We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Ranked #149 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad budget hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel offers rooms that have no window. Portals offering this hotel must state this fact. The location, however, is great especially for Indians as it is in Little India. Food in the region is very good. Good bars and restaurants around. Shopping malls are close by.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room. But other hotels available nearby at cheaper rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuldeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    72
    46
    28
    42
See reviews for
56
60
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
queenstown
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at the superior room for 2 and paid $370 AUD for 3 nights. The room was tiny no windows just a little box.
1.They told us it's a queen size bed where my husband whose 190cm tall and his ankle were hanging off at the end of the bed. The bed was tiny.
2. The bathroom is dirty with mold over the wall and it's so tiny you have to stand right next to the toilet for a shower.
3. The walls and floor were dirty, air conditioner is dirty&noisy and worst was the doona with yellow dirty dots.
4. Internet kept dropping out every 3mins

We couldn't sleep through the 1st night so we asked front desk to change our room but they told us there is only one 2x single bed room left so we decide to go to a different hotel. The manager refused to refund 2x night we've paid for and told us this is in the terms and condition that we can not get our money back. Even they've false advertised their rooms and didn't give us a queen size bed where we can sleep through the night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolalajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I am not going to play with words here. The room is small but clean and comfortable. The Hotel doesn't have a pool or gym and a basic breakfast is provided at a bar across the road. It is close to Little India which was good for us with options of food etc but gets quite crowded on a Sunday. What was the clear winner for me was how flexible they are. I needed to check out at 8 pm! I wrote to 12 Hotels that I knew of and had stayed in the past. They all wanted to charge two full days for the accommodation even though in total I would be there 22 hrs, just the hours were irregular. Sandpiper made a deal with me and were so flexible I was really impressed. I mean REALLY impressed. Just send an email through to the hotel and let them know your hours and the Manager is quick to help you out. Very happy with my stay especially when you have lots to do and you are using the Hotel as a base. Regards, Colin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked to stay at the Sandpiper for 4 nights. It is at the budget end of hotels in Singapore but we were pleased to find a modern and clean hotel.
Our room had everything promised but it was small with little storage space for hanging clothes.
Air con and WiFi worked well and the double glazing kept noise from the bustling streets of Little India to a minimum, not disturbing sleep at all.
Reception were efficient and friendly as were the staff cleaning rooms.
Location of the hotel is good with the nearest MRT station about 4 mins walk and the attractions of Little India on your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Sandpiper Hotel is a new hotel. The room is quite small but clean and comfortable. The price is so so because Singapore hotels are expensive. Not really good place, Little India is quite complex area so you shouldn't go around late, in this time, after the commotion, Little India is now intermed by government so bars and restaurant will not open too late.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeCeeNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Staff very helpful, hotel close to pubs in little india area. Rooms a bit small but you get what you pay for in Singapore. Would happily go back to this hotel. 10 mins walk to little india MRT station which is good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

The pros:
- The staff are awesome. Friendly, helpful and smiley. Very unSingaporean, but that works in your favour.

Room for improvement:
- rooms are tiny, and with shower over toilet you really do get what you pay for.
- nearby backpacker pubs were very loud. Yes, it's Asia and it happens, but lack of double glazing and location hamper an otherwise okay place.
- The complaints about breakfast are valid: walking down road to a cramped, badly organized location not great start to morning. It's not the walk, it's the cramped breakfast area & very slow service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#159 of 314 in Singapore
1,185 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#200 of 314 in Singapore
193 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#150 of 314 in Singapore
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#103 of 314 in Singapore
500 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#167 of 314 in Singapore
331 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#160 of 314 in Singapore
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Hotel Singapore

Property: Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Address: 63 Dunlop Street Sandpiper Hotel, Singapore 209391, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Hotel Singapore 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper Hotel is ideally located at the cultural meeting points of Little India & Arab Street. The hotel is 5-7 minutes walk away from Bugis and Little India MRT stations. Chinatown & Orchard Road is just 10 minutes away by taxi. Electronics Sim Lim Square is across the road from the hotel. The Mustafa & Bugis Market are just 7-8 min walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandpiper Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing