We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singapore at hangout emily”
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Certificate of Excellence
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Singapore at hangout emily”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We arrived by mrt and taxi, excited to view this city in this hostel so easily with no hassles. The staff greeted us with a smile and directed us to our room. Our quadruple room was clean with 4 clean beds, a writing table with a lamp, a bedside table with a lamp and 4 complimentary bottled water, a clean bathroom, with hot and cold shower, liquid soap and shampoo in a dispenser, 4 clean towels and a rag, and a suffice clothes hanger. I just hoped they gave toothbrushes and toothpaste too. Most of all , the hotel staff were friendly and approachable. The buffet breakfast was something to look forward as they changed a part of the menu daily. If we wanted to go to orchard or any part of the acity, we just walked to its nearest mrt station, dhobi gaut in plaza singapura. It is also near the cinema, the cathay, where we watched a movie. The hostel's location makes singapore accessible to any place you want to go. Its neighbouring area is very decent so it is safe even to walk back at night. They have backdoor stairs that led to a shortcut to the downtown area. I may say that we had a safe, clean and friendly place to stay in singapore and the price was just right.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you for your review, michelle829.

We are delighted to learn about your your compliments on our hotel and service experience. Our mission is to provide a clean and safe, yet fun and affordable accomodation experience without compromising the quality of service and we believe that was delivered!

We look forward to you hanging out with us at hangout@mt.emily soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    324
    71
    15
    8
See reviews for
137
206
121
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely clean hostel, the garden on the roof is a must visit as the views are spectacular and the setting tranquil, the staff are very helpful and allowed us to utilise the facilities while we waited for our late flight. Great value for money

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bsher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you for your review, Bsher1.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and and love our LookOut rooftop garden! We hope to welcome you back to hangout with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Family-friendly hotel. Although I can hear when someone at the other room sneeze or laugh or whatever, overall it's ok. It is clean and comfortable. The price is affordable if you don't want to stay in other hostels like Hotel 81 or hostels with shared bathrooms etc.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cessperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thank you for your review, Cessperience.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 7 bed dorm. Was nice a roomy, the air con was on full blast all day and night which made it a bit cooler then I'd want but never mind. Lockers that have their own key fit any back pack and extras Nicely. The showers were kept clean although hardly ever any toilet paper. The wifi was only accessible in certain areas of each floor and you had to walk around for ages to try and get a connection. For a hostel I would say it was one of the Better ones but for me and
My friend who are travelling Asia it was a bit pricey. Would recommend it though for passers through going elsewhere. Nice location close to the bus station for Singapore zoo and the train station.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylora30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review, Amylora30.

Please accept our apology for the challenges you encountered to log in our WiFi. We are currently reviewing it. We treasure each and every of our guest experience with us and it is through communication such as yours that we are better able to monitor and improve.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed in a single room. Really nice bathroom, so clean and tidy! My work has put me in much worse places in Australia :) Not far to walk to Little India, can leave your luggage locked up at checkout time, helpful staff, nice breakfast/bathroom facilities, short walk to McDonalds, food court, minimart...
Definitely will stay here again if I come back to Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you for your review, k j.

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences and we are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us at hangout@mt.emily.

We look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We arrived around 2 am our room was waiting for us. It was a small clean room with attached bathroom all we really needed. The location is great a short proximity to Orchard road, Downtown and the Raffles Hotel. The staff is knowledgeable about the area and about travel out of Singapore. My wife and I would stay here again and would even stay at the sister Hangout Hotel in Malacca.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for your review, MCALIEN.

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and also our sister property, hangout@jonker in Malacca!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Great location, being close to Orchard road and little India. It was perfect for our quick stay in Singapore and for the price, there was no comparison. The staff were very friendly and always helpful when needed.

Room Tip: Be wary of the loud air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighT668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for your review, LeighT668.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are delighted to learn of the positive review on your recent stay at hangout@mt.emily.

Thank you for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#63 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,338 reviews
Hotel YAN
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Hotel Boss
#141 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#11 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Dream Lodge
#2 of 225 in Singapore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Property: hangout@mt.emily
Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road Mount Emily Hotel, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing