We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceed Expectation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceed Expectation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days and everything seems perfect! On the 2nd floor, they got free coffee and tea, movie station, free internet station and wifi all over hotel area.

Breakfast was just OK, well at least they serve one. The area is close to Little India MRT Station.

The greatest part, their Reception team are all friendly and give all the information you needs for your visit.

Expect to what you paid for and see how they exceed your expectation!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cenchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, Cenchristian.

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and our service standards and facilities exceed your expectations. It's very rewarding for our team to realise that their level of service highlighted your experience with us.

We are dedicated to continue do what we are doing now, if not better and we hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience more of what we has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    317
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
137
200
119
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

My boyfriend & I managed to secure a deal online via their Facebook page for a Double Plus room - and thats their room with a double bed and a window. The view from the 4/5th floor was great. The location of the hotel was fantastic, with 'direct' access to town (Plaza Singapura - which is linked to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station) if u dont mind walking and climbing stairs. There's a small park right outside Hangout@mt.emily which was lovely. The room itself is relatively clean... the bed was, but I'm not sure about the couch under the window.. there was suspicious looking stains on it. But then again, we slept on the bed so all was good. The AC was superb in the sweltering heat, and there was warm water available for showering. A necessity for me :) the bathroom was clean, not sparkling- but clean enough :)
Breakfast was served in a small in-house restaurant but I'm pretty sure it wasnt cooked by the chef - who is well-known for his asian fusion food. I believe the restaurant operates in the vening for dinner and in the morning, its just a empty space for breakfast. The food served when I was there included fried bee-hoon (which wasnt too tasty), macaroni with a ketchup-like sauce, toast and various spreads, frankfurters and 2/3 variations of cereals. Juice was available and so was coffee & tea. If you're looking for good breakfast nosh, u'll have better luck elsewhere but if ur not fussy, what they serve will satiate u. Singapore is FULL of good, cheap food so u can always grab something else somewhere!

The only downside to my stay was that the person next door to me was practising/rehearsing his singing... and the guy was rather loud... it would go on for at least an hour in the middle of the afternoon. So I hope u guys dont encounter him during ur stay... but with such good reviews for Hangout@mt.emily- who wouldnt return? :D

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samcsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, samcsl.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. Other than the stain on the sofa (we have since check on all) and our breakfast (we're constantly looking into improvement), we are delighted to learn of the positive review on your recent stay at hangout@mt.emily.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We had a comfortable stay for two days at the Hangout.

Clean, a decent breakfast, friendly staff - and a very good location. The rooms are maybe a touch too small, but the bathrooms are spacious and you will most likely not spend much time inside your room.

If you consider that Singapore is quite an expensive city, it is an excellent choice if you want to have an accomodation in the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows as some rooms don't have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EirikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, EirikH.

To do Singapore on a budget is pretty difficult and we are proud to provide a clean and safe, yet fun and affordable accomodation experience that won't blow your budget.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here for one night but wished I stayed here longer.
The staff are super friendly, the room was very clean, the 'chill out' area on the 2nd floor was good for well chilling with free but good coffee and tea, free internet, books and TV.
Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoi-Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, Hoi-Kay L.

We really appreciate the positive affirmation of our service and facilities and extremely glad that it contributed to making your stay a great one.

Thank you for your high recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I’ll definitely give good recommendations for Hangout @ Mt.Emily :)
I went there because a friend of mine suggested it for the location, as it was close to the MRTs and all of our travel destinations at the time as seen from our maps. And then we double checked for other tourists reviews about the place, as it was going to be my first visit to Singapore.

Turns out that it was a good decision to stay there. The price was quite cheap compared to other hostels, and it was within walking distance to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station. We took the private room with 2 single beds, as i was staying there with my sister. The room was simple (and it’s okay coz we’ll be out all day anyway) and really clean. The bathroom was pretty small but it was clean. The staff was really nice and helpful, they can accommodate for what you need, you just ask them and they’ll help you. There’s a lounge room which has free milk tea, computer room, vending machine, a pool table and even a mini collection of books. The computer room was nice as we can browse the internet before we go to our destination. The breakfast was really nice, it was quite simple but it can energize you enough for the day. And it changes daily too, so we won’t get bored by the same breakfast.

The only downside is we have to go through those long flight of stairs especially when going back to the hostel, so if you are taking an elderly with you better take a taxi instead.

All in all it’s a good stay here, will go here again if we visit Singapore.

Room Tip: Room with windows are preferable, and bring an adapter if you want to charge multiple gadgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, Sharindra.

We are glad you found us and are extremely pleased to hear that we were able to provide for all your needs during your short stay in Singapore.

We look forward to you hangout with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The staff are very nice, the rooms are small, no window in ours, clean and big bathroom. No TV in room, which we didn't mind since we were all the time outside enjoying Singapore.
The breakfast is included but not that great.
Good value for money as all accomodation is expensive in Singapore.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audejacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, audejacques.

Our mission is to provide a clean and safe, yet fun and affordable accomodation experience without compromising the quality of service. Hence, we are delighted that we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to you hanging out with us at hangout@mt.emily soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at Hangout last April. The staff were great. The breakfast was enough to give energy so that you can tour the city. Rooms were basic but very clean. Cheap compared to other accommodations in SG. Very easy to find. Close enough walk to Dhoby Ghaut MRT station.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alt089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your review, alt089.

We are delighted to learn about your your compliments on our hotel and service experience. Our mission is to provide a clean and safe, yet fun and affordable accomodation experience without compromising the quality of service and we believe that was delivered!

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to you hangout with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,204 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#11 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#7 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Fisher BnB
#4 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Property: hangout@mt.emily
Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing