tired and worn. The pool area looks recently remodeled and is nice. The main hotel which is next to the apartments has a beautiful pool area that has been under construction for the entire length of our stay. The gym is the best hotel gym I have every used. The Line Restaurant at the Shangri-La Hotel denied us a table outdoors one afternoon. We were told they couldn't sit us outside despite the fact that there were plenty of tables available.

My wife complained to management and got us upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment that had sufficient hot water, and we got invited back to the Line restaurant for a free meal.

For the price, there is much better value at other hotels and serviced apartments. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WSGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    52
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
117
18
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Under the assumption the Shangri-La is suppose to be a luxury resort, my husband and I chose to stay at the serviced apartments for an extended stay... wow, were we disappointed! Needs a renovation ASAP! Halls smell of moth balls and stale food; all appliances in kitchen outdated, mismatched; bathroom looks like a cheap motel's bathroom- no replenishment of soap during your stay; we had to switch rooms because our hot water would run out in 10 minutes- forget a hot shower; overall the apartment lacked amenities- not a single pen or notepad to be found, old/dated decor, most definitely NOT a four star hotel. Now to describe the awful facilities at the actual hotel: locker room old and deplete of toiletries at most times (had to shower here often because shower in room would not stay warm), staff in locker room lounged around consuming hotel guest's complimentary fruit and water while watching T.V. at very high volume (aren't spa hotel locker rooms suppose to be tranquil?), current renovation around hotel pool causing much noise and dust in air, staff at the Line restaurant very rude and unaccommodating, NO pool service (had to sign-out own towel- at luxury resorts they bring you towels and set up your lounge chair for you as well as offer you beverage service, well not here! I think the whole Shangri-La in Singapore needs an over hall of its services... perhaps they can learn from the Four Seasons chain, now they exemplify true luxury resort service!

Room Tip: If you are use to luxury resort chains, do not stay here, you will be very disappointed unless you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Pros :
Great location. It's a quick walk to shopping, markets and transportation. The Shangri la hotel is a quick walk up past the tennis courts. The buffet is awesome.
The staff is very helpful.
Cons: The decor is old and tired. There aren't any non smoking rooms, so no matter what they say..it smells of smoke. They gave me a purifier, and I went thru 3 bottles of air freshened all to no avail.
The English tv channels are very limited. Almost none in the bedroom.
No in room laundry.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

My husband and I, together with our 14 month old baby girl stayed in these apartments for 10 days. We cannot fault them at all..... the service was outstanding, everything was arranged for us - for our daughter (highchair, cot, linen). They even upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment for free.

The location of these apartment are perfect, they are off the busy Orchard Road so it is quiet, we walked to Orchard Road a couple of times a day and it only takes 8 minutes (with a stroller), otherwise you can catch a taxi for approximately S $3-$5 dollars.

The pool is lovely and shaded and the gardens are stunning.

We used the Shangri-La Hotel pool a few times, which was a lovely change, it only takes 2 minutes to walk there via a private walk way. We also used the Shangri-La pool at Sentosa Island - which was a life saver as it was very hot.

We travel alot and always stay at 5 star accommodation, so I cannot understand why some of the other reviews are negative, as we cant fault these apartments, even if we tried.

Also, these apartments are owned by the Shangri-La group so please ignore what the other person said about them not being owned by the group.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigelshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
179 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This review is ACTUALLY very old school from August 1998! Very memorable though so decided to put it in.

Stayed at the Johor suite (not sure if still there). Pretty damn nice (even Jackie Chan stayed there before). HUGE dining table, two massive rooms, private elevator, half-decent kitchen and adequate living room. Probably all changed now but back in the day it was fairly good.

Stayed there when we moved from Melbourne and lived there for 3 weeks initially before living in the Shangri-La apartments for 1 month.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We really enjoyed the apartment. We had a two bedroom apartment overlooking the pool, nestled amongst the trees, where we could sit on a sofa and watch a very enteraining squirrel. The apartment was incredibly quiet and great for R&R for us. We were exhausted when we arrived, and this was a perfect place to recover. The cleaning staff are delightful, and so keen to assist. Reception staff not as good as other reception staff in Singaore generally, but probably average for the rest of the world. The location of the apartments isn't great. We spent 2 weeks here, and were happy.

The food choices at the hotel are very ordinary, and on't believe them when they promise you a 20% discount on food in the hotel - you won't get it unless you fight to the death. Also, when it comes to seating options in the busy restaurants, you'll be treated like a second class citizen if they know you're from the apartments, and you'll get a terrible table almost every time. Definitely go and eat somewhere else.

The A/C in the gym was inadequate - very hot and unpleasant, although the equiment was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhiteChinaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Ok, I opted to stay here because it's the " Shangri La "... Nope it isn't. It's a differen't company. ( thats why you pay in advance, and can't cancel). If you like Grannies decor, your in luck. If you smoke, it's even better! ( I don't ).
The TV? You have to pay for all of the best channels in the living room. The bedroom TV? Only chinese, no cable. The cable costs 12 a month. This low end dump can't even cover that. I am paying 300+ per day. No cable in the bedroom unless I pay for it.?......check out where I should have stayed,.... pan pacific or tree tops!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodnfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fraser Suites Singapore
#27 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore
#110 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Orchard Road
Ascott Orchard Singapore
Ascott Orchard Singapore
#176 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Apartments

Property: Shangri-La Apartments
Address: 1 Anderson Road The Shangri-La Apartments, Singapore 259983, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Singapore
#33 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#60 Business Hotel in Singapore
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Apartments blend thoughtful layouts with enticing recreational options. Fully furnished apartments are well-appointed with crisp, contemporary design in earth tones. Residents also enjoy privileged access to all facilities and services of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore during their stay in these short-term apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Shangri-La Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Apartments Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Apartments Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing