We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Apartments
Ranked #92 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“What service!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed at Shangrila apartments. Much better value than hotel with access to all facilities there. Needs modernising but very clean and comfortable. Excellent restaurants and The Line probably best buffet in town. In passing mentioned to the receptionist I really fancied egg tarts but forgot to pick them up on the way back. Next day, she ran after me with a bag of egg tarts which she has picked up on her way to work. Now that is exemplary service. Thank you Suriney for making our stay in The Shangrila so memorable. You are what makes Singapore a great place to visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    59
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
136
20
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in the Shangri-La serviced apartments for 4 weeks upon relocating to Singapore last month.
While the apartments look a bit outdated and could do with some cosmetic renovation, I can't echo the other reviews that they are tired and worn. As other guests already mentioned, we also had an issue with the shower running low on water the 1st day, but this was promptly fixed.
While both our airport pick up and departure got messed up, staff were quick to rectify the issue at no cost to us.
One advantage of staying here is the use of all facilties in the main hotel, which are quite adequate, especially the hotel gym. The cake shop sells some of the best in Singapore and the location is actually quite central close to Orchard Road with free shuttle buses to the business district and other major areas in the morning.

In summary a grand property in need of some overhaul to iron out issues brought upon by simple wear and tear.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor away from the rather noisy elevator bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayT_UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have been staying in the Shangri-La serviced apartments for 6 weeks with my wife. To begin with, the hot water tank in the apartment did not provide enough hot water to suffiently take a shower. The apartments are in desperate need of renovation; the apartments just look tired and worn. The pool area looks recently remodeled and is nice. The main hotel which is next to the apartments has a beautiful pool area that has been under construction for the entire length of our stay. The gym is the best hotel gym I have every used. The Line Restaurant at the Shangri-La Hotel denied us a table outdoors one afternoon. We were told they couldn't sit us outside despite the fact that there were plenty of tables available.

My wife complained to management and got us upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment that had sufficient hot water, and we got invited back to the Line restaurant for a free meal.

For the price, there is much better value at other hotels and serviced apartments. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WSGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Under the assumption the Shangri-La is suppose to be a luxury resort, my husband and I chose to stay at the serviced apartments for an extended stay... wow, were we disappointed! Needs a renovation ASAP! Halls smell of moth balls and stale food; all appliances in kitchen outdated, mismatched; bathroom looks like a cheap motel's bathroom- no replenishment of soap during your stay; we had to switch rooms because our hot water would run out in 10 minutes- forget a hot shower; overall the apartment lacked amenities- not a single pen or notepad to be found, old/dated decor, most definitely NOT a four star hotel. Now to describe the awful facilities at the actual hotel: locker room old and deplete of toiletries at most times (had to shower here often because shower in room would not stay warm), staff in locker room lounged around consuming hotel guest's complimentary fruit and water while watching T.V. at very high volume (aren't spa hotel locker rooms suppose to be tranquil?), current renovation around hotel pool causing much noise and dust in air, staff at the Line restaurant very rude and unaccommodating, NO pool service (had to sign-out own towel- at luxury resorts they bring you towels and set up your lounge chair for you as well as offer you beverage service, well not here! I think the whole Shangri-La in Singapore needs an over hall of its services... perhaps they can learn from the Four Seasons chain, now they exemplify true luxury resort service!

Room Tip: If you are use to luxury resort chains, do not stay here, you will be very disappointed unless you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Pros :
Great location. It's a quick walk to shopping, markets and transportation. The Shangri la hotel is a quick walk up past the tennis courts. The buffet is awesome.
The staff is very helpful.
Cons: The decor is old and tired. There aren't any non smoking rooms, so no matter what they say..it smells of smoke. They gave me a purifier, and I went thru 3 bottles of air freshened all to no avail.
The English tv channels are very limited. Almost none in the bedroom.
No in room laundry.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My husband and I, together with our 14 month old baby girl stayed in these apartments for 10 days. We cannot fault them at all..... the service was outstanding, everything was arranged for us - for our daughter (highchair, cot, linen). They even upgraded us to a two bedroom apartment for free.

The location of these apartment are perfect, they are off the busy Orchard Road so it is quiet, we walked to Orchard Road a couple of times a day and it only takes 8 minutes (with a stroller), otherwise you can catch a taxi for approximately S $3-$5 dollars.

The pool is lovely and shaded and the gardens are stunning.

We used the Shangri-La Hotel pool a few times, which was a lovely change, it only takes 2 minutes to walk there via a private walk way. We also used the Shangri-La pool at Sentosa Island - which was a life saver as it was very hot.

We travel alot and always stay at 5 star accommodation, so I cannot understand why some of the other reviews are negative, as we cant fault these apartments, even if we tried.

Also, these apartments are owned by the Shangri-La group so please ignore what the other person said about them not being owned by the group.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigelshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This review is ACTUALLY very old school from August 1998! Very memorable though so decided to put it in.

Stayed at the Johor suite (not sure if still there). Pretty damn nice (even Jackie Chan stayed there before). HUGE dining table, two massive rooms, private elevator, half-decent kitchen and adequate living room. Probably all changed now but back in the day it was fairly good.

Stayed there when we moved from Melbourne and lived there for 3 weeks initially before living in the Shangri-La apartments for 1 month.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fraser Suites Singapore
#17 of 314 in Singapore
399 reviews
Ascott Orchard Singapore
#110 of 314 in Singapore
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore
#111 of 314 in Singapore
361 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Serviced Suites Orchard Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Apartments

Property: Shangri-La Apartments
Address: 1 Anderson Road The Shangri-La Apartments, Singapore 259983, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Singapore
#32 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#60 Business Hotel in Singapore
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Apartments blend thoughtful layouts with enticing recreational options. Fully furnished apartments are well-appointed with crisp, contemporary design in earth tones. Residents also enjoy privileged access to all facilities and services of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore during their stay in these short-term apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Apartments Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Apartments Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing