We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PS.Cafe at Palais Renaissance

PS.Cafe at Palais Renaissance
Ranked #729 of 10,433 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Orchard Road
Description: A REFUGE FOR SOCIAL GATHERING PS.Cafe opened in 1999 as a cosy cafe hidden within Projectshop clothing store. This charming and understated spot quickly gained a following for its hearty takes on savoury cafe classics, famous truffle shoestring fries and indulgent cakes, puddings and tarts. Thoughtfully detailed interiors, lush surroundings, friendly relaxed service and generous portions have made this homegrown Singapore brand an internationally recognized local favourite. PS.Cafe is the place for legendary brunches and lazy afternoon teas, romantic dates and friendly celebrations in beautiful surroundings.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place for brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and daughters enjoyed brunch at PS Cafe in Palai Renaissance. The soup-of-the-day, Pumpkin soup, was rich and creamy. My Caesar salad with prawn was both generous and delicious. My wife introduced us to their house specialty, truffle french fires...yum. My daughter's croque monsieur was fresh, melted inside and crispy outside (how do they do that??). The two desserts we ordered, flour-less orange cake and sweet and sour lemon pie were incredible. Good service and a high-ceiling's urban atmosphere with nice, low music in the background made this a relaxing and enjoyable outing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DennisRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    59
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad Service!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My latest visit to PS Cafe was disappointing and it ended our 2013 on a bad note. Bad service or should I say, no service and service with discrimination that is really seriously unpleasant!!

My friend arrived first at around 5pm in the evening only to be told that dinner reservations are full and we can only stay till 6.45pm. It is bizarre since we had wanted to make reservations beforehand but was told reservations are not allowed for small groups so we had to walk in. Anyway, since another friend had wanted to try the food at PS Cafe, we just stick to our plans and went in. After I reached, both of us wanted to order something first while waiting for the other friend to come. We were given the Tea Menu as according to them it wasnt dinner time yet. We repeatedly asked for the Dinner Menu after looking through the Tea Menu for quite a long time as there was nothing we wanted to order from the Tea Menu. Because we were there for dinner not tea, but they refused to give us the dinner menu. They want us to leave by 6.45pm yet didnt want to give us the dinner menu, so what's that crap? I understand it is not dinner time yet, but the kitchen is there, the chef is there, would it kill to give us the dinner menu before dinner time! And we had to leave by 645pm, if you dont want to give us the menu first, how are we supposed to finish our meal within such a short period of time. Mind you, we are paying customers in a restaurant, why do we need to rush and gobble our meal down just because it isnt your so-called dinner time yet!!!

So we had no choice but to order something from the Tea Menu first as we were hungry. Ordered the Truffle Shoestring Fries and the waitress gave us a irritated look and reminded us haughtily of the minimum spending policy that each customer MUST order an item from the menu. We told her we are waiting for a friend and we have yet to decide on what to eat on the limited Tea Menu, so cant we just order one item first while waiting! Maybe we were not as well dressed (we were in casual tee and jeans) as the obviously rich looking guests at the other tables donning their best suits and frocks, so such discrimination from them. The attitude really made us pissed off and uncomfortable.

When our friend finally arrived, she asked why we wasnt given the dinner menu. Suddenly a male waiter appeared (he never served us when two of us were sitting there for the past 40 minutes). Maybe our friend presented herself better than us or maybe she look richer than us, so he suddenly sprang to life and gave enthusiastic recommendations AND GAVE US THE DINNER MENU, and lo and behold, we were told we didnt have to leave at 6.45pm anymore when I asked as a matter of factly: "So now then u give us the dinner menu, but how can we finish our meal in only 40 minutes since we have to leave by 6.45pm?" He zoomed off to ask his manager and came back happily telling us "Yeah, u guys can stay for dinner, dont need to leave by 6.45pm anymore!" So what's with the full house for dinner time and tea time no dinner menu issue!!! And throughout the night when we looked around, there were a number of empty tables and not a full house like we were first told.

That was not the end. We were asked by another waiter to move tables when we finished our food and was chatting over drinks. He asked if he could move us to another table as there are new customers who have arrived and are waiting for a table. I totally do not understand the logic. The restaurant is not full and there are still empty tables around. Isn't it more logical for the waiter to give the new customers any empty table instead of moving us to another table and giving them our table?? If this was a tactic to make us leave (because I cannot find any reason why they have to move us to accomodate new customers when there are still many empty tables), then the waiter have succeeded. Nobody likes to be moved around when we are already seated and settled down, and all the more for a ridiculous reason! So we asked for the bill and left!

Food was very good, I must say, we enjoyed the two main dishes and the two delish cakes. We had the Truffle Shoestring Fries (from the Tea Menu), King Prawn Aglio Olio, the Catch of the Day (salmon with creamy mushroom sphagetti), Double Chocolate Blackout Cake, Dark Choc Banana Cheesecake and two drinks. Three of us spent a total of close to $160.

I have no qualms about their standard of food, BUT good food is not everything, with such discriminatory service and attitude, there is no way I will be back again. We did not pay such money to be insulted and look down upon and treated like idiots when we repeatedly asked for the Dinner Menu but was refused with no valid reason. Furthermore, the food there although good, are seriously expensive and overpriced! For that kind of price, I could easily find other places with equally good food and better service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cookie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
259 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Cozy place big portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Had been to Ann Siang Hill outlet twice, decor here done in black & white tucked away behind Palais, service was great food portions was huge, better to share, we were a group of 5 & since it's a Friday night, opened a bot of white, with extra sangria throw in, the pasta aglio olio & truffle fries to die for, cakes was equally big too, air-con was a bit chilly though, enjoyed ourselves, will return in the future, bill was Sin $496.00, slightly over ordered as we starving

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tsaidavidtristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Meeting old friends in old places”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Arriving at the Palais Renaissance building's rear entrance by taxi, I was not immediately reminded though soon realised that I had been to this very same PS Cafe some years ago. And indeed it was to meet with the same childhood friend, one of who's favourite venues I recall it probably is.

We lunched at one of the alfresco tables which this PS Cafe has on the 1st floor, a sort of extended wide open terrace which used to be idyllically surrounded by the unique jungle greenery rarely found in as central a venue as this, just immediately off the Orchard Road. It is now much less forested, as the Thai Embassy next door who's garden it was that provided such an environment has cleared it somewhat for its extension, though not making it any less pleasant as there is now space as it were instead of deep greenery.

We had light lunch fare starting with a seafood broth followed with cod for main course. We also stayed late into the lunch hour, engrossed in conversation catching up with both old and recent times but were overall well taken care of by the staff who did not rush us.

Exiting from the restaurant, the mature decor of cafe cum Asian airiness works well and one feels somehow fulfilled in more ways than one in having had a sanctuarial break from the bustle of Singapore's Orchard Road.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WinsN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfectly prepared dishes and the loveliest service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

PS Palais is one of our favorite and most comfortable restaurants in Singapore. The manager, Derek, is charming and knowledgeable, and his staff is wonderful! We are never disappointed. The carb & avocado salad is divine and the steak sandwich is always a hit! Our server, Paul is especially gracious. His quiet and gentle approach is refreshing!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DWA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PS.Cafe at Palais Renaissance also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to PS.Cafe at Palais Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing