We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really fun”
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
Ranked #92 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really, really fun”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I discovered a very different side to singapore. I have long though the place a little sterile, this place certainly helped changed my opinion. The pool is great - it is OUTDOOR although most of the pictures make it look like an indoor pool. All the public areas are really nice and very different. The rooms are great. Mine had a duplex with a ladder up to the bed. I checked out some of the other rooms and I'm glad I booked mine. The stairs are a little steep which might put off some. The staff were lovely and couldn't be more helpful. I was exhausted after a long flight and couldn't muster up the energy to go out or even pop downstairs down to restaurant They do offer room service, but this was a little slow compared to all the rest of the service but worth the long wait. Breakfast was the only let down - and a pretty significant one considering everything else. The menu is the laminated place mat - very tacky for such a nice hotel. The food was OK but certainly not up to the fantastic food I'd had from them the night before! The cold buffet was pretty average and the hot food really basic. Not sure why but considering that only five minute walk away is some amazing hawker food then I might skip breakfast and save the restaurant for dinner!

Room Tip: Most rooms should be OK. The back ones a little quieter but better views from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PommyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear PommyPaul,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. New Majestic Hotel is certainly not your average hotel, and we are glad that you appreciated its quirky designs.

We have also noted your feedback about breakfast, and rest assured that the issue has been addressed to the relevant departments.

We hope to welcome you back soon and impress you once again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    292
    73
    27
    19
See reviews for
44
402
74
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Great rooms, all fun design, spacious and different. Only downside is centrally controlled air conditioning - you need to call reception to have turned off and on but can control temperature in room, only a small issue for us but worth mentioning.

Good location if you want to stay in a non- touristy area but still with great transport links and lots to do locally, good restaurants.
Hotel restaurant was excellent for dinner, would highly recommend eating here also.

All staff extremely helpful, even packed us breakfast on the morning of our check out as we were leaving before the breakfast service.

We would definitely return or may even try their sister hotel Wanderlust next time.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAl_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear LondonAI_i,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are pleased that you had a great time with us, and that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location. We are also glad that the team went above and beyond to ensure that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.

We hope to have you back with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very interesting concept. Stayed in the Oriental Girls Go West room for 5 nights. Although the bathroom is slightly small, the Kiehl's toiletries make up for it! Oh not to mention the outdoor bathtub. Thoroughly enjoyed having a Nespresso machine for our coffee need at any time of the day. The staff will try to help as much as they can. I inquired about having the room decorated for a post-birthday celebration and they were willing to oblige at a minimal cost. They even wrote out personalized greeting cards and gave us cupcakes and Singapore Slings. Snaps to New Majestic and the unique touches! Centrally located in Chinatown with the metro station a few steps away and bars and restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaimorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear kaimorales,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

It was our pleasure to have made your stay with us so memorable. We are glad that you enjoyed the little personal touches that we added and we definitely look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in the "Oriental Girls Go West" room - one of the Premier Garden rooms - and it was simply superb. Not big, but easily big enough and we appreciated the little touches of luxury (Bose wave radio, Keihl's toiletries, the fabulous shower, the outdoor bath, the lovely comfy bed, Nespresso machine). Our room, and everywhere else in the hotel, was beautifully decorated. The website says "heritage chic and modern design" - this is a perfect description.
Pete sleeps very lightly and is quick to complain but even he found the room to be peaceful. The swimming pool was the best in our whole trip. The staff members were pleasant and helpful without being obsequious; the breakfast was really nice.
At around SGD270 a night it's not cheap, but this is Singapore, you'd have to pay a lot more to get anything nicer than this hotel.
The location is great too, Chinatown is on your doorstep, a taxi from the airport only cost $12 and there's an underground station just round the corner.
Thanks for a really lovely stay. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear SallyJP,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are so glad that you had a fantastic and memorable time with us. It is good to note that you thought the rooms were well provided for, and that the team was welcoming and helpful throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely worthy of all the great reviews it has received. Room was spotlessly clean, modern, beautifully designed and comfortable. Small but good use of space, quality bed and bedding, I had a wonderful nights sleep. Love the Keihl's bath products, a really nice touch. Breakfast was great, good selection, good coffee and very good service. Staff were happy to help with taxis and other queries and were very pleasant. I will stay here again, the hotel is very memorable and lovely.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Amanda L,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are happy that you had a great stay, and that you enjoyed the amenities provided in the rooms. We are also glad to note that the team was helpful and approachable, contributing to your fantastic experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Having read all the fabulous reviews on TA, I was confident that our two night stay in Singapore would be really special. Sadly this was not our experience. We arrived at midnight and had already notified the hotel of our late check in. We were met by hotel staff that didn't smile, greet or even offer to help us with our bags as one member of staff completely blanked us and walked through the door at the same time as we entered whilst struggling with our bags. Not a great start. We were duly informed that the swimming pool wasn't available for the duration of our stay, which would have been good to know before we booked. Our specific request for a quiet room was completely overlooked as we discovered a card in our room apologizing in advance for the noise and offering ear plugs. One set for two people. There is no proper double glazing in the hotel owing to the fact that it is a conservation building and the area is full of bars and restaurants, which would be great if the building had any form of soundproofing, but it doesn't, so do not expect to get a good night's sleep .The internal walls are extremely thin too, so expect to hear every cough and laugh that your neighbour makes as well as their music and television choices. The actual design of the hotel is great and we booked this trip so we could support an independent business rather than a chain hotel. The concept of the hotel is good and the design is fresh and original but there seems to be a complete disconnect between the concept and the execution, beds are incredibly comfortable but that's no use if you can't sleep because of the noise. Staff are not particularly welcoming either, the hotel does not feel friendly. The 'Complimentary' mini bar is basically free water and a carton of poor quality fruit juice, everything else listed is charged. Please don't boast a complimentary bar, when it isn't, that is simply insulting.The breakfast offering lacks real quality and the lady running the restaurant barked at us when we asked for spinach with our eggs, or a vegetarian option other than the poor quality bacon and over-processed sausages, not even the juices were fresh. The air con is set to a very un-environmental 22 degrees which you have to have on all the time as it is triggered by your key card, which is frustrating and unnecessary. Overall we were really disappointed by our experience, the price charged and the experience was simply not in synch and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Puff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Puff23,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed to hear that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory.

The pool was undergoing refurbishment to better serve our guests in the future. We do regret the unfortunate timing and the resulting inconvenience caused.

We had assigned you a Lifestyle room, which has a balcony that overlooks Bukit Pasoh Road, but upon check-in, we understood that you preferred a quiet room. We offered two alternative rooms to accommodate to your request, but you opted to remain in the original Lifestyle room assigned.

Please be assured that we take our guests’ feedback very seriously, and we are definitely looking into eradicating the issues that you encountered during your stay. Our Front Office Manager, Tori Ahmad, has sent you an email earlier with regards to your feedback, and should you have any other concerns, do contact us directly.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, and we do hope that you would give us another opportunity to impress you with our continual strive for improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I love small hotels so the New Majestic was first choice for our 2-night stay last week. In real life, the rooms are more luxurious than they appear in some photos.

I didn't realise our room price included breakfast. It's something we would not normally book, preferring to eat at local places. However, because the New Majestic caters for such a small number, breakfast was really enjoyable. And I can honestly say the eggs sunny side up were the best fried eggs I've ever eaten, opening up taste bud memories of my youth.

The only downside? The pool (which was the second reason for our booking) was closed for refurbishment. However, the staff were wonderful and we were upgraded to the room with the bath tub in the private garden area of the room.

We will not stay anywhere else when we visit Singapore again. The New Majestic was ten minutes walk to the heart of Chinatown and its market and a stone's throw to the MRT line. Or a $10 taxi ride seemed to take us to anywhere we wanted - to Orchard Road for shops or the harbour to take the cable car.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Dear MsHongKong,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are pleased that you had a fantastic time staying with us, and that you enjoyed the hotel’s central and convenient location.

We hope to be of service to you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#96 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Dorsett Singapore
#80 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#125 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Naumi Liora
#106 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Property: New Majestic Hotel
Address: 31 Bukit Pasoh Road New Majestic Hotel, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#73 Business Hotel in Singapore
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing