We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel quality 5 star prices”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #96 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hostel quality 5 star prices”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Having read all the fabulous reviews on TA, I was confident that our two night stay in Singapore would be really special. Sadly this was not our experience. We arrived at midnight and had already notified the hotel of our late check in. We were met by hotel staff that didn't smile, greet or even offer to help us with our bags as one member of staff completely blanked us and walked through the door at the same time as we entered whilst struggling with our bags. Not a great start. We were duly informed that the swimming pool wasn't available for the duration of our stay, which would have been good to know before we booked. Our specific request for a quiet room was completely overlooked as we discovered a card in our room apologizing in advance for the noise and offering ear plugs. One set for two people. There is no proper double glazing in the hotel owing to the fact that it is a conservation building and the area is full of bars and restaurants, which would be great if the building had any form of soundproofing, but it doesn't, so do not expect to get a good night's sleep .The internal walls are extremely thin too, so expect to hear every cough and laugh that your neighbour makes as well as their music and television choices. The actual design of the hotel is great and we booked this trip so we could support an independent business rather than a chain hotel. The concept of the hotel is good and the design is fresh and original but there seems to be a complete disconnect between the concept and the execution, beds are incredibly comfortable but that's no use if you can't sleep because of the noise. Staff are not particularly welcoming either, the hotel does not feel friendly. The 'Complimentary' mini bar is basically free water and a carton of poor quality fruit juice, everything else listed is charged. Please don't boast a complimentary bar, when it isn't, that is simply insulting.The breakfast offering lacks real quality and the lady running the restaurant barked at us when we asked for spinach with our eggs, or a vegetarian option other than the poor quality bacon and over-processed sausages, not even the juices were fresh. The air con is set to a very un-environmental 22 degrees which you have to have on all the time as it is triggered by your key card, which is frustrating and unnecessary. Overall we were really disappointed by our experience, the price charged and the experience was simply not in synch and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Puff23,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed to hear that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory.

The pool was undergoing refurbishment to better serve our guests in the future. We do regret the unfortunate timing and the resulting inconvenience caused.

We had assigned you a Lifestyle room, which has a balcony that overlooks Bukit Pasoh Road, but upon check-in, we understood that you preferred a quiet room. We offered two alternative rooms to accommodate to your request, but you opted to remain in the original Lifestyle room assigned.

Please be assured that we take our guests’ feedback very seriously, and we are definitely looking into eradicating the issues that you encountered during your stay. Our Front Office Manager, Tori Ahmad, has sent you an email earlier with regards to your feedback, and should you have any other concerns, do contact us directly.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, and we do hope that you would give us another opportunity to impress you with our continual strive for improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    293
    74
    27
    19
See reviews for
45
402
74
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I love small hotels so the New Majestic was first choice for our 2-night stay last week. In real life, the rooms are more luxurious than they appear in some photos.

I didn't realise our room price included breakfast. It's something we would not normally book, preferring to eat at local places. However, because the New Majestic caters for such a small number, breakfast was really enjoyable. And I can honestly say the eggs sunny side up were the best fried eggs I've ever eaten, opening up taste bud memories of my youth.

The only downside? The pool (which was the second reason for our booking) was closed for refurbishment. However, the staff were wonderful and we were upgraded to the room with the bath tub in the private garden area of the room.

We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Singapore again. The New Majestic was ten minutes walk to the heart of Chinatown and its market and a stone's throw to the MRT line. Or a $10 taxi ride seemed to take us to anywhere we wanted - to Orchard Road for shops or the harbour to take the cable car.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear MsHongKong,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are pleased that you had a fantastic time staying with us, and that you enjoyed the hotel’s central and convenient location.

We hope to be of service to you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverclyde
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

a great wee hotel where the staff can't do enough for you. comfy big beds in a well designed room. public areas constantly being cleaned. near to all attractions (clarke quay, singapore flyer and chinatown markets) would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scamperInverclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear scamperInverclyde,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you had a great time staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I had high expectations for this hotel, and it certainly delivered.

We arrived at the hotel just after 8:00am, as our flight arrived early morning from South Africa.
While our room was not ready at this time, the staff were more than happy to look after our luggage while we went out to acquaint ourselves with the city.

When we returned around lunch time, our luggage had already been moved to our wonderfully air-conditioned room, so all we had to do was get changed into our bathers to enjoy a dip in the pool before having a nap in the uber comfortable bed.

Our room was named "Untitled" and was completely white with a few "corky" side tables and two retro style armchairs. The combined bath tub and shower are large, and are equipped with nice toiletries, but climbing in and out could be an issue for some.

The breakfast was nice and we really enjoyed the option to have steamed pork buns in the morning!

The hotel is less than a block away from the MRT, so the rest of the city is really accessible (including the Waterfront, Sentosa Island and Vivo City Shopping Centre being only one stop away).

It's easy to walk to a number of shops and restaurants too.

The staff were always cordial and helpful, and again looked after our luggage on the day we checked out.

It's not a matter of if we will return to this hotel, it's when.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view, I believe these are generally the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDub15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear JDub15,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your great review.

We are happy to hear that the team was welcoming and helpful, making your stay an enjoyable and memorable one. No two rooms are alike in the hotel, so do try out a different room the next time you are with us.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Comparing with market rate, New Majestic Hotel is the worthy hotel to stay ever! Imagine you own a tiny tree house when you get a loft room at this hotel, what a feeling and experience of climbing up and down your little hub every night, and snuggle with your sweetheart on the softest feather bed ever!
Surprisingly I had lived in Singapore for 3 years, but I didn't have any idea about New majestic Hotel's neighborhood, it's totally different from what I remember about the hectic Singapore environment. Its located in the heart of city center, but you will not see the jam, the noise and the sky wrapper buildings as many as in a five star biz hotels. Trust me!

Room Tip: Loft room right in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dang Vi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Dang Vi M,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience staying with us. New Majestic Hotel, though located in a very serene part of Chinatown, enjoys the convenience of being a stone’s throw away from great food and entertainment. We are glad that you found the hotel’s central location and its individually designed rooms to your liking.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had 3 nights at this interestingly decorated hotel. It is very conveniently situated, literally 200 steps from the MRT making getting around a breeze. Although the rooms are on the smaller side, they have the best showers!
The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. For example on our first night, we asked Patrick about nearby restaurants, instead of trying to give us complicated directions, he walked us to the street with many different restaurants! Wan Xin, another lady on the front desk constantly went out of her way to help us each day by marking maps, discussing venues, giving directions and being very friendly!
The hotel is close to Chinatown, and compared to other hotels in the city, quite a good bargain.
In each room there is an expresso machine, free non-alcohol drinks, flat screen TV and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme. Ask about them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneO604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear WayneO604,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased to hear how helpful the team was in making your stay with us a fantastic and memorable one. We are also glad that you found the hotel's central location to be of great convenience to your exploration of Singapore.

We look forward to having you again the next time you are in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Booked one night in New Majestic after recommendation of the Monocle magazine. Hotel is definetly different experience from the mainstream Singapore hotels. The location in historic Chinatown is good and quiet enough (but good restaurants/bars in close-range). Old peranakan houses of this part of town are more authentic than usual highrises and malls. Rooms were small but cleverly designed and comfortable. Each room had different theme - mine had fantasy creatures hanging from the roof and walls. Pool area looked very trendy but didnt see much people hanging out there. All in all, different experience in Singapore, but rather expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoonasH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear JoonasH,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

New Majestic Hotel does indeed pose quite a juxtaposition between modern-day Singapore and an era past. We are glad that you appreciate the rooms' individuality and its comforts.

When you are next in Singapore, you may like to try our sister property, Wanderlust, which is on the edge of Little India. The hotel's location offers a whole new perspective on Singapore, and each level in the hotel is design by a different local design agency, so the rooms are all uniquely designed.

We hope to be of service to you the next time you are in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Dorsett Singapore
#87 of 312 in Singapore
867 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#125 of 312 in Singapore
571 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#47 of 312 in Singapore
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#95 of 312 in Singapore
805 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 312 in Singapore
831 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 312 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing